Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kernel panic (solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
punkid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2004
Posts: 215
Location: offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 6:20 am    Post subject: kernel panic (solved) Reply with quote

Sorry for the n00b question,but I've read the whole threads of the forums.

When i boot up the system,it showed

Code:
VFS: cannot open root device "sda9" or unknown-block(0,0)
please append a correct "root= " boot option
kernel panic-not syncing :VFS unable to mount root fs on unkown-block(0,0)


I've checked the GRUB ERROR COLLECTION and some other threads.As these threads mentioning,I compiled the my NVIDIA SATA chip support into kernel,and of course I did comment the filesystem option too.here's the excerpt of my kernel configuration.

Code:
Device Drivers  --->
  SCSI device support  --->
    <*> SCSI device support
    <*>   SCSI disk support
    <*>   SCSI generic support

Device Drivers --->
  SCSI device support --->
    SCSI low-level drivers --->
     [*] Serial ATA (SATA) support
     < >   ServerWorks Frodo / Apple K2 SATA support (EXPERIMENTAL)
     < >   Intel PIIX/ICH SATA support
     <*>   NVIDIA SATA support
     < >   Promise SATA TX2/TX4 support
     < >   Promise SATA SX4 support
     < >   Silicon Image SATA support
     < >   SiS 964/180 SATA support
     < >   VIA SATA support
     < >   VITESSE VSC-7174 SATA support


And my grub.conf like this
Code:
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.15
root (hd0,7)
kernel /kernel-2.6.15 root=/dev/sda9


Code:
PARTITION     FS     MOUNT PT.
--------------------------------
/dev/sda1    ntfs   
/dev/sda5    ntfs
/dev/sda6    ntfs
/dev/sda7    ntfs
/dev/sda8    ext2   /boot
/dev/sda9    reiserfs   /
/dev/sda10  reiserfs   /home
/dev/sda11  swap   none


so what's wrong with it? My motherboard is ASUS K8N4-E. If you need more information,i'll post 'em as much as possible.
thanx in advance.
_________________
My Blog | Latest Screenshot


Last edited by punkid on Thu Mar 16, 2006 5:27 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2289
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you included reiserfs directly in the kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

From your descriptiion, I suspect that you forgot to copy the new kernel into /boot or that you forgot to mount /boot before copying the kernel.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punkid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2004
Posts: 215
Location: offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Have you included reiserfs directly in the kernel?

yeah,definitely i did include reiserfs int the kernel.

Quote:
From your descriptiion, I suspect that you forgot to copy the new kernel into /boot or that you forgot to mount /boot before copying the kernel.

I've copied bzImage from /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot directory to the /boot partition.and here's my grub.conf about the /boot
Code:
/dev/sda8               /boot           ext2            auto,noatime          1 2

_________________
My Blog | Latest Screenshot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you don't believe me, compare the dates in uname -v and ls -l /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punkid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2004
Posts: 215
Location: offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:
If you don't believe me, compare the dates in uname -v and ls -l /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage.


I ran uname -v,here's the result
Code:
#1 SMP Tue Aug 2 16:32:16 UTC 2005


and here's the result of ls -l /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage
Code:
#-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2450285 Mar 11 21:51 /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage


Does that mean I didnt actually copy the new kernel into /boot?
But I've mounted /boot and ran the command
Code:
#cd /usr/src/linux/
#cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15

_________________
My Blog | Latest Screenshot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2289
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You Grub mennu.lst is not correct.

Title= Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,8)
kernel (hd0,7)/kernel-2.6.15 root=/dev/sda9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punkid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2004
Posts: 215
Location: offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Keruskerfuerst wrote:
You Grub mennu.lst is not correct.

Title= Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,8)
kernel (hd0,7)/kernel-2.6.15 root=/dev/sda9


tried it,too.no luck.
it seems that the sata_nv modules doesnt load when boot up,so it couldnt recognize my SATA HD.
weird,i've compiled it into kernel.
i tried some other kernels,too.no luck,either.
_________________
My Blog | Latest Screenshot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2289
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. The kernel has a size of 2,4MB. This is too big.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punkid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2004
Posts: 215
Location: offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but it's not the problem which cause the kernel panic.
_________________
My Blog | Latest Screenshot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2289
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What type of mainboard do you have and what drives are connected?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punkid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2004
Posts: 215
Location: offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ASUS K8N4-E nForce 4 chipset motherboard and Maxtor SATA HD.
_________________
My Blog | Latest Screenshot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2289
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maxtor SATA HDDs do not work together with a nForce4 chipset.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punkid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2004
Posts: 215
Location: offline

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Keruskerfuerst wrote:
Maxtor SATA HDDs do not work together with a nForce4 chipset.

what? 8O nForce 4 chipset doesnt support Maxtor SATA HDDs ? But it works well under my windows xp.
_________________
My Blog | Latest Screenshot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

punkid wrote:
jmbsvicetto wrote:
If you don't believe me, compare the dates in uname -v and ls -l /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage.

I ran uname -v,here's the result
Code:
#1 SMP Tue Aug 2 16:32:16 UTC 2005

and here's the result of ls -l /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage
Code:
#-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2450285 Mar 11 21:51 /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage

Does that mean I didnt actually copy the new kernel into /boot?

Yes, it does! If you notice, the kernel you're running is from August 2005 and the one you've built is from March 2006. You need to do the following to install your new kernel.
Code:
# cd /usr/src/linux
# mount /boot
# cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-<version>-gentoo
# cp .config /boot/config-<version>-gentoo
# cp System.map /boot/System.map-<version>-gentoo

Make sure you replace <version> with your kernel version. Then make sure that the kernel line in grub.conf includes the correct kernel name.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punkid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2004
Posts: 215
Location: offline

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:
punkid wrote:
jmbsvicetto wrote:
If you don't believe me, compare the dates in uname -v and ls -l /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage.

I ran uname -v,here's the result
Code:
#1 SMP Tue Aug 2 16:32:16 UTC 2005

and here's the result of ls -l /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage
Code:
#-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2450285 Mar 11 21:51 /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage

Does that mean I didnt actually copy the new kernel into /boot?

Yes, it does! If you notice, the kernel you're running is from August 2005 and the one you've built is from March 2006. You need to do the following to install your new kernel.
Code:
# cd /usr/src/linux
# mount /boot
# cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-<version>-gentoo
# cp .config /boot/config-<version>-gentoo
# cp System.map /boot/System.map-<version>-gentoo

Make sure you replace <version> with your kernel version. Then make sure that the kernel line in grub.conf includes the correct kernel name.


Still doesnt work. Actually I could see the other modules I've compiled into kernel loading while booting up except sata modules.But I've compiled 'em all into kernel,is it really the problem of Maxtor SATA HDDs?
_________________
My Blog | Latest Screenshot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
furkan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2003
Posts: 520
Location: Montreal CA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 3:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think it is cause of your sata harddrives cause I was using them for 1,5 years and I didn't have too much problem,except the install :) . Try using livecd kernel to see what it does, the doc about using the livecd kernel is here http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-tipsntricks.xml#doc_chap1 .
_________________
DELL Inspiron 1501
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punkid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2004
Posts: 215
Location: offline

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

furkan wrote:
I don't think it is cause of your sata harddrives cause I was using them for 1,5 years and I didn't have too much problem,except the install :) . Try using livecd kernel to see what it does, the doc about using the livecd kernel is here http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-tipsntricks.xml#doc_chap1 .


:( still the same result.
everything loaded except the sata modules.
forgot to mention that my system was built by GCC 4.1,glibc 2.4. Is that the problem?
_________________
My Blog | Latest Screenshot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 5:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it might be. Then again, it might be something else.
Is udev working? Did you emerged and added to the init scripts hotplug and coldplug? Look at rc-update show | grep -e coldplug -e hotplug. When you boot with the live-cd, check that you have the device node for sda9 under /mnt/getnoo/dev.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punkid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2004
Posts: 215
Location: offline

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah,i've emerged udev.and here's the result of rc-update show | grep -e coldplug -e hotplug

Code:
       cold plug || default
       hot plug  || default


so it's not the problem,too.

My installation is followed Nesl247's The Evolution Mission Install Guide 1.0.2,and my cpu is sempron 64bit 3000+.So i edited the make.conf like this (i didnt use 64bit installation)

Code:
# Evolution Mission's default make.conf - gcc4.1
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=k8 -pipe -ftracer -fweb -frename-registers -fforce-addr"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fvisibility-inlines-hidden"
#LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--sort-common -Wl,-Bdirect -Wl,-hashvals -Wl,-zdynsort"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86"

PORT_LOGDIR=/var/log/portage
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage /usr/local/overlays/gnome-experimental"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="${PORTDIR_OVERLAY} /usr/local/overlays/emission-guide"
PORTAGE_NICENESS=10
PORTAGE_ELOG_CLASSES="warn error log info"
PORTAGE_ELOG_SYSTEM="save"
FEATURES="ccache distlocks -userpriv parallel-fetch confcache"

USE="nptl nptlonly glibc-omitfp"

CCACHE_SIZE="2G"
CCACHE_DIR="/var/tmp/ccache"

INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse evdev"
#VIDEO_CARDS=""


So will the option k8 be the trouble ? Most users of the Evolution Mission Installation didnt get wrong.
_________________
My Blog | Latest Screenshot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

punkid wrote:

Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=k8 -pipe -ftracer -fweb -frename-registers -fforce-addr"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fvisibility-inlines-hidden"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
FEATURES="ccache distlocks -userpriv parallel-fetch confcache"
USE="nptl nptlonly glibc-omitfp"

So will the option k8 be the trouble ? Most users of the Evolution Mission Installation didnt get wrong.

Well, until a few days ago, I would have said the problem was the -march=k8 with a 32bits install. However, I've been told that works. From your comment, I have another report that it works.
I wonder whether if you could have problems with the CFLAGS, FEATURES and USE flags. Can you confirm that the users of that method use the same and that their systems run without problems? I'm not convinced that your problem is caused by these - the kernel doesn't crash, it just has a problem with the sata_nv driver. Have you tried creating a kernel with genkernel? Does it work? I prefer hand built kernels, but that would help determine if the problem is in the kernel.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punkid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2004
Posts: 215
Location: offline

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:( genkernel,unable to work,either. here's the error log

Code:
RAMDISK:Couldn't find vaild RAM disk image starting at 0
UDF-fs:No partition found (1)
XFS:bad magic number
XFS:SB vaildate failed
kernel panic -- not syncing:VFS:unknown-block(1,0)


and i dont think CFLAGS, FEATURES and USE flags would be the problem,cuz it's the dafault setting in Evolution Mission Installation,I didnt modify anything.

and one thing more should be mentioned,my kernel froze just before the some CPU Frequency scaling modules which's used for AMD Cool n' Quite loading.here's the kernel config which's for AMD Cool n' Quite.Does that matter?

Code:
Power management options --->  (Kernel options for Cool'n'Quiet/Powernow)
  [*] Power Management support
CPU Frequency scaling  --->
  [*] CPU Frequency scaling
  < >   /proc/cpufreq interface (deprecated)                                                 
  Default CPUFreq governor (performance)  --->                                                                                                     
  <*>   'powersave' governor                                                                 
  <*>   'userspace' governor for userspace frequency scaling                                 
  [ ]     /proc/sys/cpu/ interface (2.4. / OLD)                                               
  <*>   CPU frequency table helpers                                                                                                                     
  <*> AMD Opteron/Athlon64 PowerNow!

_________________
My Blog | Latest Screenshot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

About the genkernel problem, did you remember to add the initrd line to grub.conf? With genkernel, you need to use an initrd image.
I don't know if the AMD Cool n Quiet only works in 64bits mode or not. You also say that you have a Sempron, I don't know if that only works with AMD64 and Opteron chips or if it also works with Sempron chips.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CloudBolt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Feb 2006
Posts: 192
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:
About the genkernel problem, did you remember to add the initrd line to grub.conf? With genkernel, you need to use an initrd image.
I don't know if the AMD Cool n Quiet only works in 64bits mode or not. You also say that you have a Sempron, I don't know if that only works with AMD64 and Opteron chips or if it also works with Sempron chips.


a Sempron is a tuned down Athlon 64 so it should work :wink:
_________________
GNU/Linux is an operating system.
IBM OS/2 is half an operating system.
Windows is a shell.
DOS is a boot partition virus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punkid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2004
Posts: 215
Location: offline

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 4:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:
About the genkernel problem, did you remember to add the initrd line to grub.conf? With genkernel, you need to use an initrd image.
I don't know if the AMD Cool n Quiet only works in 64bits mode or not. You also say that you have a Sempron, I don't know if that only works with AMD64 and Opteron chips or if it also works with Sempron chips.


I guess I forgot the initrd image.So I re-emerge genkernel again,and use genkernel all to compile it,but somthing wrong happened.

Code:
ERROR:Failed to compile the "EXTRAS="
extras/scsi_id
extras/volumn_id
extras/ata_id
extras/run_directory
extras/usb_id
extras/floppy
extras/cdrom_id
extras/firmware
"USE_KLIBC=true KLCC=/var/tmp/genkernel/5654.11796.31176.13049/klibc-build/bin/klcc USE_LOG=false DEBUG=false undevdir=dev all" target


extras/scsi_id--SATA again...
_________________
My Blog | Latest Screenshot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum