Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gnome out of range? Won't display in my monitor....
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mehendrickson
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 10:19 pm    Post subject: Gnome out of range? Won't display in my monitor.... Reply with quote

Alright guys, I've been trolling here all day while I install this thing. I am a linux newb (I've been using Fedora on my laptop for a few months now and I decided to install Gentoo on my desktop just for fun)

Here's my problem. I spent pretty much the past day and a half working through the install, feeling proud of myself when things went well, and waiting for Gnome to compile. It finally finished, and with all the joy a child must feel the first time he gets an ice cream cone, I started the GUI. Then my monitor went blank and there's a small blue box that says "Out of Range" I'm guessing it has something to do with the video driver or something. How can I fix it and are their any keyboard shortcuts that will get me out of Gnome and back in the command line?

Thanks guys. Matt.
GetLinux
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most people can get out of this black screen by hitting CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE or a similar combination of keys, then typing "reboot"+ENTER. (The unfortunate part is you can't see anything.)

I actually had to power off my computer the "bad" way.