Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2 LaTeX problems in emacs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
thomas_nj
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 10:56 pm    Post subject: 2 LaTeX problems in emacs Reply with quote

Hello

I have been having some problems with the LaTeX-mode in emacs after upgrading to 2006.0.

This is what my .emacs file looks like:
Code:

(custom-set-variables
  ;; custom-set-variables was added by Custom -- don't edit or cut/paste it!
  ;; Your init file should contain only one such instance.
 '(case-fold-search t)
 '(current-language-environment "English"))
(custom-set-faces
  ;; custom-set-faces was added by Custom -- don't edit or cut/paste it!
  ;; Your init file should contain only one such instance.
 )

(set-frame-font "-B&H-LucidaTypewriter-Bold-R-Normal-Sans-24-240-75-75-M-140-ISO8859-1")

;########################################################################
;### LaTeX                                                            ###
(setq TeX-auto-save t)
(setq TeX-parse-self t)
(setq-default TeX-master nil)
(setq tex-dvi-view-command "xdvi")
(require 'tex-site)
;; SML
;(require 'sml-site)


1) When I open a *.latex file it won't load the latex-mode by itself. I have to do it with M - x latex-mode. How do I fix this?

2) When I have loaded the latex-mode to new menus are added. Latex and command. There are no problems with the latex menu but I can't open the command menu with the mouse. If I use f10 (like in textmode) it works fine. Anyone who know how to fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rsa4046
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 660
Location: The Big H, a bit SSW

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What about with .tex or .ltx (as opposed to .latex) extension, does emacs load the correct modes then?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allucid
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Nov 2002
Posts: 1314
Location: atlanta

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this:
Code:
(setq auto-mode-alist (append '(("\\.latex$" . latex-mode)) auto-mode-alist))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomas_nj
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It worked, now the LaTeX-mode is loaded by itself.

Does anyone know how to fix the problem with the menu named: "Command?" I can't open it by clicking on it with the mouse, only by using f10 -> c
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allucid
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Nov 2002
Posts: 1314
Location: atlanta

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thomas_nj wrote:
Does anyone know how to fix the problem with the menu named: "Command?" I can't open it by clicking on it with the mouse, only by using f10 -> c

No idea, sounds like a bug or maybe a problem with the emacs version you are using. Try emacs-cvs and see if the problem is fixed (you can have emacs and emacs-cvs installed side-by-side with no problems).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomas_nj
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is fixed in the cvs, so I'll just use that instead. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum