Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Using X from remote machine?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zmyrgel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Jan 2006
Posts: 181
Location: Finland / Ireland

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 10:16 am    Post subject: Using X from remote machine? Reply with quote

Okay,

I know that there's a way to use like KDE in my home machine from some other machine if they both are connected to each other. I've tried ssh connection but I don't know how I could use X. Could you give a quick tutorial? At least what thing to check.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vad3r
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 461
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use X applications from the remote system if you connect through ssh, use X11-forwarding or set the DISPLAY var to your local system, and start something like xterm.
If you wan't to use your complete KDE desktop you have to use something like VNC to get the screen from the remote system.
_________________
-- http://www.linuxaddicted.de/ | Please help to answer open questions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 70
Location: Milano - Italy

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. SERVER: edit the /etc/ssh/ssh_config file and set
Code:

ForwardX11 yes


2. SERVER: /etc/init/sshd start (or restart)

3. CLIENT: ssh to the server with "-Y"
Code:

ssh -Y user@server


4. CLIENT: just launch the application, e.g. "konsole"

Bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zmyrgel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Jan 2006
Posts: 181
Location: Finland / Ireland

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, the VNC seems to be the thing I'm seeking.

So it can be used so that I can basicly run KDE of my home machine and then connect to it on some remote Windows machine.

I'll see if I find info about the VNC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aloeffler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Location: .de

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want to control your complete desktop remotely, you might be interested in FreeNX, too. As opposed to X forwarding via ssh, NX compresses the X protocol considerably and is therefore well-suited for low-bandwidth connections like the internet.

There is a HOWTO right here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-214455-highlight-freenx.html

I have never installed it myself, just saw several very impressive presentations. So sorry, if I can't be more helpful than that.
_________________
Alexander Löffler -- http://www.aloeffler.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aloeffler
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Location: .de

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, I forgot: FreeNX works seamlessly between Linux and Windows machines, in both directions.
_________________
Alexander Löffler -- http://www.aloeffler.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JeliJami
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 1086
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

using cygwin on windows or using a second virtiual terminal running X,
you can run your complete desktop environment remotely, wether it be kde, gnome, xfce, or any other:

in your current X session, start an xterm
in this xterm, run
Code:
[user@local]$ X -ac :1 &

this will start a X server on the next free virtual terminal
in gentoo that would be VT8
make it active with Ctrl-F8
you should see a gray background with a black cross as a mouse pointer

go back to your 'normal' X session, with Ctrl-F7
in that same xterm that you started the new X server from,
run
Code:
[user@local]$ xterm -display :1 &


it will open an xterm on your second X session,
switch to it with Ctrl-F8

move your mouse over the xterm window to set the keyboard focus to it
connect to the remote site with ssh:
Code:
[user@local]$ ssh user@remote-ip -CYX


if X forwarding is set up correctly on the server side,
you can start the kde with:
Code:
[user@remote]$ startkde &


or start xfce:
Code:
[user@remote]$ startxfce4 &


or whatever the start script is for your favorite DE

make sure you have a broadband internet connection on both sides!
_________________
Unanswered Post Initiative | Search | FAQ
Former username: davjel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2998
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 8:40 pm    Post subject: xdmcp?? Reply with quote

How about XDMCP?

on remote machine:

1. emerge gdm
2. emerge kde
3. rc-update add xdm default
4. edit /etc/rc.conf to change DISPLAY MANAGER to gdm and XSESSION to kde-3.5 (e.g.)
5. edit /etc/X11/gdm/gdm.conf and enable XDMCP, and comment out 0=standard line if you don't want to start X on remote machine's video card.
6. /etc/init.d/xdm start

local machine:

run X with -query <ip of remote m/c>

X -query 192.168.0.10

replace with X with Xwin on windows from a cygwin shell.

Login normally as you do with local gdm.

This approach is slower than freenx or VNC on broadband but is minimal in setup and usage. Freenx is a PITA to setup and is very buggy.

BTW, the XDMCP works WAY better (faster and less cpu usage) than freenx and VNC on LAN. Both freenx and vnc are heavy on CPU.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pithlit
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 887
Location: fuhen

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GDM wants half of gnome emerged. Which I doubt anyone running another WM/DE wants.
_________________
If someone solves a problem for you say thanks... and put [SOLVED] in the title!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2998
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

standard xdm has XDMCP support as well, if you don't like the pretty gdm, and login is all you want.

also, you can change gdm above with kdm and adjust the corresponding setup file. hell, you can also replace it with CDE (remote solaris) and adjust the setup part. the point was about XDMCP, which works much faster and efficiently over LAN and decently over broadband compared to the proposed solutions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pithlit
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 887
Location: fuhen

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thought as much... I just wanted to point out gdm was unnecesary step. Glad we cleared that up.
_________________
If someone solves a problem for you say thanks... and put [SOLVED] in the title!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum