View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Bluey_the_dog n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 13 Oct 2002 Posts: 69 Location: Perth, Australia
|
Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 4:34 am Post subject: Apache2 and PUT??? |
|
|
Hi all,
At work we're mucking around with a Gentoo box to host some development work. We are running apache2 on it and want to be able to PUT data from apps, via curl/libcurl, onto the machine. The server appears to be up and running OK. I can, say, copy a kernel, via the shell, into our target dir and then using curl/libcurl, download it onto a client machine, but for the life of me, putting all of my vast knowledge of apache, all 4 hours, into play, I can't seem to push a file from the client onto the server.
My investigations seem to indicate that PUT is a part of Apache2, no need for mod_put, and that it is "turned off" - I would assume for security reasons. Would someone be so kind as to point me in the right direction so that I can configure this setup so that I can push data onto the server. I've had a look through the Apache doco and httpd.conf and found:
<Directory />
Options FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride None
</Directory>
Should I add an:
Allow from all
into <Directory />? I've done this and it appears not to work - I've probaby stuffed something else up which has caused this not to work. Any thoughts, or direction, anyone can give me, it would be greatly appreciated. As I previously said, this is Apache2 and all of this is going on on an isolated network so security is NOT a problem. We would just like to be able to push, PUT, the data around.
Thanks in advance for any advice anyone can provide,
Regards,
Andrew |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
thunderlove Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/1686524484412ae5680e4ba.png)
Joined: 24 Aug 2004 Posts: 76 Location: Sitting on a stool somewhere in southern oregon
|
Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
http://www.apacheweek.com/features/put
Never heard of using PUT with apache before -- according to the above article, PUT requires a cgi script, much like POST (personally, i've always used suexec and POST -- sounds just as easy to me)
EDIT: poking around apache.org, it does look like, under apache2, you want mod_dav instead of mod_put _________________ Registered Linux User #165104 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|