Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
dhcpd - Setting static IP for 2 NICs on same host [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
audiotecnicality
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Northern CA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:22 am    Post subject: dhcpd - Setting static IP for 2 NICs on same host [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I have a Windows laptop with the usual network setup these days - one wired and one wireless NIC. I'd like to give both NICs a static IP with the dhcpd daemon on my server. I have already tried (even though I knew it likely wouldn't work) setting up two entries, with the same hostname:
Code:
        host my_host {
                hardware ethernet xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;
                fixed-address 192.168.0.203;
        }
        host my_host {
                hardware ethernet yy:yy:yy:yy:yy:yy;
                fixed-address 192.168.0.204;
        }

How do I go about accomplishing this?


Last edited by audiotecnicality on Sat Mar 11, 2006 1:53 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheRAt
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 1580

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use this and it works fine for me..
someone might have a better solution though...

Code:
host pandora {
    hardware ethernet XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;
    fixed-address 192.168.0.18;
    option host-name "pandora";
}

host pandora-wireless {
    hardware ethernet XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;
    fixed-address 192.168.0.19;
    option host-name "pandora";
}

_________________
All reality is the construct of the observer.

Get Firefox and rediscover the web!

BOFH Excuse #295:
The Token fell out of the ring. Call us when you find it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiotecnicality
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Northern CA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, ok...I didn't realize the "host" could be different than the hostname of the machine. Looks like you take care of that with the "option host-name" statement. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum