Installing the Sources - Section 7b...help
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
choplinux
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 11:09 pm    Post subject: Installing the Sources - Section 7b...help Reply with quote

From the and64 installation guide I am using the Minimal Install disk for my installation and not sure what is going on. I made it all the way to section 7b..Choosing a Kernal and typed this in: USE="-doc symlink" emerge gentoo-sources I hit enter and the computer has been running scripts for 30 minutes. I am fairly new to linux (6 months with Ubuntu) and not sure if this is normal. It doesn't appear normal. This is my first run with Gentoo. Any advice? Thanks
msid
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Running what scripts for 30'? Mine usually takes 15' to download sources, with my 384 adsl line, and then max 5' more to finish the whole thing. Can you be a little bit more descriptive on what your computer does for 30'?
choplinux
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

msid wrote:
Running what scripts for 30'? Mine usually takes 15' to download sources, with my 384 adsl line, and then max 5' more to finish the whole thing. Can you be a little bit more descriptive on what your computer does for 30'?

Sorry about that. It is just loading different scripts or files. Its been at it for over 40 minutes now. I have a DSL line that is 4 meg down and 768 up. The screen is showing different text and code...example: right now the text slowed down and stated: Installating/Writing Cairo tools with multiple lines of code following:

Now it syas Writing Glib
choplinux
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now it says:
Computing Chunks
Writing tango
msid
n00b
n00b