Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
pppoa with router in bridge mode: how?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eae
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 6:29 pm    Post subject: pppoa with router in bridge mode: how? Reply with quote

I have an ethernet router (roper flynet), the connection works fine but I have some problems when I try to open a lot of connections at the same time (ex. pinging all the list of game servers with xqf, file sharing, etc), so I want to use the router as a modem, and do the pppoatm on my pc.

First of all, I have set the router in bridge mode, setting vpi, vci etc. Then i edited my /etc/conf.d/net
Code:

config_eth1=( "dhcp" )
dhcp_eth1=( "nodns" )


#ppp

config_ppp0=( "ppp" )
link_ppp0="/dev/null"
plugins_ppp0=( "pppoa" )
username_ppp0='*****'
password_ppp0='*****'
pppd_ppp0=( "updetach" )


The first two lines are what is needed to connect with the router in router mode, I added the ppp0 part. Next, I run /etc/init.d/net.ppp0 start and I get
Code:
# /etc/init.d/net.ppp0 start
 * Starting ppp0
 *   Bringing up ppp0
 *     ppp
FATAL: Module pppoatm not found.
 *       kernel does not support PPPoATM


If I run make menuconfig, I see no option to compile a module called pppoatm (I am on amd64). Anyways, i emerged ppp with the "atm" use flag and it installed a file called /usr/lib64/pppd/2.4.3/pppoatm.so

Ehm. I have no clue, basically :x
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eae
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bump
I suppose that I should patch my kernel to support pppoatm, but where do I find the patch? :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no kernel patch required. ppp with the "atm" USE flag provides the "pppoatm" kernel module, which you already have. The part you're missing is actually loading the module, it sounds like:
Code:
modprobe pppoatm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eae
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But
Code:
# modprobe pppoatm
FATAL: Module pppoatm not found.

Code:
# locate pppoa
/usr/lib/pppd/2.4.3/pppoatm.so
/usr/src/linux-2.6.15-gentoo-r5/net/atm/pppoatm.c
/usr/src/linux-2.6.14-gentoo-r4/net/atm/pppoatm.c
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops, I forgot, there's the PPPOATM kernel module in the standard kernel. Do a "make menuconfig", press "/" and search on pppoatm, to see its details and dependencies. For more info on the kernel modules, see speedtouch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eae
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, finally I found how to enable pppoatm support in the kernel (first enable atm in the networking section, then pppoatm appears in the device drivers section).
The problem is that it doesn't seem to work :( when I start ppp0 I get no error output, but the connection doesn't work. Isn't there a way to get a more verbose output to see what is wrong? Maybe using the pppd command instead of the ppp0 script...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Change line to:
Code:
pppd_ppp0=( updetach debug )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eae
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adding the debug option didn't change anything (unless the information got logged somewhere).
How am I supposed to tell ppp that it has to use the router connected to eth1? If I was using pppoe, I would just put link_ppp0="eth1"; but in ppp.example they say to use link_ppp0="/dev/null" for pppoa (and putting eth1 there actually gives an error), so how can I specify it?
I'm wondering if it's actually possible to use pppoa with an ethernet router in bridge mode, all the guides that I found refer to usb modems... :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eae wrote:
Adding the debug option didn't change anything (unless the information got logged somewhere).

You should see more info on the screen, and more entries in /var/log/messages. Perhaps it's failing before the more verbose messages would even start :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrness
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 375
Location: bucharest.ro

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PPPoA connections cannot be established over an Ethernet link.
Probably you configured your router to act as a RFC2684 bridge, but this scenario works if and only if your connection is PPPoE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eae
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mrness wrote:
PPPoA connections cannot be established over an Ethernet link.
Probably you configured your router to act as a RFC2684 bridge, but this scenario works if and only if your connection is PPPoE.


Ah. Ok, no big deal, I'll just keep using it in router mode ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum