Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Reboot returns to bios with no operating system error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xmltok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reboot returns to bios with no operating system error Reply with quote

I am running 2.6.16-gentoo-r3 on a Tyan S2466 with 2 2600+ Athlon MP chips, and running off a 3ware 9500S8.

The system runs fine until I try to reboot it, at which point it returns to the bios bootup as if it did not find a hard drive, and continues to check the next boot device on the list. When this fails (PXE) it gives me a no operating system error.

I've tried changing the kernel settings to disable ACPI, APM, and I tried disabling ACPI in bios. I don't know what else to try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54834
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xmltok,

Welcome to Gentoo.

Your symptoms suggest that the BIOS cannot find a disk with a bootloader installed.
Which bootloader do you use and how did you install it onto your MBR ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xmltok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed grub with grub-install. I have the /boot directory on my /dev/sda1 and it is using XFS. Is there directions on grub installations that I can follow aside from the gentoo install docs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54834
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xmltok,

Install grub manully with the command sequence
Code:
grub
root (hd0,0)
setp (hd0)
quit

This puts the bootloader on the MBR of the first drive known to the BIOS when grubs files (your /boot) are in the first partition of that drive. If you have IDE HDDs then they are normally discovered before SATA or SCSI.
If your machine does not have a floppy, the first command needs to be
Code:
grub -no-floppy
Any error mesages you get from the above sequence will be useful.

Some BIOSes need the bootable partition to be flagged as bootable. Check with
Code:
fdisk -l /dev/sda
and use fdisk to change the flag if needed.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xmltok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
xmltok,

Install grub manully with the command sequence
Code:
grub
root (hd0,0)
setp (hd0)
quit

This puts the bootloader on the MBR of the first drive known to the BIOS when grubs files (your /boot) are in the first partition of that drive. If you have IDE HDDs then they are normally discovered before SATA or SCSI.
If your machine does not have a floppy, the first command needs to be
Code:
grub -no-floppy
Any error mesages you get from the above sequence will be useful.

Some BIOSes need the bootable partition to be flagged as bootable. Check with
Code:
fdisk -l /dev/sda
and use fdisk to change the flag if needed.


I had installed grub in that method before, without the --no-floppy option. I have since done this and enabled the bootable flag on my /dev/sda, which not set.

Unfortunately, this didn't make a difference.

I have checked by dd'ing the first 512 bytes of my drive to see if grub is in the MBR, and it is. My fdisk results are:

Code:

# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 799.9 GB, 799954436096 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 97255 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1       97006   779200663+  83  Linux
/dev/sda2           97007       97255     2000092+  82  Linux swap / Solaris


Do you have any other ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54834
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xmltok,

It sounds like the BIOS cannot see your hard drive, since if GRUB was loading at all, it would at least say GRUB:
You are presumably booting from a CD for your install and have no other drives than those attached to your RAID card.

Have you set the boot order in the BIOS to allow booting from the RAID card ?

Also, does grub see your RAID as (hd0). Try the following, where -> means press the tab key
Code:
grub
root (hd->
Grub will list all the HDD is can see.

Be aware that the MBR is outside the normal filesystem. The RAID controller may or may not hide that from grub.
I suppose you are using as RAID ?
You wouldn't plug a card like that in and use it in JBOD mode.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xmltok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
xmltok,

It sounds like the BIOS cannot see your hard drive, since if GRUB was loading at all, it would at least say GRUB:
You are presumably booting from a CD for your install and have no other drives than those attached to your RAID card.

Have you set the boot order in the BIOS to allow booting from the RAID card ?

Also, does grub see your RAID as (hd0). Try the following, where -> means press the tab key
Code:
grub
root (hd->
Grub will list all the HDD is can see.

Be aware that the MBR is outside the normal filesystem. The RAID controller may or may not hide that from grub.
I suppose you are using as RAID ?
You wouldn't plug a card like that in and use it in JBOD mode.


Right, RAID-5.

The machine is booting off of the hard drive, there is no CD in the machine and no floppy disk.

Grub does see hd(0,0) my xfs partition that I have installed it to.

I had previously has FreeBSD installed on here and it was working fine, so the BIOS is capable of recognizing the HD, nothing has changed since I had FreeBSD installed.

Would I be better off just installing lilo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
troymc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 553

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have this same MB.

Have you set your BIOS to boot the offboard SCSI device?

By default the BIOS will only be set to boot the basic onboard stuff (FD, HDD, CD).



troymc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xmltok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, the machine boots up with GRUB fine, its when I reboot the server that I have a problem. The BIOS returns to its booting process as if it never found the OS on the HD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xmltok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lilo has the same results
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum