Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
tips for fluxbox [Part 1]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
superuser
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2004
Posts: 166
Location: Colorado, Colorado Springs

PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2004 1:14 pm    Post subject: tips for fluxbox [Part 1] Reply with quote

To give you a hint of how I'd like this thread to go on, here is my first tip:

gkrellm is one of the most famous and very customziable dockapps in the world.

Code:
emerge gkrellm-plugins


Then, edit ~/.fluxbox/startup to start gkrellm by default:
Code:
gkrellm -w &

exec /usr/bin/fluxbox


By now you should be able to configure gkrellm via your mouse (right click, configuration).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr sk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Hollis

PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2004 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, fluxbox is the sh!t.

I'm using transparent aterms, looks good.

I'm going emerge that package gkrellm right now....
_________________
"In times of universal deceit, telling the truth becomes a *revolutionary act" - George Orwell.

www.intrusionsec.com [root wars (free)]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr sk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Hollis

PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2004 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To add that, first
Code:
emerge aterm



then in your .fluxbox directory,
Code:
nano -w menu

and add
Code:
 [exec] (aterm) {aterm -bg black -fg white -tr}


That will add aterm to your menu, so you can just open it.
_________________
"In times of universal deceit, telling the truth becomes a *revolutionary act" - George Orwell.

www.intrusionsec.com [root wars (free)]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr sk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Hollis

PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2004 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Superuser..

can i get transparent GKrellm themes? or how can i edit it to be transparent???

Its a cool utility, I've used something similiar in rh9, but i need transparencies..
_________________
"In times of universal deceit, telling the truth becomes a *revolutionary act" - George Orwell.

www.intrusionsec.com [root wars (free)]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rcxAsh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2003
Posts: 457
Location: /etc/localtime

PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2004 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A nice transparent theme for gkrellm2 is called, "invisible."

You can get it and other gkrellm2 themes from http://muhri.net/gkrellm

The other transparent themes i know of are glass and glass2. However, I prefer invisible because IIRC, the glass themes have borders.
_________________
rcxAsh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pink
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2004 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mr sk wrote:
can i get transparent GKrellm themes? or how can i edit it to be transparent???


Code:
emerge gkrellm-themes


Portage has a handy search feature: emerge -s search-term :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wolven
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 325
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2004 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want to "see" your virtual desktops there is a nice app called FbPager
Code:
emerge fbpager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaspersan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2004
Posts: 13
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico

PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2004 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really want to add to this (being a flux user and all), but I can't think of anything off the top of my head.

Post later when I think of stuff :)
_________________
Jasper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gil galad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 94
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2004 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is anybody know how to lauch an application (gaim for example) in a precis desktop? I mean, at startup, I want to run some applications, but not all in destop one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
perseguidor
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Aug 2004
Posts: 278
Location: West Kingdom of Buenos Aires

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, you can right click on its titlebar and use 'remember' if it's available (I think somewhere on 0.9, maybe after 0.9.1, the remember patch was integrated into the main distribution).

This is stored in ~/.fluxbox/apps

examples:

[app] (Galeon)
[Workspace] {2}
[Position] {4 33}
[Shaded] {no}
[Layer] {8}
[Close] {yes}

[app] (Mozilla)
[Workspace] {2}

Hope this helped.
_________________
O make me a mask!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MeatHead
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you like a transparant, borderless console you can emerge aterm and add this to your ~/.fluxbox/menu

Code:
[exec] (aterm) {aterm -name aterm -sl 3000 -tr +sb -sr -sk -bg black -fg white -fade 90 -bl -tn xterm -fn -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal-*-*-120-*-*-c-*-iso8859-15 -g 130x40+100-100}


You'll want to edit the geometry (-g 130x40+100-100) so the window size and placement suits you.

# man aterm is your friend. :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go to my website. I have a section under Linux tips for Fluxbox. Also, some feedback on stuff to add would be nice. 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vla_do
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge torsmo

http://torsmo.sourceforge.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killfire
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge idesk



desktop icons... and again,

Code:
emerge torsmo



(its just that good)...

which reminds me.... is there any way to set flux to not let apps maximize beyond a certain position ( i know hwo to do it with fvwm, but i like flux better)...

or how to control where apps pop up, if they dont allow -geometry (firefox and thunderbird come to miind..)


cause otherwise, new or maxmized apps block my idesk icons and block torsmo....

killfire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frodg
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 761

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use a couple of dockapps which sit in the slit - a mail notifier and a mount program - search for dockapps in google and choose the ones you want.....
_________________
Aerosolo ergo sum - I spray therefore I am

Gentoo - Registered Linux User # 361400
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miqorz
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 1170
Location: Pissing into the wind.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

<fanboyism>

Code:


emerge -C fluxbox && emerge openbox



</fanboyism> :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nsahoo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice thread. I liked fluxbox from the beginning but, didn't know how to set it up right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nsahoo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I emerged gkrellm-themes, still I get only the default theme in the configuration window :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GatoVolador
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 268
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

killfire wrote:

which reminds me.... is there any way to set flux to not let apps maximize beyond a certain position ( i know hwo to do it with fvwm, but i like flux better)...

or how to control where apps pop up, if they dont allow -geometry (firefox and thunderbird come to miind..)

cause otherwise, new or maxmized apps block my idesk icons and block torsmo....


Well, the best you could do is configure the slit so windows don't maximize over it, and this will protect a strip along one of the edges, depending on how the slit is configured. Fluxbox partially supports extended window manager hints (which would allow you to reserve space on the desktop), but I don't know that there's any way for the user to set these hints in Fluxbox.

As far as applications go, if you're using 0.9.x you should be able to right click the title bar of the app in question and do Remember->Position. This will put an entry in ~/.fluxbox/apps which you can copy/modify.

One warning though, this feature works on the class name of an app (do xprop in a terminal and select the desired window to find its class name), if you use this feature all windows with the class name will come up in the same location, i.e. dialogs for the app, other transient windows, etc. It's even more annoying if you use Remember->Dimenions, because you end up with dialogs the same size as the app window!

There are a couple apps out there that let in intercept new windows and position/size them, etc., but their names escape me right now.

Regards,
Jay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pink
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nsahoo wrote:
I emerged gkrellm-themes, still I get only the default theme in the configuration window :(


Have you restarted gkrellm? As with some progs, it might not see the new additions until it restarts with them.

If you have done that then check .gkrellm2/themes to see if any are actaully in the correct folder.

If not, then make sure everything is standard, retry it and then submit a bug report about the ebuild if needed.

You can also do it by hand, put the required theme in the themes folder and slect it from there (the ebuild was meant to be the easy way - I did it by ebuild and it worked fine).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr sk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Hollis

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to a 'print screen' my desktop?!
and where does it save it?

also, can i configure torsmo?
_________________
"In times of universal deceit, telling the truth becomes a *revolutionary act" - George Orwell.

www.intrusionsec.com [root wars (free)]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killfire
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, you can configure torsmo (would be much fun if you couldnt)

tell me what i did wrong, but i had to extract the source by hand to grab the torsmo.conf.example file and move is to ~/.torsmo.conf

and then edit the file to your hearts content, its very wel commented.....

killfire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vla_do
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

killfire wrote:
move is to ~/.torsmo.conf

Default configuration file is $HOME/.torsmorc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomaw
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 429
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jayb wrote:

There are a couple apps out there that let in intercept new windows and position/size them, etc., but their names escape me right now.


Devilspie would be one.
_________________
Tom Wesley
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr sk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Hollis

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sure some of you are familiar with the KDE install doc, that comes indexed after the gentoo install manual.

Someone, or someteam, should put together a decent fluxbox install and configure paper.

I'd be down to invest some time in this..let me know if some others want to work on it and we can divy up topics.....

private message me: -= ]

@Pwnz3r - nice site.
One problem I am having is; mozilla, when i exec it, opens to the full size of my screen. So the maximize/minimize button doesn't do anything. Unless I manually drag the window smaller then max/min it.
I was looking at your site about snapping the windows and pixel distances. but I dont think this is what i want...
_________________
"In times of universal deceit, telling the truth becomes a *revolutionary act" - George Orwell.

www.intrusionsec.com [root wars (free)]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 1 of 13

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum