Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
how to mount windows partition(ntfs)?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vito_huang
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Mar 2006
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 2:30 pm    Post subject: how to mount windows partition(ntfs)? Reply with quote

i am new to gentoo, just installed it a day ago, because i dual boot with windows xp, and all my songs are in windows xp's ntfs partition. and i want to mount it so xmms can play the songs. i have search for the forum for instaling ntfs , but not much information tell how to make it working, so can anyone point me some direction on how to mount ntfs partition.

by the way, i am using genkernel all the configure kernel when i install it. and i have try to emerge ntfsprogs, but after finish emerge i can't find some of the tools( after emgerge ntfsprogs, i try to use ntfsmount command, but it said command not found, where doesn ntfsprogs and it's tools installed to????). here is my thought cause i have check filesystems under /proc(cat /proc/filesystems) and there is no ntfs in there, so i think i will need a ntfs driver for kernel first , but i don't know how to find it?( i have look at linux-ntfs.org but the driver for kenerl is for 2.4 kernel and other things are mostly for redhat).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voytas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 203
Location: Poland, Lodz

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
mount -t ntfs /dev/hdXY /mnt/DIR
replace XY adn DIR with proper values :)
_________________
LAPTOP: ThinkPad T530
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vito_huang
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Mar 2006
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanx voytas for answering my quesitons.
there is some things that i don't understand, why when i check /proc/filesystems and there is no ntfs in there, but after i mount it i can see ntfs is there? and i have emerge ntfsprogs, why i can't use and tools like ntfsmount etc? one last question, i thought it need ntfs kernel driver to be able to mount ntfs (gentoo come with ntfs support?) , is this means when you do genkernel all, it will compile ntfs modules ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nadi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Aug 2004
Posts: 280
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
why when i check /proc/filesystems and there is no ntfs in there, but after i mount it i can see ntfs is there?

you can automount the NTFS partition with the correct values in the /etc/fstab file (check the gentoo documentation)
Nadi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashtrash
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have question a bit according to this.

I've configured automount for windows-ntfs in fstab, but it always have permission 400 even though i use defaults. I tried to use rw,auto, user,nls=utf, but it still doesn't allow me to read/open or execute it as a common user (still 400). Of course i have in-kernel support for ntfs, ntfs-rw.

So at the moment the windows part looks like that:
Code:
/dev/hda1       /mnt/windows    ntfs    rw,auto,user,nls=utf8   0 0


comparing to very well working usb device:
Code:
/dev/sda1       /mnt/usb        auto    rw,noauto,user,exec,sync        0 0


what am I doing wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vito_huang
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Mar 2006
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you want common user to be able to use ntfs, then i think you should set the umask to the value of you want. for example i have:
/dev/sda1 /mnt/windows ntfs user,umask=000 0 0

add more options to fourth colume of your desire.

hope this help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voytas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 203
Location: Poland, Lodz

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ashtrash wrote:
Of course i have in-kernel support for ntfs, ntfs-rw.
first of all NEVER use ntfs-rw in linux :!:

it'll probably damage ntfs partition

vito_huang:
you need kernel module called ntfs

if U don't see ntfs in /proc/filesystems do
Code:
modprobe ntfs
and look again if still no, you'll have to compile ntfs kernel module :)

you can use an fstab entry like mine:
Code:
/dev/hda2  /mnt/ntfs  ntfs dmask=007,fmask=317,ro  0 0
for more info
Code:
man mount

_________________
LAPTOP: ThinkPad T530
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashtrash
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Masks don't change anything...

Actually reading ntfs works - but only under root, so support works fine. I can force 755 permissions under root, but:
1. It must be done with -r (it takes time)
2. It doesn't work on all files.
So there must be something that doesn't allow fstab to change permissions of hda1... But what? :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voytas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 203
Location: Poland, Lodz

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ashtrash wrote:
Masks don't change anything...

Actually reading ntfs works - but only under root, so support works fine. I can force 755 permissions under root, but:
1. It must be done with -r (it takes time)
2. It doesn't work on all files.
So there must be something that doesn't allow fstab to change permissions of hda1... But what? :?
reading is fine, just don't try writing...
for writing look for captive (in portage)
I told you to read man mount:
Quote:
Mount options for ntfs
iocharset=name
Character set to use when returning file names. Unlike VFAT, NTFS suppresses names that contain unconvertible characters. Deprecated.
nls=name
New name for the option earlier called iocharset.
utf8
Use UTF-8 for converting file names.
uni_xlate=[0|1|2]
For 0 (or `no' or `false'), do not use escape sequences for unknown Unicode characters. For 1 (or `yes' or `true') or 2, use vfat-style 4-byte escape sequences starting with ":". Here 2 give a little-endian encoding and 1 a byteswapped bigendian encoding.
posix=[0|1]
If enabled (posix=1), the file system distinguishes between upper and lower case. The 8.3 alias names are presented as hard links instead of being suppressed.
uid=value, gid=value and umask=value
Set the file permission on the filesystem. The umask value is given in octal. By default, the files are owned by root and not readable by somebody else
uid and gid is what you want
_________________
LAPTOP: ThinkPad T530
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashtrash
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thought manual was 4 vito_huang.

Anyway it doesn't help...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voytas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 203
Location: Poland, Lodz

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ashtrash wrote:
Thought manual was 4 vito_huang.

Anyway it doesn't help...
so you still have a problem :?:
tell me exactly what it is...
_________________
LAPTOP: ThinkPad T530
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashtrash
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have windows automatically mouted in fstab, but it mounts without any permissions. I thougth it is 400 but as I see in Properties for /mnt/windows in kde I see it is 000. on chmod i get this msg:

Code:
chmod 644 /mnt/windows/
chmod: changing permissions of `windows/': Read-only file system


That's strange, because i have enabled rw in kernel (which of course from now I won't try to use). After this chmod nothing changes... weird, because some time ago it was changing permissions (but also only for reading).

At the moment my fstab windows line looks like that:

Code:
/dev/hda1   /mnt/windows   ntfs   ro,auto,user,nls=utf8,gid=410,umask=0555   0 0


Where 410 is id of group windows to which my user belong. I'm totally confused now with all these attributes. Theoretically defaults should enable reading for me but it doesn't. It's also said, that option user is required, but adding it doesn't help. Neither does umask=755 nor gid=410. What more can I do? :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voytas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 203
Location: Poland, Lodz

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ashtrash wrote:
Code:
chmod 644 /mnt/windows/
chmod: changing permissions of `windows/': Read-only file system
that will never work, forget it
ashtrash wrote:
At the moment my fstab windows line looks like that:

Code:
/dev/hda1   /mnt/windows   ntfs   ro,auto,user,nls=utf8,gid=410,umask=0555   0 0


Where 410 is id of group windows to which my user belong. I'm totally confused now with all these attributes. Theoretically defaults should enable reading for me but it doesn't. It's also said, that option user is required, but adding it doesn't help. Neither does umask=755 nor gid=410. What more can I do? :?
user is not needed, but you can experiment with umask, try different values, some time ago i had sam proble and found a sollution by experimenting with umask...
_________________
LAPTOP: ThinkPad T530
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashtrash
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:lol:

Don't understand why it is as it is... but to have permissions like 555 for ntfs partition U have to set umask to 222. Funny :D

voytas: Thanks for advice to test umask values.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum