View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
cancech Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 22 Dec 2004 Posts: 171
|
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 4:18 pm Post subject: Temperature sensors -> I'm confused |
|
|
I've been messing around with lm_sensors for a couple of days now, and I'm just confused about the readings that I'm getting.
This is what I get when I run sensors:
Code: |
cancech@My_World ~ $ sensors
w83697hf-isa-0290
Adapter: ISA adapter
VCore: +1.63 V (min = +1.71 V, max = +1.89 V) ALARM
+3.3V: +3.34 V (min = +3.14 V, max = +3.47 V)
+5V: +5.00 V (min = +4.76 V, max = +5.24 V)
+12V: +11.37 V (min = +10.82 V, max = +13.19 V)
-12V: +0.55 V (min = -13.18 V, max = -10.80 V) ALARM
-5V: +5.10 V (min = -5.25 V, max = -4.75 V) ALARM
V5SB: +5.56 V (min = +4.76 V, max = +5.24 V) ALARM
VBat: +3.23 V (min = +2.40 V, max = +3.60 V)
fan1: 0 RPM (min = 2109 RPM, div = 8) ALARM
fan2: 2766 RPM (min = 788 RPM, div = 8)
temp1: +27 C (high = +61 C, hyst = +34 C) sensor = thermistor
temp2: +30.5 C (high = +70 C, hyst = +33 C) sensor = diode
alarms:
beep_enable:
Sound alarm enabled
|
And I think that the temperature readings are rather low... Checking ACPI
Code: |
cancech@My_World ~ $ cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/temperature
temperature: 36 C
|
But then I checked what BIOS is picking up that's generaly between 40-50 C for the CPU. I'm guessing that BIOS is reporting the correct temperature, so why is everything reporting something different? What are the temperatures that are reported by lm_sensors? From what I've read then temp1 could be CPU while temp2 the motherboard, but if that's the case then why are the values so low (well at least for the CPU)...
I think I'm using the wrong module for the sensors (i2c_viapro instead of i2c_it87), but viapro is what sensors-detect asked for...
I probably should mention that the motherboard is a asus A7V8Z-LA and the CPU is a AMD 2900+. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54861 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 4:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
cancech,
You probably have the right module (ther can be more than one) but the wrong scale factors for your board.
Read /etc/sensors.conf and find the bit for your sensor to fix it.
There may be some comments about the settings you need. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
cancech Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 22 Dec 2004 Posts: 171
|
Posted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 4:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Alright, so I've looked at the default sensors.conf file, and I cut out the parts that didn't deal with my chip (w83697hf apparently), so here's what I've got:
Code: |
chip "w83697hf-*"
label in0 "VCore"
label in2 "+3.3V"
label in3 "+5V"
label in4 "+12V"
label in5 "-12V"
label in6 "-5V"
label in7 "V5SB"
label in8 "VBat"
compute in3 ((6.8/10)+1)*@ , @/((6.8/10)+1)
compute in4 ((28/10)+1)*@ , @/((28/10)+1)
compute in5 (5.14 * @) - 14.91 , (@ + 14.91) / 5.14
compute in6 (3.14 * @) - 7.71 , (@ + 7.71) / 3.14
compute in7 ((6.8/10)+1)*@ , @/((6.8/10)+1)
set in0_min 1.8 * 0.95
set in0_max 1.8 * 1.05
set in2_min 3.3 * 0.95
set in2_max 3.3 * 1.05
set in3_min 5.0 * 0.95
set in3_max 5.0 * 1.05
set in4_min 12 * 0.90
set in4_max 12 * 1.10
set in5_max -12 * 0.90
set in5_min -12 * 1.10
set in6_max -5 * 0.95
set in6_min -5 * 1.05
set in7_min 5 * 0.95
set in7_max 5 * 1.05
set in8_min 3.0 * 0.80
set in8_max 3.0 * 1.20
|
How can I edit this to get the correct results? I'm also noticing that there isn't anything which actually deals with temperature... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54861 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 6:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
cancech,
Change the 1.8 in these lines to whatever your Vcore is supposed to be Code: | set in0_min 1.8 * 0.95
set in0_max 1.8 * 1.05 | I guess 1.65 but I need to know your CPU type and speed to look it up
That will move the Alarm limits down and teh ALARM for Vcore will go away.
Check the lm_sensors website for setting for your motherboard. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
cancech Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 22 Dec 2004 Posts: 171
|
Posted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 8:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, my motherboard is:
ASUS name: A7V8Z-LA
HP/Compaq name: Kelut-GL6E
My CPU is a AMD 2900+
I looked through the lm_sensors web site, but I couldn't find anything that would deal with my motherboard.
I found a manual for the W83697HF, and that lists information about the readings it takes. But I don't know how to take the information listed there and convert into something that I could add into sernsor.conf.
Hardware Monitor Section starts on pg 23 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|