Installed windows and I think it messed up my boot partition
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Zman_Ace
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 12:24 am    Post subject: Installed windows and I think it messed up my boot partition Reply with quote

Disclaimer: I'm very new to this and am still unfamiliar with a ton of the command interface...but I want to learn so that's why i'm still trying.

I did my research and decided to choose gentoo...mostly because of this forum to be honest. I don't like posting "easy" questions and I have probably spent too much time searching through the docs and forums here.

So I installed gentoo on my laptop, got my nic working, finished installing, got my nvidia drivers working, got my linksys wireless G card working, installed amsn...the hard way, and i was working on getting eclipse installed with the web standards extensions (my biggest headache until now) until I had to install xp today to get some other work done.

After the install, I guess xp fried my boot partition (hope not) and obviously it kicked grub out of the MBR. I need to get that fixed if at all possible and I'd like to do it without having to start from scratch.

So I have rebooted using the most recent version of the LiveCD (the one I installed with) and I'd like to give you guys the fdisk info because I know you're going to ask for it, but when I go to terminal and type fdisk, it says:
Code:

gentoo@livecd ~ $ fdisk
bash: fdisk: command not found

I've read in other posts that you can reinstall grub but you need to do something with chroot...well, I've been reading part "6.a Chrooting" in the handbook and I guess I'm still to much of a newbie because I can't seem to make sense of it.

Code:

gentoo@livecd ~ $ chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
chroot: cannot change root directory to /mnt/gentoo: Operation not permitted