View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
boroshan l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/1637194748421925036df97.jpg)
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 Posts: 730 Location: upside down
|
Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 3:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Pinaraf wrote: |
Do you have any suggestion ? |
Well, if you just want it to boot, remove the initrd line from grub and/or roll back to a previous kernel. For the sound, I'm still trying to get mine working _________________ Don't let THEM immanentize the Eschaton! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Pinaraf n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 13 Jan 2007 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 6:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ho, sorry for the buzz... I tried again manually (instead of asking my friend to do the commands and send me the results) and it worked... I don't know what mistake he did. Really sorry :/ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
boroshan l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/1637194748421925036df97.jpg)
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 Posts: 730 Location: upside down
|
Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 4:51 pm Post subject: It works! |
|
|
Finally - I have sound on my laptop.
Turns out the DSDT edit was ok. What was needed was a make mrproper before recompiling my kernel.
I also found a bios upgrade which probably didn't hurt either.
Thanks to everyone who helped, I was beginning to think I was never going fix it _________________ Don't let THEM immanentize the Eschaton! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
theta-delta n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 22 Jan 2007 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 4:34 pm Post subject: Attention! New Bios (V3.30) don't work with this patch! |
|
|
Hi there!
The solution discribed there (patching the DSDT) works fine with my Satellite P100-313 (a PSPA3AE, probably only sold by Media Markt in Germany), but only with the original BIOS version 2.40.
Since January 18 2007 there is a new BIOS version available from the Toshiba website (version 3.30), but I wasn't able to get sound running with this.
There are more reserved "_T_X" variables which I've changed, and the other things discribed above - compiling etc. worked fine, but with no result.
So be warned before use this BIOS-"update".
I downgraded back to 2.40, because there isn't any advantage from 3.30 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rokoS n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 04 Jan 2007 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Same here
I tried bios 3.30 from toshiba and sound stopped working . I looked at the DSDT and it compiled cleanly, so it looks like that toshiba fixed DSDT because of Vista. Changes they did are very similar to those we did in this thread. So there must be a problem somewhere else or i am missing some changes in DSDT. I have latest alsa, so there should be no problem with drivers.
For now i am staying on bios 2.40, when i have time i will play with new bios.
Please report i someone got laptop working with new bios 3.30. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sdfg Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 11 Feb 2005 Posts: 200
|
Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Can anyone make a step-by-step idiot guide to this? I've never heard of a DSDT or anything. I'm not a newb, been using gentoo for years, just never had to go into something like this. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
priestjim Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/137223635846373abe61f22.jpg)
Joined: 09 Jan 2005 Posts: 100 Location: Never never land
|
Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 2:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
The world would be a better place if BIOS updates fixed actual problems like this one instead of trivial "Windows Vista" updates... _________________ My soul is my antenna, I am the instrument + the guitar is my amplifier.
-- Ottmar Liebert |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
theta-delta n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 22 Jan 2007 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 2:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Kasyx wrote: | Can anyone make a step-by-step idiot guide to this? I've never heard of a DSDT or anything. I'm not a newb, been using gentoo for years, just never had to go into something like this. |
Hi Kasyx. Everything needed is explained in the wiki page:
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Fix_Common_ACPI_Problems
When you have your disassembled dsdt.dsl, open it in your favourite text editor and make the following changes:
1) Search and Replace all " _T_0" by somewhat else, for expample "QW"
2) Search for "BTST" - you'll find something like "Method (BTST, 0, NotSerialized)". It has an if-else structure, and needs a "Else { Return(Zero) }"
3) Replace ``Name (_HID, "*PNP0C14")'' by `` Name (_HID, "PNP0C14")''
4) Search for "Linux" - you'll find the following code (already edited). Just comment the whole If-else structures, and add "Store (0x07D6, OSYS) // Fake Windows 2006" between the last and last but one closing curly brace.
Code: |
Scope (\_SB)
{
Method (_INI, 0, NotSerialized)
{
If (DTSE)
{
TRAP (0x47)
}
Store (0x07D0, OSYS)
// If (CondRefOf (_OSI, Local0))
// {
// If (_OSI ("Linux"))
// {
// Store (0x03E8, OSYS)
// }
// Else
// {
// Store (0x07D1, OSYS)
// If (_OSI ("Windows 2001 SP2"))
// {
// Store (0x07D2, OSYS)
// }
// If (_OSI ("Windows 2001.1"))
// {
// Store (0x07D3, OSYS)
// }
// If (_OSI ("Windows 2001.1 SP1"))
// {
// Store (0x07D4, OSYS)
// }
// If (_OSI ("Windows 2006"))
// {
// Store (0x07D6, OSYS)
// }
// If (LAnd (MPEN, LEqual (OSYS, 0x07D1)))
// {
// TRAP (0x3D)
// }
// }
// }
Store (0x07D6, OSYS) // Fake Windows 2006
}
|
Now just recompile your dsdt.dsl (there shouldn't be any warnings or errors) and use it as described at the wiki page.
[/code][/url] |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
theta-delta n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 22 Jan 2007 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 2:34 pm Post subject: acpi and sound, but wlan? |
|
|
Hi,
today I recognised that my wlan doesn't work anymore after doing the dsdt stuff (Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection (rev 02)).
I used the Ubuntu Edgy Edge Kernel 2.6.17-10-generic.
I also tried the actual Ubuntu feisty kernel 2.6.20-5-generic and build my own kernel from the offical ubuntu sources (2.6.20-5), but with the 2.6.20 kernels wlan and acpi work fine, but sound only with acpi=off, so the same old problem.
Does sound, acpi and wlan work together on your satellite p100s?
Greetings,
t-d |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Crischan n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 28 Jan 2007 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi all,
thanks a lot for these posts.
I have also a Satellite P100-313 (PSPA3AE, also from MediaMarkt Germany), and now I got it to work with ACPI and Sound.
My Software is SuSE 10.1, Kernel 2.6.16.21-0.25-smp.
I first had to upgrade the Bios from 2.10 to 2.40 from the US website. The german site offers the 3.xx Bios only, but this seemed to crash my Wlan driver.
Then I recompiled the DSDT similar to the way in the posts above. But in my case, I preferred to leave the unknown symbols and objects unchanged, and to compile with the -f option (iasl -tc -f dsdt.dsl). I believe the unknown symbols and object are well defined in the 'larger' context during runtime, just not known to the compiler at compile time.
So the -f options will give the errors, but also write the binary.
This means, I only changed the 'recognition' of the Linux/Windows OS as stated in the earlier posts., and removed the asterisk ("*PNP0C14"->"PNP0C14").
Then I used the new DSDL with my initrd. Make sure to not only have a backup of your old initrd file, but also to have a boot menu entry which will load the backup ('failsave') version, because if things go wrong, you cannot boot and might have a problem.
Furthermore, now even Suspend to RAM (!) works fine, after altering /etc/sysconfig/powersave/sleep (setting SUSPEND2RAM_FORCE="yes" and SUSPEND2RAM_ACPI_SLEEP="3") and installing the propietary NVidia graphics driver (not included in the SuSE DVDs, but available with Yast software install from download.nvidia.com).
Hope this helps. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
da3dalus n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 01 Feb 2007 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 5:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi guys,
I have a Toshiba P100-191(PSPA6E) and I also got no sound. The notebook uses bios version 1.70.
As Crischan said, the german site only offers a newer bios, and I don't find my model on the american site.
Do the Notebooks of the p-Series all use the same bios so I can take the file for another model?
If not, I would be extremely grateful if anyone could send me the correct file or tell me where to get it. ![Very Happy :D](images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sdfg Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 11 Feb 2005 Posts: 200
|
Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 5:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Do you have to use an initrd? Is that the same as the fluffy bit that genkernel uses? Cause it really slowed the boot process down I found. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
LuisC-SM n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 02 Feb 2007 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:58 am Post subject: Re: Toshiba Satellite P100 ACPI sucks |
|
|
rlittle wrote: | There is someone else!
I have a Toshiba Satellite P100 (JR500E) also, a........
...........
Question: did you fix your dsdt "by hand" or did you find an already fixed copy? (I fixed the dsdt on a laptop and couple of years ago and have thankfully forgot everything I learned) |
I cannot say YES!!! but as my experience, I have a Toshiba Satellite P105-SP921 and I've upgraded from 2.10 to 2.40 using the P105-S921 BIOS (wih no P) and later I upgraded from 2.40 to 3.30 doing the same with no single problem except that I still have no sound
Hi Gentoo People.
Sorry to start my first post in this forum like this, however I had to comment my own expeirence.
I come from Ubuntu Breezy to Edgy. using Toshiba Laptops with no single issues until I bought this model. I tried all distros (except gentoo) to see if everything wuold work and had no joy with any debian based distro, Mandriva, Fedora and openSuse. Then I installed Suse Linux Enterprise Desktop (SLED 10) and I was so sorprised that everything just worked aout of the box except the sound. So now In this Laptop I only run SLED (no windows partition anymore:D)
However, I believe now I must reinstall windws in order to go back to my old BIOS as I've been following this thread since last year to see if there is a way to do this in a newbie way. I'm not a newbie but I'm not a guru also. I've not a single problem with the command line but however it's not so easy to understand some terms.
I will try to follow the instructions kindly provided here to see if I can fix this with BIOS 3.30, but I hope not to hurt any gentoo member with my questions or comments as far as I come from a distro other than gentoo. (which I've tried before but was too complicated for me then).
Greetings and Kind Regards
Luis C. Suárez |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
LuisC-SM n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 02 Feb 2007 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
No joy with BIOS 3.30 ( Ishould've listen to the above advices...
I have tons of errors so I just try to reinstall w$ back to downgrade the BIOS
Cheers.
Luis C. Suárez |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
LuisC-SM n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 02 Feb 2007 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 4:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
theta-delta wrote: |
Hi Kasyx. Everything needed is explained in the wiki page:
2) Search for "BTST" - you'll find something like "Method (BTST, 0, NotSerialized)". It has an if-else structure, and needs a "Else { Return(Zero) }"
Now just recompile your dsdt.dsl (there shouldn't be any warnings or errors) and use it as described at the wiki page.
|
I exactly don't understand this (in my dsdt.dsl file):
Code: | Method (BTST, 0, NotSerialized)
{
If (\_SB.ECOK)
{
Acquire (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.EC0.MUT1, 0xFFFF)
Store (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.EC0.KSWH, Local0)
XOr (Local0, 0x01, Local0)
Store (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.EC0.BTHE, Local7)
Release (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.EC0.MUT1)
If (Local0)
{
ShiftLeft (Local7, 0x06, Local6)
ShiftLeft (Local7, 0x07, Local7)
Or (Local7, Local6, Local1)
Or (Local0, Local1, Local2)
Return (Local2)
}
Else
{
Return (Zero)
}
}
}
} |
This is what I have, and I see the "Else" statement as u said and keeps giving warnings so what's wrong?
Thanks in advance
Luis
EDITED:
I forgot to mention that I have 25 errors that state:
Quote: | Object does not exist | and a warning that states: Code: | Name (_WDG, Buffer (0x3C) Unknwn reserved name |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
LuisC-SM n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 02 Feb 2007 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
2) Search for "BTST" - you'll find something like "Method (BTST, 0, NotSerialized)". It has an if-else structure, and needs a "Else { Return(Zero) }"
Code: |
I exactly don't understand this (in my dsdt.dsl file):
[code]Method (BTST, 0, NotSerialized)
{
If (\_SB.ECOK)
{
Acquire (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.EC0.MUT1, 0xFFFF)
Store (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.EC0.KSWH, Local0)
XOr (Local0, 0x01, Local0)
Store (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.EC0.BTHE, Local7)
Release (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.EC0.MUT1)
If (Local0)
{
ShiftLeft (Local7, 0x06, Local6)
ShiftLeft (Local7, 0x07, Local7)
Or (Local7, Local6, Local1)
Or (Local0, Local1, Local2)
Return (Local2)
}
Else
{
Return (Zero)
}
}
}
}[/code]
This is what I have, and I see the "Else" statement as u said and keeps giving warnings so what's wrong?
|
Ok this is fixed.. and sorry I did not see the if statement in the middle (it was for me past 4:00 am when doing this)
But I still have 1 warning and 25 errors (as mentioned above).... any ideas on how to solve them?
Kind Regards
Luis |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
LuisC-SM n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 02 Feb 2007 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
this are the errors I have:
May someone give me an advice, please?
Code: | Intel ACPI Component Architecture
ASL Optimizing Compiler version 20060127 [Jun 16 2006]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2006 Intel Corporation
Supports ACPI Specification Revision 3.0a
dsdt.dsl 299: If (And (CFGD, 0x01000000))
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (CFGD)
dsdt.dsl 301: If (LAnd (And (CFGD, 0xF0), LEqual (OSYS, 0x07D1)))
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (CFGD)
dsdt.dsl 334: If (And (CFGD, 0x01))
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (CFGD)
dsdt.dsl 336: If (LGreater (\_PR.CPU0._PPC, 0x00))
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (\_PR.CPU0._PPC)
dsdt.dsl 338: Subtract (\_PR.CPU0._PPC, 0x01, \_PR.CPU0._PPC)
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (\_PR.CPU0._PPC)
dsdt.dsl 338: Subtract (\_PR.CPU0._PPC, 0x01, \_PR.CPU0._PPC)
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (\_PR.CPU0._PPC)
dsdt.dsl 340: Add (\_PR.CPU0._PPC, 0x01, \_PR.CPU0._PPC)
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (\_PR.CPU0._PPC)
dsdt.dsl 340: Add (\_PR.CPU0._PPC, 0x01, \_PR.CPU0._PPC)
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (\_PR.CPU0._PPC)
dsdt.dsl 345: Add (\_PR.CPU0._PPC, 0x01, \_PR.CPU0._PPC)
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (\_PR.CPU0._PPC)
dsdt.dsl 345: Add (\_PR.CPU0._PPC, 0x01, \_PR.CPU0._PPC)
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (\_PR.CPU0._PPC)
dsdt.dsl 347: Subtract (\_PR.CPU0._PPC, 0x01, \_PR.CPU0._PPC)
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (\_PR.CPU0._PPC)
dsdt.dsl 347: Subtract (\_PR.CPU0._PPC, 0x01, \_PR.CPU0._PPC)
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (\_PR.CPU0._PPC)
dsdt.dsl 357: Notify (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.EC0.MBTN, 0x02)
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.EC0.MBTN)
dsdt.dsl 609: If (And (PDC0, 0x08))
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (PDC0)
dsdt.dsl 612: If (And (PDC0, 0x10))
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (PDC0)
dsdt.dsl 619: If (And (PDC1, 0x08))
Error 1065 - ^ Object not accessible from this scope (PDC1)
dsdt.dsl 622: If (And (PDC1, 0x10))
Error 1065 - ^ Object not accessible from this scope (PDC1)
dsdt.dsl 4503: If (\_SB.VALZ.VZOK)
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (\_SB.VALZ.VZOK)
dsdt.dsl 4505: Store (0x02, \_SB.VALZ.VZOK)
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (\_SB.VALZ.VZOK)
dsdt.dsl 4506: Notify (\_SB.VALZ, 0x80)
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (\_SB.VALZ)
dsdt.dsl 4513: If (\_SB.VALZ.VZOK)
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (\_SB.VALZ.VZOK)
dsdt.dsl 4515: Store (0x03, \_SB.VALZ.VZOK)
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (\_SB.VALZ.VZOK)
dsdt.dsl 4516: Notify (\_SB.VALZ, 0x80)
Error 1061 - Object does not exist ^ (\_SB.VALZ)
dsdt.dsl 6195: Z001,
Error 1061 - ^ Object does not exist (Z001)
dsdt.dsl 6196: Z001,
Error 1061 - ^ Object does not exist (Z001)
dsdt.dsl 6540: Name (_WDG, Buffer (0x3C)
Warning 2096 - ^ Unknown reserved name (_WDG)
ASL Input: dsdt.dsl - 6714 lines, 235318 bytes, 2502 keywords
Compilation complete. 25 Errors, 1 Warnings, 0 Remarks, 815 Optimizations
|
Luis |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
LuisC-SM n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 02 Feb 2007 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 11:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Nevermind, I solved it myself., However thank u Crischan, it worked for me the adviced you posted
Kind regards.
Luis C. Suárez |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rokoS n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 04 Jan 2007 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 7:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Is this bios 3.30 or still 2.4. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
chazz n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 05 Feb 2007 Posts: 1 Location: Philadelphia, PA
|
Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 12:58 pm Post subject: Wiki page regarding P105 ACPI issues |
|
|
I put together a page that documents my findings for the P105-S9722. This information applies to most all P105 models including some P100s. Much information has to do with the ACPI problem mentioned in this thread. I also posted my fixed dsdt.dsl and dsdt.hex files for those that are struggling with the ASL language code. The hex file is ready to be used in patching your kernel. I also placed a link to the ISO image from toshiba for updating your BIOS to v2.4 (no need for windows to patch your bios). I had problems with the v3.3 bios so I don't recommend it. It seems from this thread that others have had the same problem.
http://www.linlap.com/tiki-index.php?page=Toshiba+Satellite+P105
If anyone knows how to get sound working after returning from a suspend2ram or suspend2disk, please let me know. This is the only problem I'm working on right now. At least I get sound+ACPI and the ability to suspend the system. Also, the GPU cooling fan is working great now.
One more thing... thanks to all on this thread for sharing so much information about the ACPI which helped me to fix my system and save my precious nvidia GPU from frying. Shame on toshiba for not offering any support at all on this. I thought that by updating this wiki page would be my chance to do my part to help others. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
LuisC-SM n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 02 Feb 2007 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 7:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hey, thanks for this. You should post this on SuSE's Forums and if possible in every linux fourm. This is a very valuable and complete guide described for every noob (like me) and skilled person.
Yes, about the 2.4 BIOS seems to work ok and the 3.3 made me go to a safe boot in order to fix th initransfm.
Great work and thanks a LOT.
Luis C. Suárez
EDIT:
I must say I when I forced compiling and moved the DSDT.aml to my etc directory, (where my old one was) it gave me a black screen and could not start with it.
Regards.. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
priestjim Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/137223635846373abe61f22.jpg)
Joined: 09 Jan 2005 Posts: 100 Location: Never never land
|
Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Is it possible to extract the DSDT, decompile it, fix it, recompile it and merge it with a bios image for the specific laptop? cbrom used to do this with AWARD bioses, is it possible to do it with a phoenix bios tool like the P100 has? _________________ My soul is my antenna, I am the instrument + the guitar is my amplifier.
-- Ottmar Liebert |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
theta-delta n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 22 Jan 2007 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 8:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Huray! Today I got all together working: sound, acpi and wlan
I have no idea why the ipw3945 wlan chip doesn't work with the default, but initrd patched ubuntu kernel 2.6.17-10-generic.
Patching the initrd of the Ubuntu feisty kernel 2.6.20-8-generic had no effect at all.
So I used the Ubuntu kernel source 2.6.20-8 and built my own kernel with build-in new dsdt. This got sound and acpi working.
For wlan I just copied /lib/linux-restricted-modules/2.6.20-8-generic to /lib/linux-restricted-modules/2.6.20-OWN and /sbin/ipw-3945d-2.6.20-8-generic to /sbin/ipw-3945d-2.6.20-OWN.
For the Nvidia GPU I installed the original drivers from the nvidia web site (do an apt-get remove nvidia* first!)
That's it! Thanks to all here who helped to figure out these buggy dsdt things.
alphablue52 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sdfg Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 11 Feb 2005 Posts: 200
|
Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 10:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, I finally got round to doing this.
It didn't work.
Sound under some things is choppy and horrible, sound under others is fine.
I re-emerged older ALSA drivers to check. I re-emerged newer drivers.
The only thing that worked was turning ACPI off as a kernel option at boot.
I'm so not happy ![Sad :-(](images/smiles/icon_sad.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
boroshan l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/1637194748421925036df97.jpg)
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 Posts: 730 Location: upside down
|
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Kasyx wrote: |
It didn't work.
Sound under some things is choppy and horrible, sound under others is fine.
|
Sorry to hear that. It might be worth checking that your new DSDT is actually being loaded. (It took me a few attempts to get it to link in).
You can get your operation DSDT from /proc/acpi/dsdt, just like at the start, and then see if it has the modifications you made. _________________ Don't let THEM immanentize the Eschaton! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|