View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
rush_ad l33t
Joined: 22 Jul 2004 Posts: 863 Location: New Jersey, USA
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 1:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
any input on gnome screensaver?
100th post. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thasheep n00b
Joined: 24 Nov 2005 Posts: 52 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 1:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
it compiled... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vdemeester Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 12 Aug 2004 Posts: 138 Location: France
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 1:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
phaseburn wrote: | vdemeester wrote: | This version works . But i can't compile yelp 2.14.. But the rest is working here ! |
I had the same problem. I emerged mozilla-firefox-1.5.0.1-r3 and then re-emerged yelp, it worked. (AMD64 platform, but it may work for you if you're on another arch). |
Hum.. It's strange.. .I don't want that yelp use firefox but mozilla, 'cause i have a compiled mozilla but a binary firefox.. Erg..
I think i'll try later :p _________________ shortbrain.org |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CloudBolt Apprentice
Joined: 04 Feb 2006 Posts: 192 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 1:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I can't unhardmask gnome-python-desktop, because it still has a missing keyword... (running amd64) _________________ GNU/Linux is an operating system.
IBM OS/2 is half an operating system.
Windows is a shell.
DOS is a boot partition virus. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DennisM n00b
Joined: 17 Feb 2006 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 1:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
CloudBolt wrote: | I can't unhardmask gnome-python-desktop, because it still has a missing keyword... (running amd64) |
You just have to modify the ebuild a little bit and put it into an overlay, thats all. Add ~amd64 to Keywords.
Btw GNOME2.14 works great for me, finally HAL works correctly now. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
The-MeLLeR n00b
Joined: 01 Mar 2005 Posts: 34
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 2:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I created a script just to unmask gnome, but its usefull for other applications.
If someone wants it (i call it: maskmerg):
Code: |
#!/bin/bash
source /sbin/functions.sh
function run(){
OUTPUT=`emerge -p $@ --nocolor | grep "masked by: " | head -n 1 | sed -e "s/\-\ //"`
RESULT=`echo $OUTPUT | sed -e "s/\ \d40masked\ by.*$//"`
einfo $RESULT
KEYWORD=`echo $OUTPUT | grep "~"`
HARD=`echo $OUTPUT | grep "package.mask"`
if [ -z $RESULT ]; then
emerge ${@} --ask; exit
else
eindent
if [[ ! -z $KEYWORD ]]; then
einfo "Adding $RESULT to package.keywords"
echo =$RESULT >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
fi
if [[ ! -z $HARD ]]; then
einfo "Adding $RESULT to package.unmask"
echo =$RESULT >> /etc/portage/package.unmask
fi
eoutdent
run ${@}
fi
}
[[ $EUID != 0 ]] && ewarn "You are not root!" && exit 1
[ -z "$1" ] && eerror "Please specify a package name"&& exit 1
[ -d /etc/portage ] || mkdir /etc/portage
einfo "Starting to merge $1"
eindent
run $1
eoutdent
|
edit:
usage for gnome: ./maskmerg =gnome-base/gnome-2.14.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tweakt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 16 Sep 2003 Posts: 92 Location: Boston, MA. USA
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 2:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Wow... ok, happy to see so many people trying this out.
Some results (not a complete list):
yelp is crashing (it was before, but upgrading didn't fix it, need to investigate)
gnome-panel built fine on the first try, but the clock applet would not load. Tried building gnome-panel later in the process but it will not build now. (Bug 126798) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ianwilder Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 30 Apr 2004 Posts: 121 Location: georgia.usa.earth
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 2:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok ok, so i'm jumping on this bandwagon too. just noticed that i can unmask all of gnome-2.14 and then hal, and every dependency is met.... so... here goes. i'll let you know how it is when it's done.
(almost feels like we're all baking cookies or something and trying different recipies)
happy baking! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sclough n00b
Joined: 06 Mar 2006 Posts: 28
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 2:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I tried compiling and I'm getting:
Code: |
s/eel-alert-dialog.o
In file included from /usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtk.h:60,
from /usr/include/gail-1.0/libgail-util/gailtextutil.h:28,
from ../eel/eel-accessibility.h:32,
from eel-accessibility.c:28:
/usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtkclist.h:155: error: syntax error before "GMemChunk"
/usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtkclist.h:155: warning: no semicolon at end of struct or union
/usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtkclist.h:156: warning: data definition has no type or storage class
/usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtkclist.h:245: error: syntax error before '}' token
In file included from /usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtk.h:68,
from /usr/include/gail-1.0/libgail-util/gailtextutil.h:28,
from ../eel/eel-accessibility.h:32,
from eel-accessibility.c:28:
/usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtkctree.h:110: error: field `clist' has incomplete type
In file included from /usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtk.h:152,
from /usr/include/gail-1.0/libgail-util/gailtextutil.h:28,
from ../eel/eel-accessibility.h:32,
from eel-accessibility.c:28:
/usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtkstatusbar.h:68: error: syntax error before "GMemChunk"
/usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtkstatusbar.h:68: warning: no semicolon at end of struct or union
/usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtkstatusbar.h:82: error: syntax error before '}' token
make[2]: *** [eel-accessibility.lo] Error 1
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/eel-2.14.0/work/eel-2.14.0/eel'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/eel-2.14.0/work/eel-2.14.0'
make: *** [all] Error 2
!!! ERROR: gnome-base/eel-2.14.0 failed.
!!! Function gnome2_src_compile, Line 56, Exitcode 2
!!! compile failure
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.
|
Anybody else get this message? I'm not really a C programmer but I've browsed a few of the source files mentioned and don't see any obvious problems. If I read this correctly the problem should be in gtkclist.c, but I'm not seeing anything obvious there... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tweakt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 16 Sep 2003 Posts: 92 Location: Boston, MA. USA
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 2:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | I can't unhardmask gnome-python-desktop, because it still has a missing keyword... (running amd64) |
=dev-python/gnome-python-desktop-2.14.0 ~*
Takes care of that issue. Maybe file a bug? Seems like just an oversight.
Could you try this, then test the python-console plugin for gedit?
For me it seems to load, but no console appears... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gergan Penkov Veteran
Joined: 17 Jul 2004 Posts: 1464 Location: das kleinste Kuhdorf Deutschlands :)
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 2:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tweakt wrote: | Wow... ok, happy to see so many people trying this out.
Some results (not a complete list):
yelp is crashing (it was before, but upgrading didn't fix it, need to investigate)
gnome-panel built fine on the first try, but the clock applet would not load. Tried building gnome-panel later in the process but it will not build now. (Bug 126798) |
What nss/nspr version do you have, it will probably work only with the latest in portage, which are ~arch masked. Although these are not direct dependacies of gnome-panel, they are linked to the clock-applet, because of e-d-s. _________________ "I knew when an angel whispered into my ear,
You gotta get him away, yeah
Hey little bitch!
Be glad you finally walked away or you may have not lived another day."
Godsmack |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tweakt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 16 Sep 2003 Posts: 92 Location: Boston, MA. USA
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 2:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
sclough wrote: | I tried compiling and I'm getting:
Code: |
In file included from /usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtk.h:60,
from /usr/include/gail-1.0/libgail-util/gailtextutil.h:28,
from ../eel/eel-accessibility.h:32,
from eel-accessibility.c:28:
/usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtkclist.h:155: error: syntax error before "GMemChunk"
/usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtkclist.h:155: warning: no semicolon at end of struct or union
/usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtkclist.h:156: warning: data definition has no type or storage class
/usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtkclist.h:245: error: syntax error before '}' token
In file included from /usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtk.h:68,
from /usr/include/gail-1.0/libgail-util/gailtextutil.h:28,
from ../eel/eel-accessibility.h:32,
from eel-accessibility.c:28:
/usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtkctree.h:110: error: field `clist' has incomplete type
In file included from /usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtk.h:152,
from /usr/include/gail-1.0/libgail-util/gailtextutil.h:28,
from ../eel/eel-accessibility.h:32,
from eel-accessibility.c:28:
/usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtkstatusbar.h:68: error: syntax error before "GMemChunk"
/usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtkstatusbar.h:68: warning: no semicolon at end of struct or union
/usr/include/gtk-2.0/gtk/gtkstatusbar.h:82: error: syntax error before '}' token
|
Anybody else get this message? I'm not really a C programmer but I've browsed a few of the source files mentioned and don't see any obvious problems. If I read this correctly the problem should be in gtkclist.c, but I'm not seeing anything obvious there... |
That header file belongs to gtk+. And it's possibly related to changes in glib.
"GMemChunk has been reimplemented to transparently use GSlice, but the GMemChunk API is considered deprecated."
http://www.gnome.org/start/2.14/notes/en/rndevelopers.html
So, on a hunch, I'd say:
Make sure you have the newest glib (2.10.1)
Remerge newest gtk+ (2.8.16)
Then try again... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lex82 Apprentice
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 Posts: 242 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I can't wait anymore!!! UAHAHAH!!!
I'm unmasking GNOME 2.14 with that script... I'll let you know... _________________ Bye,
Axel. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
neonknight Guru
Joined: 19 Jul 2003 Posts: 357 Location: Zurich, Switzerland
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It's built and running! Not bad so far.
But I'm missing two panel-applets: The mixer-applet to adjust the soundvolume and the commandline-applet. Where have they gone? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
EneNL n00b
Joined: 31 Aug 2005 Posts: 54 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
rush_ad wrote: | any input on gnome screensaver? |
It's nice. I like how it is layed out. Do think that there should've been a "try screensaver" option though. For example, the screensaver "Images folder" (roughly translated from Dutch to English) stays black, so I think it points to some non-existant folder. Oh, and then there is also the "Cosmos" screensaver which doesn't work (unless it is meant to stay completely black). It also doesn't have that much screensavers yet, only four :/.
By the way, my clock applet doesn't work either. Damn.
Quote: | But I'm missing two panel-applets: The mixer-applet to adjust the soundvolume and the commandline-applet. Where have they gone? |
The mixer applet I don't know about, works for me. The commandline-applet has been replaced by a all-in-one action-applet though. I'm not too happy with it, or maybe I just need to get used to it. I can't just type in a command anymore , first I also need to use the arrow keys to choose what I want to do with the action. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tweakt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 16 Sep 2003 Posts: 92 Location: Boston, MA. USA
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 4:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
EneNL wrote: | rush_ad wrote: | any input on gnome screensaver? |
It also doesn't have that much screensavers yet, only four :/.
|
It's supposed to import existing ones from Xscreensaver, but if you look in the ebuild, it's disabled due to build issues. Hopefully someone will figure that out. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nesl247 Veteran
Joined: 15 Jun 2004 Posts: 1614 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 4:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I think a fix is coming shortly. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
devsk Advocate
Joined: 24 Oct 2003 Posts: 3003 Location: Bay Area, CA
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 5:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tweakt wrote: |
gnome-panel built fine on the first try, but the clock applet would not load. |
this is seen in the ~/.xsession-errors:
Code: | ** (gnome-panel:2073): WARNING **: panel-applet-frame.c:1261: failed to load applet OAFIID:GNOME_ClockApplet:
Failed to resolve, or extend '!prefs_key=/apps/panel/applets/applet_3/prefs;background=pixmap:16777589,-1,-1;orient=down;size=small;locked_down=false |
seems like a gconf bug because when I first loaded the panel, gconf was older version (gnome-base/gconf-2.13.5) and it worked fine. Now after upgrading gconf, it started to die. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ianwilder Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 30 Apr 2004 Posts: 121 Location: georgia.usa.earth
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 5:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
well, just finished and it's looking very nice! i don't see any big problems. evolution crashes when i try and view preferences. it definitely feels faster. i was kinda expecting a slicker clearlooks though... looks the same. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
joem Retired Dev
Joined: 20 Dec 2002 Posts: 508 Location: Bloomington, In
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 5:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ianwilder wrote: | well, just finished and it's looking very nice! i don't see any big problems. evolution crashes when i try and view preferences. it definitely feels faster. i was kinda expecting a slicker clearlooks though... looks the same. |
It is the same. Upstream decided there were to many performance regressions in the latest gtk-engines to ship it with gnome-2.14, so they are waiting until 2.16. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thasheep n00b
Joined: 24 Nov 2005 Posts: 52 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 6:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well I've just rebuilt gnome-2.14 and this time it's running like a dream. Not too sure what the problem was before, I'm still using gcc-4.1, glibc-2.4 and binutils-2.16.91.0.7. It could be USE flags, cflags or maybe the dependencies are quite right - this time I emerged the full gnome metapackage rather than making my own trimmed down one.
I never realised that epiphany was nice before. I just need to work out how to get more gnome-screensavers.
Here're my WORKING cflags and use flags
Code: | CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=pentium-m"
#
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -pipe"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -O3"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fweb"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -frename-registers"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fforce-addr"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fomit-frame-pointer"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -ftracer"
#
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fvisibility-inlines-hidden"
#
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
USE="X acpi alsa apache2 asf audiofile avi berkdb bitmap-fonts bittorrent bonobo bzip2 cairo cdr crypt dbus dri dvd dvdr dvdread eds encode exif fam ffmpeg firefox ftp gdbm gif gnome gphoto2 gpm gtk gtk2 hal howl iconv inotify ipv6 ithreads java javascript jpeg logrotate mad mono motif moznocompose moznoirc moznomail moznoxft mozsvg mp3 mpeg msn -musicbrainz -mysql nautilus ncurses nls nptl nptlonly nsplugin offensive ogg oggvorbis opengl pam pam_console pcre pdf pdflib perl png python quicktime readline session spell spreadsheet sse ssl svg symlink synaptics tagwriting tcltk tcpd theora tiff truetype truetype-fonts type1-fonts usb vorbis webservices win32codecs wv xcomposite xine xml2 xv zlib -aac -apm -arts -bluetooth -cups -emboss -esd -foomaticdb -fortran -gstreamer -ieee1394 -imlib -kde -libg++ -libwww -mikmod -oss -pic -qt -sdl -unicode -xmms"
FEATURES="distlocks sandbox userpriv usersandbox ccache"
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
lex82 Apprentice
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 Posts: 242 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 6:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm trying to install it from a "ground zero" installation of Gentoo (no upgrade, directly installing the 2.14 version). I'll let you know ASAP... _________________ Bye,
Axel. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
martinrandau Apprentice
Joined: 10 Aug 2005 Posts: 180 Location: Kristianstad, Sweden
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 6:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Do all masked packages have to be unmasked one by one? If so, how many are there?
edit: just saw the script up there. thanks!
Last edited by martinrandau on Sun Mar 19, 2006 7:25 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
crudh l33t
Joined: 12 May 2005 Posts: 696 Location: Sundbyberg, Sweden
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 6:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I upgraded now, and everything worked without problems
One thing though, the user switcher applet also shows the hsqldb-user added by portage (for netbeans). Is there any way of removing this user? I guess it picks it up because it has /bin/sh as shell...
Update: gconf-editor crashes when I try to change something. Going for a rebuild now. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sclough n00b
Joined: 06 Mar 2006 Posts: 28
|
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 6:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tweakt wrote: |
That header file belongs to gtk+. And it's possibly related to changes in glib.
"GMemChunk has been reimplemented to transparently use GSlice, but the GMemChunk API is considered deprecated."
http://www.gnome.org/start/2.14/notes/en/rndevelopers.html
So, on a hunch, I'd say:
Make sure you have the newest glib (2.10.1)
Remerge newest gtk+ (2.8.16)
Then try again... |
Thanks..I'll try that. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|