Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
GCC/Kdevelop error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ahd123
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Nov 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 1:41 am    Post subject: GCC/Kdevelop error Reply with quote

I haven't coded in C++ for a while, and I wanted to refresh my memory.
I emerged Kdevelop, and tried to compile the basic "Hello World" application as a test.

I got an error when running as a normal user, so I tried as root, and got this:
Code:
cd '/root/tmp/test' && WANT_AUTOCONF_2_5="1" WANT_AUTOMAKE_1_6="1" gmake -f Makefile.cvs && mkdir '/root/tmp/test/debug' && cd '/root/tmp/test/debug' && CXXFLAGS="-O0 -g3" "/root/tmp/test/configure" --enable-debug=full && cd '/root/tmp/test/debug' && WANT_AUTOCONF_2_5="1" WANT_AUTOMAKE_1_6="1" gmake -k
aclocal
/usr/share/aclocal/pth.m4:43: warning: underquoted definition of _AC_PTH_ERROR
run info '(automake)Extending aclocal'
or see http://sources.redhat.com/automake/automake.html#Extending-aclocal
/usr/share/aclocal/pth.m4:55: warning: underquoted definition of _AC_PTH_VERBOSE
/usr/share/aclocal/pth.m4:61: warning: underquoted definition of AC_CHECK_PTH
/usr/share/aclocal/libxosd.m4:9: warning: underquoted definition of AM_PATH_LIBXOSD
/usr/share/aclocal/ao.m4:9: warning: underquoted definition of XIPH_PATH_AO
autoheader
automake
autoconf
installing -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for gawk... gawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking for g++... g++
checking for C++ compiler default output file name... a.out
checking whether the C++ compiler works... yes
checking whether we are cross compiling... no
checking for suffix of executables...
checking for suffix of object files... o
checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler... yes
checking whether g++ accepts -g... yes
checking for style of include used by make... GNU
checking dependency style of g++... gcc3
checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for gcc option to accept ANSI C... none needed
checking dependency style of gcc... gcc3
checking for a sed that does not truncate output... /usr/bin/sed
checking for egrep... grep -E
checking for ld used by gcc... /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld
checking if the linker (/usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld) is GNU ld... yes
checking for /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld option to reload object files... -r
checking for BSD-compatible nm... /usr/bin/nm -B
checking whether ln -s works... yes
checking how to recognise dependent libraries... pass_all
checking how to run the C preprocessor... gcc -E
checking for ANSI C header files... yes
checking for sys/types.h... yes
checking for sys/stat.h... yes
checking for stdlib.h... yes
checking for string.h... yes
checking for memory.h... yes
checking for strings.h... yes
checking for inttypes.h... yes
checking for stdint.h... yes
checking for unistd.h... yes
checking dlfcn.h usability... yes
checking dlfcn.h presence... yes
checking for dlfcn.h... yes
checking how to run the C++ preprocessor... g++ -E
checking for g77... g77
checking whether we are using the GNU Fortran 77 compiler... yes
checking whether g77 accepts -g... yes
checking the maximum length of command line arguments... 32768
checking command to parse /usr/bin/nm -B output from gcc object... ok
checking for objdir... .libs
checking for ar... ar
checking for ranlib... ranlib
checking for strip... strip
checking for correct ltmain.sh version... no
configure: error:

*** [Gentoo] sanity check failed! ***
*** libtool.m4 and ltmain.sh have a version mismatch! ***
*** (libtool.m4 = 1.5.22, ltmain.sh = 1.5a) ***

Please run:

libtoolize --copy --force

if appropriate, please contact the maintainer of this
package (or your distribution) for help.

*** Exited with status: 1 ***



When I run that command, I get this:
Code:
localhost user # libtoolize --copy --force
libtoolize: `configure.ac' does not exist



When googling for an answer, I read that I might have symlink something. What do I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrZoltan00
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Nov 2005
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Run the command in the directory where your kdevelop project resides.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
May-C
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Schweiz

PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to do
Code:
libtoolize --copy --force

in the src and project folder but it doesn't work...
I stil get:
Quote:
checking for correct ltmain.sh version... no
configure: error:

*** [Gentoo] sanity check failed! ***
*** libtool.m4 and ltmain.sh have a version mismatch! ***
*** (libtool.m4 = 1.5.22, ltmain.sh = 1.5a) ***

Please run:

libtoolize --copy --force

if appropriate, please contact the maintainer of this
package (or your distribution) for help.

*** Exited with status: 1 ***


Any other suggestion?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xanas3712
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 455

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have to build manually whenever you do that. At least I do.. so I had to run libtoolize and then type ./configure and then make. Trying to build in kdevelop just started the autoconfigure process again.

Is there anyway to make kdevelop run libtoolize --copy --force automatically? Because this is sure annoying. I would like to actually use the ability to build things in kdevelop..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dajja
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 May 2006
Posts: 15
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all!

I have had the same problem as you guys until recently. My solution does not solve everything, but at least you don't need to run ./configure and make everytime :) .

Run the following:
Code:
emerge --oneshot --nodeps gnuconfig
emerge autoconf autoconf-wrapper automake-wrapper

Now, the only thing you need to do manually is to execute
Code:
libtoolize --copy --force

once for "Simple Hello world program"-projects and "Simple SDL program"-projects. (But libtoolize is not necessary for "Simple ncurses Hellow world program"-projects). Everything should now run automagically from kdevelop.

If anyone could explain why this "works", I would be happy :P

Good luck!

NB! This does not remove the underqouted defines from aclocale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
didl
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 1106
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because of things like this I've recently switched to cmake [1] for most of my own
projects and I love it! Since kde4 will be built with cmake we'll likely hear more from
it in the future.

[1] http://www.cmake.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 9410

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Portage & Programming to Duplicate Threads, refer to topic "Libtool.m4 and ltmain.sh Problems". This problem has been reported in the KDE bug tracking system, where it has been marked as an invalid bug, though it is also mentioned in the kdevelop FAQ.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum