Man.... Do I Feel Dumb!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
LGer
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 6:04 pm    Post subject: Man.... Do I Feel Dumb! Reply with quote

This install just don't click with me. I've finally found a linux distro that runs - and runs GREAT btw - and I can't follow the install instructions. Obviously I am very new to linux so I can't kick myself too hard but this seems like a very difficult install. I tried the install cd but get to a command prompt as root and sit there. I haven't a clue what to do besides watch the cursor blink. I can get into the shell with the live cd and try to install from that but some of the questions it asks I've never heard before.... What the (place below us) is a "Stage 3 tarball"? I've built a new machine.... AMD 64X2, PCI Express, SLI (but only using one Video card), and have it set up as Raid 0 and wanted to get linux running on it to watch it fly..... Yours is the only distro that I've gotten to run on it and I'd love to install it permanently (I'm trying to get rid of MS Windows). Please.... is there an easy way to install this? If I could just get exactly what is on the Live CD installed I could build from there.... Thanks All - I HOPE! Looking forward to learning this distro and becoming a part of this community.

The Dumb Guy.....
papal_authority
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you use the new installer? Otherwise you need to follow the handbook.
humbletech99
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote