Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
tips for fluxbox [Part 1]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 11, 12, 13  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dominique_71
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I am new with fluxbox. I am using it a few month in Agnula, http://demudi.agnula.org/
But now, i want to use it with Gentoo. I have done a fresh install (my old one was just crashing after uppgrading from 2005.0 to 2005.1...), so i have done a stage 3 install, a stage 3 to 1 ...ing. After that i have done an "emerge fluxbox", followed by the emrging of some sound apps.

The base system seem to work very well. Before emerging fluxbox, when starting X, it was just 3 consoles and the mouse was ok. But now, all i get is a black screnn with the mouse cursor, and at the exception of ctrl-alt-bspace, nothing work.

I believe at i must do my own config file for fluxbox. Is it an easy way to do that?
What look strange is at it is some configuration files in /usr/share/fluxbox, but fluxbox seem not be using those files. :P
red-wolf76
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm... dumbass question, I know, but did you include fluxbox in your rc.conf as XSESSION? and what did you put as your DisplayManager?

Not a *box-guru myself, I'm happily using Gnome right now, but I used to have similar problems when I dabbled with enlightenment way back in the day!

Use sane CFLAGS! If for no other reason, do it for the lulz!
Dominique_71
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have not configured any windows manager at the moment. I was using "startx fluxbox".
I have installed gdm but not configured it yet.