View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Spanik Veteran
Joined: 12 Dec 2003 Posts: 1014 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 7:01 pm Post subject: Areca ARC-1120 experiences under Gentoo |
|
|
I got it running after about 2 weeks. I'm not exactly a master of linux, but this might/could help others. So for what it is worth:
- you can find the source for the diver at www.areca.com.tw While there, take also a copy of cli64 and archttppci64. (there are also 32bit versions)
- after un-tarring you need to do the following
- copy the folder /arcmsr in /usr/src/linux/drivers/scsi
- in /usr/src/linux/drivers/scsi/Makefile add the line
Code: | obj-$(CONFIG_SCSI_ARCMSR) += arcmsr/" |
(I put it next to the line of the 7xxx)
- in /usr/src/linux/drivers/scsi/Kconfig add the following:
Code: | config SCSI_ARCMSR
tristate "ARECA ARC11X0[PCI-X]/ARC12X0[PCI-EXPRESS] SATA-RAID support"
depends on PCI && SCSI
help
This driver supports all of ARECA's SATA RAID controllers cards.
This is an ARECA maintained driver by Erich Chen.
If you have any problems, please mail to: < erich@areca.com.tw >
Areca have suport Linux RAID config tools
< http://www.areca.com.tw >
To compile this driver as a module, choose M here: the
module will be called arcmsr (modprobe arcmsr) .
....
|
Config a new kernel and enable:
- scsi disk support
- scsi tape support
- scsi cdrom support
- scsi generic support
- probe all luns on each scsi device
- under the SCSi low level drivers: enable the ARECA ARC-11X0/ARC-12X0 driver AS MODULE!!!!
I had to build it as a module, otherwise the kernel with the driver in it would not start since it didn't found root=/dev/sda3.
Build and install as usual.
At next boot, load the module with
Then you can start archttppci64 with
You do not have to give the card number as in the manual. (maybe if you are rich enough to have more cards than one...)
Connect with your browser to http://127.0.0.1:6666 and then follow the manual. _________________ Expert in non-working solutions |
|
Back to top |
|
|
simeli Apprentice
Joined: 15 Jun 2005 Posts: 193 Location: Switzerland, Zurich
|
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 10:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Nice! Have you tried installing another drive and expanding the raid (5) with that and then grow the filesystem on top? Would be interested to know if this works. _________________ Pentium M 740 on MSI 915GM SPEEDSTER-FA4, 2x512MB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 667 Memory, Zalman CNPS7000B AlCu, Samsung SpinPoint P120 250GB SATAII, Hauppauge WinTV PVR-500, Enermaxx Liberty 400, Antec P180
Husaberg FS650e Force Edition [http://www.husaberg.se] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|