Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Ethernet Problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 11:47 pm    Post subject: Ethernet Problem Reply with quote

So my ethernet connection eth1 was working on the gentoo amd64 universal install cd... but now i get into the actual operating system and it says eth1 doesnt exist... is there some common problem i missed?

Last edited by Cryptix on Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:09 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when i go to my /etc/init.d and check for net.eth1 and it says "Too many levels of symbolic links"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i didnt use genkernel... do i have to find my specific driver in the ncurses thing for the kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

my ethernet is Marvell 88E8036 Fast Ethernet which driver do i need to compile in the kernel for that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
think4urs11
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 6659
Location: above the cloud

PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cryptix wrote:
my ethernet is Marvell 88E8036 Fast Ethernet which driver do i need to compile in the kernel for that?


skge
Code:
Device Drivers
---> Network device support
  ---> Ethernet (1000 Mbit)
    --->  New SysKonnect GigaEthernet support (EXPERIMENTAL)

_________________
Nothing is secure / Security is always a trade-off with usability / Do not assume anything / Trust no-one, nothing / Paranoia is your friend / Think for yourself
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerdesj
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 622
Location: Yeovil, Somerset, UK

PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cryptix wrote:
when i go to my /etc/init.d and check for net.eth1 and it says "Too many levels of symbolic links"


Make sure that net.eth1 is a symlink to net.lo for example on my laptop:
Code:

jglaptop ~ # ls -l /etc/init.d/net.*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     6 Apr 30 10:50 /etc/init.d/net.eth0 -> net.lo
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     6 Mar  5 08:12 /etc/init.d/net.eth1 -> net.lo
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 29751 Apr 30 10:50 /etc/init.d/net.lo
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     6 Dec 18 23:37 /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 -> net.lo


Cheers
Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright thanks guys ill try that when i get back home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how do i restore the symlink on /etc/init.d/net.eth1 because right now its pointing to net.eth1 instead of net.lo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think the symlink is the only problem for this, having gone through it again i remember i think i messed up somewhere in the install... how do i change the symlink back to net.lo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
cd /etc/init.d
rm -f net.eth1
ln -s net.lo net.eth1

_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

k so i restored the symlink and added eth1 to startup... i get this error now:
Code:

Starting eth1
Bringing up eth1
192.168.1.97
eth1 does not exist
ERROR: Problem starting needed services.
"netmount" was not started.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lspci recognizes the nic in case your wondering.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4735
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

Look at the output of ifconfig -a. Are you sure that your nic is eth1 and not eth0? If you have an IEEE1394 port, it's possible that the live-cd saw that as eth0.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i do have an IEEE1394 port, but eth0 is having the same problems as eth1

Code:

lo: Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addrs: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets: 24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1752 (1.7Kb) TX bytes:1752 (1.7Kb)

sit0: Link encap:IPv6-inIPv4
NOARP MTU:1480 Metric:1
RX packets: 0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4735
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 3:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In that case, let's return to the basics.
You have two nics. You talked about a Marvell 88E8036. What is the other? Please post the output of lspci | grep -i net. Did you remember to load the modules - lsmod?
Let us see your init scripts ls -l /etc/init.d/net* and the contents of /etc/conf.d/net.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lspci | grep -i net:
Code:

Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8036 Fast Ethernet Controller (rev 10)
Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)


i have no idea what u mean when u say load the modules - lsmod, sorry

ls -l /etc/init.d/net*:
Code:

/etc/init.d/net.eth0 -> net.lo
/etc/init.d/net.eth1 -> net.lo
/etc/init.d/net.lo
/etc/init.d/netmount


/etc/conf.d/net:
Code:

config_eth1=( "192.168.1.97 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255" )
routes_eth1=( "default gw 192.168.1.1" )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

figured out lsmod... im clueless... anyways it didnt have anything that seemed to be related to my card version (Marvel Technology 88E8036)

i can't copy/paste it so ill write ones that are being used by the livecd:
Code:

rsrc_nonstatic  9216  1 yenta_socket
pcmcia_core  26660  2 yanta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
dm_mod   38864  1 dm_mirror
libata   39696  15 pdc_adma,sata_mv,ata_piix,ahci,sata_qstor,sata_vsc,sata_uli,sata_sx4,sata_nv,sata_via,sata_svw,sata_sil24,sata_sil,sata_promise
ieee1394   64120  3 eth1394,sbp2,ohci1394
usbcore   92328  7 sl811_hcd,ohci_hcd,uhci_hcd,usb_storage,usbhid,ehci_hcd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4735
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2006 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for letting this go by, but I was convinced that it was a driver problem and I didn't knew your nic. After reading this post, it seems that your nic should use the forcedeth driver. Look at the output of the following:
Code:
# grep -i forcedeth /usr/src/linux/.config

_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2006 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CONFIG_FORCEDETH=y


so i should take off the driver that you told me to put on previously and compile the forcedeth driver? compile it as a module?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i cant find the forcedeth driver in the kernel setup, im assuming it isnt called forcedeth in there?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i googled it and found the forcedeth driver name, i compiled it as a module and i just rebooted and i still get the same error. however, when i lsmod, nothing is listed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syouth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 275

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There must be, if you ain't using some too old 2.6 kernel.

Code:
Device Drivers  --->
  Network device support  --->
    Ethernet (10 or 100Mbit)  --->
      <*>   Reverse Engineered nForce Ethernet support (EXPERIMENTAL)


And it work pretty stable in my box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this might be relevant, whenever i build the kernel i get a "dnsdomainname: Host name lookup failure" error. but the compile continues anyways, by the way i compiled the forcedeth driver in the kernel and rebooted and it stil didnt work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryptix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

also another idea, dont i have to add something into the /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 when i add a module? do i just add forcedeth for the forcedeth driver? and also when i went looking through my network drivers in the kernel config i found many other drivers selected, should i unselect them?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syouth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 275

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you compiled something as module and want to use it in every boot, you should put the module name in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 . Some modules are loaded by latest udev or coldplug, if you don't have latest udev at hand.

And disabling drivers, you don't need, is certainly sensible -> it speeds up kernel compilation and makes the size of a kernel smaller. And you lose nothing when you don't have such hardware in your PC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum