View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
dmband n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 02 Mar 2006 Posts: 33 Location: Poland
|
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 5:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The situation looks like this:
My current dmesg is here: http://dmband.w.interia.pl/linux/dmesg
Code: |
localhost kuba # lsmod
Module Size Used by
pcspkr 1156 0
rtc 8948 0
ipw2200 78828 0
ieee80211 22792 1 ipw2200
ieee80211_crypt 2656 1 ieee80211
firmware_class 6176 1 ipw2200
yenta_socket 18252 0
rsrc_nonstatic 8608 1 yenta_socket
pcmcia_core 24116 2 yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
ntfs 81744 1
8139too 19296 0
mii 3040 1 8139too
eth1394 14536 0
dm_mirror 14672 0
dm_mod 37048 1 dm_mirror
pdc_adma 6212 0
sata_mv 12516 0
ata_piix 6532 0
ahci 9124 0
sata_qstor 6468 0
sata_vsc 5316 0
sata_uli 4644 0
sata_sis 5220 0
sata_sx4 10052 0
sata_nv 5924 0
sata_via 5668 0
sata_svw 4932 0
sata_sil24 7684 0
sata_sil 6244 0
sata_promise 7716 0
libata 35912 15 pdc_adma,sata_mv,ata_piix,ahci,sata_qstor,sata_vsc,sata_uli,sata_sis,sata_sx4,sata_nv,sata_via,sata_svw,sata_sil24,sata_sil,sata_promise
sbp2 16484 0
ohci1394 25140 0
ieee1394 57272 3 eth1394,sbp2,ohci1394
sl811_hcd 9344 0
ohci_hcd 14916 0
uhci_hcd 24144 0
usb_storage 49920 1
usbhid 28992 0
ehci_hcd 22856 0
usbcore 80068 7 sl811_hcd,ohci_hcd,uhci_hcd,usb_storage,usbhid,ehci_hcd
localhost kuba #
|
Code: |
localhost kuba # ifconfig
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:15:F2:46:BE:DE
inet addr:192.168.8.212 Bcast:192.168.8.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:20 Base address:0x8c00
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:888 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:888 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:45136 (44.0 Kb) TX bytes:45136 (44.0 Kb)
localhost kuba #
|
Code: |
localhost kuba # route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.8.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
127.0.0.0 127.0.0.1 255.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 lo
0.0.0.0 192.168.8.251 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth1
localhost kuba #
|
Code: |
localhost kuba # ping 192.168.8.251
PING 192.168.8.251 (192.168.8.251) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 192.168.8.212 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.8.212 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.8.212 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
--- 192.168.8.251 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 0 received, +3 errors, 100% packet loss, time 4018ms
, pipe 3
localhost kuba #
|
![Rolling Eyes :roll:](images/smiles/icon_rolleyes.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dmband n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 02 Mar 2006 Posts: 33 Location: Poland
|
Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
After one month I've solved this problem! The thing was in hibernating WindowsXP, When I shutdown Windows normally then everything works fine, but after hibernating network under Linux doesn't want to work! I don't know why it's so wird, but at last now I can connect to the Internet!
But I've got another problem now. I can't make my Gentoo start eth1 on the startup
After starting the system I get:
ifconfig:
Code: |
localhost kuba # ifconfig
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:52 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:52 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:2600 (2.5 Kb) TX bytes:2600 (2.5 Kb)
localhost kuba # ifconfig eth0
eth0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-E0-18-00-03-43-4C-30-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
|
And I want my normal ethernet connection to work (it's on eth1 now)
In /etc/conf.d/net I've got:
Quote: |
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
iface_eth1="192.168.8.212 broadcast 192.168.8.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth1="dhcp"
#iface_eth2="dhcp"
#iface_eth3="dhcp"
#iface_eth4="dhcp"
gateway="eth1/192.168.8.251"
|
Now to have connection I have to do:
Code: |
localhost kuba # ifconfig eth1 192.168.8.212 netmask 255.255.255.0
localhost kuba # route add default gw 192.168.8.251
|
What should I do to make it work? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
nativemad Developer
![Developer Developer](/images/ranks/rank-dev.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Simpsons/Simpsons_-_Krusty.jpg)
Joined: 30 Aug 2004 Posts: 918 Location: Switzerland
|
Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 5:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | but after hibernating network under Linux doesn't want to work! | This is very strange!?!
Anyway... Code: | cp /etc/init.d/net.eth0 /etc/init.d/net.eth1
rc-update del eth0
rc-update add eth1 default | That's it... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dmband n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 02 Mar 2006 Posts: 33 Location: Poland
|
Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks a lot! Everything works now! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
cyberdork33 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/21080161146aacff78a5e6.png)
Joined: 26 Jan 2005 Posts: 71 Location: Huntsville, AL
|
Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 9:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
My laptop has the same problem. If you do not load the eth1394 module (ethernet over firewire) then your 8139too module should load and be eth0.
It acts funny as long as the eth1394 module is loaded. If I get the problem you are having, I
Code: | # modprobe -r eth1394
# modprobe -r 8139too
# modprobe 8139too |
then you should have no problems dealing with eth0 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
lmcogs Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 03 Apr 2005 Posts: 340
|
Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 5:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi all
I have had the same problem and have been trying to get it sorted all day. The last post from cyberdork33 got success.
This all started when I got rid of windows partition to get more space. I thought I would try out the livecd 2006 install. After 5 goes I got an install success but then I got the problem with host name lookup failure. I also don't have a kernel source installed from the GRP livecd install.
However after rebooting I have no eth0 etc and have to do again
# modprobe -r eth1394
# modprobe -r 8139too
# modprobe 8139too
What do I do to get this going automatically each time I boot.
Thanks
lmcogs |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
nativemad Developer
![Developer Developer](/images/ranks/rank-dev.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Simpsons/Simpsons_-_Krusty.jpg)
Joined: 30 Aug 2004 Posts: 918 Location: Switzerland
|
Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi lmcogs
It's very simple... You must look, that 8139too module gets loaded before eth1394 (it could also be usb-net or so...).
Anyway, you could do an entry in /etc/conf.d/local.start like:
Code: | rmmod eth1394 && rmmod 8139too && modprobe 8139too |
Or you could prevent the System from loading eth1394 at all with an entry in /etc/hotplug/blacklist. simply enter eth1349 on a new line.
Another way would be eliminating the kernel-module... ![Wink :wink:](images/smiles/icon_wink.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
cyberdork33 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/21080161146aacff78a5e6.png)
Joined: 26 Jan 2005 Posts: 71 Location: Huntsville, AL
|
Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 2:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yea if you do not use ethernet over firewire, then just do not build that module or blacklist it. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|