View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
capira Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 May 2005 Posts: 147 Location: Spain
|
Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 4:23 pm Post subject: [wireless] Too many ethernet adaptors (SOLVED) |
|
|
Hi all.
After doing Code: | # emerge --sync && emerge -DuvN world | on Saturday, I have switched on my Laptop today. After loading everything with no (new ) error I realized the wireless was not working. So, I run a few commands and found that:
Code: | # ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:A0:D1:26:8E:B5
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:37 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2368 (2.3 Kb) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:11
eth1 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-08-0D-A0-D1-26-8E-B5-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
inet addr:192.168.1.2 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:76 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:2736 (2.6 Kb)
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:68 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:68 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:5758 (5.6 Kb) TX bytes:5758 (5.6 Kb)
|
As you can see, eth0 and eth2 are the same devices! And there is no configuration for eth1 which is the wireless devices (or at least should be). So I run
Code: | # iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.
eth0 no wireless extensions.
eth2 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"oceano"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.452 GHz Access Point: 00:03:C9:8C:C4:EC
Bit Rate:54 Mb/s Tx-Power=20 dBm Sensitivity=8/0
Retry limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=95/100 Signal level=-32 dBm Noise level=-85 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:17 Missed beacon:6
eth1 no wireless extensions.
|
Checking my scripts I realize that the system hopes to find eth1 as the wireless device so there is no way that the wireless network work fine. So I have changed everything in order to point eth2 as the wireless device:I just edit /etc/conf.d/net and /etc/conf.d/wireless in order to set eth2 as the wireless device and create a new link to eth2
Code: | # nano -w /etc/conf.d/net
# nano -w /etc/conf.d/wireless
# cd /etc/init.d/
# ln -s net /etc/init.d/net.eth2
# rc-update add net.eth2 default
# rc-update del net.eth1
# reboot |
After the rebooting, again the wireless device was bad configured.
Code: | # ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:A0:D1:26:8E:B5
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:37 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2368 (2.3 Kb) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:11
eth2 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-08-0D-A0-D1-26-8E-B5-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
inet addr:192.168.1.2 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:76 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:2736 (2.6 Kb)
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:68 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:68 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:5758 (5.6 Kb) TX bytes:5758 (5.6 Kb)
# iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.
eth0 no wireless extensions.
eth2 no wireless extensions.
eth1 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"oceano"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.452 GHz Access Point: 00:03:C9:8C:C4:EC
Bit Rate:54 Mb/s Tx-Power=20 dBm Sensitivity=8/0
Retry limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=95/100 Signal level=-32 dBm Noise level=-85 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:17 Missed beacon:6
|
Any ideas of what is going on? Ok, I can set my network device manually but it is so bored ...
Last edited by capira on Tue Apr 11, 2006 3:52 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
UberLord Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
capira Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 May 2005 Posts: 147 Location: Spain
|
Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 9:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have no clue about how to do that ... udev really scare me. There is a workaround: I have created one net.ethX per each device and only set the one that I need, which is the wireless one. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
UberLord Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
capira Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 May 2005 Posts: 147 Location: Spain
|
Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 3:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks a lot, UberLord!
I have added the rule that you said an after reboot I got a new device called wlan, so I have deleted the other and just left the wlan one configure. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|