Network Backup - Working Solution?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Aurora
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 10:21 pm    Post subject: Network Backup - Working Solution? Reply with quote

I know there was a post recently discussing this very topic, but I didn't want to hijack the other member's thread.

I'm looking for a working network backup solution. I run a relatively large laboratory with at least 35 identical rack-mounted servers. They're all running Gentoo, and I have a "master" Linux server that runs most of the main stuff in the laboratory.

My goal was to create a partimage image and then restore the small rack-mounted servers as necessary over the network. The master Gentoo server (which is quite beefy) would house all the images and serve out the images as necessary to the smaller servers. At first I tried to use partimage's built-in network features, but it is pretty unreliable. Problems left and right with having to kill and restart the process, logins denied (when the usernames and passwords were correct), etc. I eventaully figured I would give up and just use NFS to transfer the images over the network (still using partimage) and that doesn't work, either; permission problems arise due to the fact that partimage setuids to partimag, even when root is the user who starts the partimage client (for security reasons).

Does anyone have a GOOD solution to a working network backup? I'd be happy to try to get partimage up and running -- it's a nice tool. But it doesn't seem to be cooperating with me. To get any of the servers up and running I have to shut down the main server, and use knoppix on both ends to actually get partimage to cooperate.