Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ipw2200 driver loaded.... now what?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sugarat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jul 2002
Posts: 348

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:29 pm    Post subject: ipw2200 driver loaded.... now what? Reply with quote

Are there any Gentoo docs for getting my wireless laptop onto the network with WPA?

I have loaded the ip2200 and got the crypt modules also loaded.. How do I get my laptop to authenticate to the access point over WPA ?
There seem to be a thousand and one configurations for /etc/conf.d/net or /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf..... What do I use?

Thanks

Edit....

/etc/conf.d/net is
Code:

config_eth0=("10.0.0.16 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 10.0.0.255")
routes_eth0=("default gw 10.0.0.2")
config_eth1=(" dhcp ")


/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf is
Code:

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=root

fast_reauth=1

network={
        ssid="mySSID"
        proto=WPA
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        pairwise=TKIP
        group=TKIP
        psk="myPassword"
}

_________________
--[ UltraSPARC ]--
Accept no imitations
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ateo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 2022
Location: Vegas Baby!

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I never understood the need for the supplicant if you're using WEP and a key. I strictly use /etc/conf.d/wireless to configure my wireless and here is what I have:

/etc/conf.d/wireless:
preferred_aps_eth0=( "access point 1" "access point 2" "etc" )
key_access_point_1=( "YOUR WEP KEY" )
config_access_point_1=( "192.168.1.1 brd 192.168.1.255" )
routes_access_point_1=( "192.168.1.254" )

# The following is in case your preferred APs are not available, this will scan and try to connect to any AP.
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd=( "-t 5" )


"access_point_1" is your ESSID of your AP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sugarat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jul 2002
Posts: 348

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But I'm not using WEP?...

It's far too insecure.
_________________
--[ UltraSPARC ]--
Accept no imitations
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hyakuhei
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Location: Wales / Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sugarat, Your correct but WPA brings a whole other set of problems, far too many people that it is secure when it is not.

WPA is weak against some forms of brute force attack because of the way key management handles key lengths (or something like that).

Anywhoo, my point is work in a secure manner, keep your machines up to date and use SSL etc where appropriate. Then the only reason to lock down your wifi is people using bandwidth in that case you have two options either stop being a tight arse :P OR just implement WEP, its enough to move the grazers on to the next un-locked network they find.

Before jumping through many hoops, have a serious think about *who* you are trying to protect your network from.

Cheers
-Rob
_________________
* Gentoo Linux Developer
* GPG : 0x2217D168
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ateo wrote:
I never understood the need for the supplicant if you're using WEP and a key. I strictly use /etc/conf.d/wireless to configure my wireless


While all linux wireless cards should work to some extent with iwconfig, the scripts are and always will be a one shot afair.
wpa_supplicant on the other hand allows for roaming :)
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hyakuhei wrote:
Sugarat, Your correct but WPA brings a whole other set of problems, far too many people that it is secure when it is not


Not only that, but not all wireless devices can use WPA. Infact, WPA is inherently bad because as new wireless security methods are introduced, everyone has to upgrade their hardware.

Suckers!

Not me - I run my wireless 100% open, unencrypted.
I just run a secure VPN over it which works even better :lol:
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asiobob
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1375
Location: Bamboo Creek

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lets try answer the OP's original question.

Sugarat,
Have a read of the example file /etc/conf.d/net.example

Broadly speaking you have to.
1. emerge net-wireless/wpa-supplicant
2. etc /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf so it contains something like

Code:
# allow frontend (e.g., wpa_cli) to be used by all users in 'wheel' group
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
#
# home network; allow all valid ciphers
network={
        ssid="home"
        scan_ssid=1
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        psk="very secret passphrase"
}


3. You need to configure /etc/conf.d/net again broadly speaking (see the example file)

Code:

modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_[b]eth0[/b]="-Dwext"

# GENERIC WIRELESS OPTIONS
# PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS IN /etc/conf.d/wireless.example FOR
# HOW TO USE THIS ESSID VARIABLE
# You can also override any settings found here per ESSID - which is very
# handy if you use different networks a lot
#config_ESSID=( "dhcp" )


4. Make sure you modprobe the ipw2200 driver

Start the network and it should work. Edit the above so your wifi is the right device.

I use NetworkManager (on Fedora). Basically in Gnome you get a list of networks to connect to and you can roam and change very easily, but the above way is the gentoo way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ASIO_BOB wrote:
I use NetworkManager (on Fedora). Basically in Gnome you get a list of networks to connect to and you can roam and change very easily, but the above way is the gentoo way


You can use NetworkManager in Gentoo
You can also use wpa_gui by emerging wpa_supplicant with a qt USE flag, which is similar.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum