View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
TheWizard n00b
Joined: 20 May 2002 Posts: 35 Location: Israel
|
Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 4:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
tried just about anything but the zerofill, I'll give it a try next but (if I may ask) why ext3 (-j). I guess it WILL solve the problem (or more to the point - the simptom) because of it simply being ext3 (or not being ext2 to be exact).
the not-recognized-ext2-partition-mouting problem will still prevail - at least that's what I think.
I might try it with the zerofill + ext2 formated, though I doute it will work. but I have no doute that an ext3 (as you've sugested) WILL work.
---OT warning OT warning OT---
as for the alsa situation I've menage (throuout the night) to totally destroy my lovely gen' box, save it crippled, killing it again more horribly and raising it from the dead in the great condition (more or less) it once (before alsa) was.
I now in a pretty good condition with it though (alsa), I figured out exactly what to do and how it works and did it (though it still doesn't work...). I will not giveup and continue the fight 'till one of us dies - me or my gentoo and the way things are it will be probbly me...
but I will not post a question until I'm sure I've completly and otterly faild!
P.S. is it so notisable I havn't emerged ispell yet? I thought so.... I'm sorry in advance for my spelling mistakes, I will emerge it just as soon as I'll be triumphant over this coursed alsa. _________________ No good deed ever goes unpunished |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheWizard n00b
Joined: 20 May 2002 Posts: 35 Location: Israel
|
Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
delta407 wrote: | Well, if you can get access to your /boot partition and want to start over, copy off everything you want (bzImage, grub/menu.lst) and re-create it.
Code: |
# umount /boot
# dd if=/dev/null of=/dev/hda1 <-- zeroes whole partition
# mke2fs -j /dev/hda1 <-- reformat
# nano -w /etc/fstab <-- make sure you're set to ext3!
# grub
grub> setup (hd0,0)
grub> root (hd0)
grub> quit
# mount /boot
|
|
unbelivble!!! this too didn't work!!!!!!! in both ext2 and ext3 with zerofills and all, it's still mounts as vfat unless '-t'ed!
btw, fixed all alsa probs, stupid old me - the card wasn't hooked up just right to the mb.... _________________ No good deed ever goes unpunished |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Beavis n00b
Joined: 22 May 2002 Posts: 24 Location: Dirty Jersey
|
Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 5:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
My boot partition is the same way even though i specifically remember making it ext3... i gave up trying to fix it cuz i finalized my kernel tweaking and haven't had a need to access that partition again. Mine mounts as vfat also unless i specify the -t option |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AutoBot l33t
Joined: 22 Apr 2002 Posts: 968 Location: Usually Out
|
Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 6:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
TheWizard wrote: | delta407 wrote: | Well, if you can get access to your /boot partition and want to start over, copy off everything you want (bzImage, grub/menu.lst) and re-create it.
Code: |
# umount /boot
# dd if=/dev/null of=/dev/hda1 <-- zeroes whole partition
# mke2fs -j /dev/hda1 <-- reformat
# nano -w /etc/fstab <-- make sure you're set to ext3!
# grub
grub> setup (hd0,0)
grub> root (hd0)
grub> quit
# mount /boot
|
|
unbelivble!!! this too didn't work!!!!!!! in both ext2 and ext3 with zerofills and all, it's still mounts as vfat unless '-t'ed!
btw, fixed all alsa probs, stupid old me - the card wasn't hooked up just right to the mb.... |
Try this instead:
Code: |
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda1 bs=1k
|
_________________ This message self destructed a long time ago. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheWizard n00b
Joined: 20 May 2002 Posts: 35 Location: Israel
|
Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 9:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
AutoBot wrote: |
Try this instead:
Code: |
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda1 bs=1k
|
|
Shoul'd I back my /boot files up, the do so without reformating afterwards and then returen the files? _________________ No good deed ever goes unpunished |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AutoBot l33t
Joined: 22 Apr 2002 Posts: 968 Location: Usually Out
|
Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 1:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Anything you want to keep you should back up first. _________________ This message self destructed a long time ago. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
slonocode Apprentice
Joined: 03 Jun 2002 Posts: 273
|
Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 10:53 am Post subject: Non expert observation |
|
|
I noticed in you /etc/fstab file that /dev/hda1 had 1 2 in the last fields.
Could this have anything to do with the problem. I notice mine has 1 1 and the gentoo install guide has 1 1 also.
Just something I noticed.
Slonocode |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Beavis n00b
Joined: 22 May 2002 Posts: 24 Location: Dirty Jersey
|
Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 3:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | I noticed in you /etc/fstab file that /dev/hda1 had 1 2 in the last fields.
Could this have anything to do with the problem. I notice mine has 1 1 and the gentoo install guide has 1 1 also.
Just something I noticed.
Slonocode |
I have that in my fstab, but still it mounts as vfat automatically |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pjp Administrator
Joined: 16 Apr 2002 Posts: 20476
|
Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 8:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | /dev/hda2 /boot ext3 noauto,noatime 1 2 | I didn't put the 2 in on my own, so either it was there, or I read it from somewhere. Works fine for me. _________________ Quis separabit? Quo animo? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
delta407 Bodhisattva
Joined: 23 Apr 2002 Posts: 2876 Location: Chicago, IL
|
Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 8:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
AutoBot wrote: | delta407 wrote: |
Code: |
# dd if=/dev/null of=/dev/hda1 <-- zeroes whole partition
|
|
Try this instead:
Code: |
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda1 bs=1k
|
|
Errr... yeah, I meant /dev/zero. Whoops |
|
Back to top |
|
|
474 l33t
Joined: 19 Apr 2002 Posts: 714
|
Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 8:37 pm Post subject: Have you tried this? |
|
|
Quote: | dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda1 bs=1k |
Perhaps not quite. I helped someone out on the Newbies mailing list who was having almost exactly the same problem. He had a Windows 2000 installation on before, and no matter what he did, his /boot partition had odd entries and behaved oddly. In the end, I told him to do a low-level format and it worked. Well, he used a DOS utility from his hard-disk manufacturer (there's potential advantages in doing so), but dd should have a similar result.
I think this might work better:
Code: | dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda bs=512 | Well I'm not sure the bs value really matters in this case, but you might as well zero out the whole drive raw. Using hda1 will not modify the partition tables/boot sector which could be causing problems. BACK UP ALL OF YOUR DATA FIRST!!!!! THERE'S NO GOING BACK AFTER THIS!
Might as well mention this tip too seeing as it's related - to back up your partition tables/boot sector to a file:
Code: | dd if=/dev/hda of=firstsector.bak bs=512 count=1 | and to completely destroy your partition table/boot sector (sometimes useful with new installations) Code: | dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda bs=512 count=1 |
I thought the last line should have been enough in the other guy's case, but in the end he did have to nuke the whole drive! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lx Veteran
Joined: 28 May 2002 Posts: 1012 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 9:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Offtopic:
man fstab about the "1 2" in fstab
Quote: | The fifth field, (fs_freq), is used for these filesystems
by the dump( command to determine which filesystems need
to be dumped. If the fifth field is not present, a value
of zero is returned and dump will assume that the filesys
tem does not need to be dumped.
The sixth field, (fs_passno), is used by the fsck( pro
gram to determine the order in which filesystem checks are
done at reboot time. The root filesystem should be speci
fied with a fs_passno of 1, and other filesystems should
have a fs_passno of 2. Filesystems within a drive will be
checked sequentially, but filesystems on different drives
will be checked at the same time to utilize parallelism
available in the hardware. If the sixth field is not pre
sent or zero, a value of zero is returned and fsck will
assume that the filesystem does not need to be checked.
|
Cya lX. _________________ "Remember there's a big difference between kneeling down and bending over.", Frank Zappa |
|
Back to top |
|
|
474 l33t
Joined: 19 Apr 2002 Posts: 714
|
Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 10:00 pm Post subject: Good call |
|
|
Quote: | Offtopic:
man fstab about the "1 2" in fstab |
Heheh ... what are the man pages for, eh? You should put that in Tips'n'Tricks. I shudder to think how many users probably don't know that ... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheWizard n00b
Joined: 20 May 2002 Posts: 35 Location: Israel
|
Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2002 11:34 pm Post subject: Re: Have you tried this? |
|
|
kerframil wrote: | Quote: | dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda1 bs=1k |
Perhaps not quite. I helped someone out on the Newbies mailing list who was having almost exactly the same problem. He had a Windows ............................VERY BAD STUFF.............................s case, but in the end he did have to nuke the whole drive! |
I don't want to kill everytbhing just for that!!! strange as it may seen I've thought about partition table based problem BUT DISMISSED IT as I've linux-fdisked it and have no other OS (thank you gentoo ) but it...
is there a sainer way? _________________ No good deed ever goes unpunished |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AutoBot l33t
Joined: 22 Apr 2002 Posts: 968 Location: Usually Out
|
Posted: Thu Jun 13, 2002 1:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Why not just format the partition ReiserFS or XFS to see if you have the same problem? _________________ This message self destructed a long time ago. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheWizard n00b
Joined: 20 May 2002 Posts: 35 Location: Israel
|
Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 12:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
AutoBot wrote: | Why not just format the partition ReiserFS or XFS to see if you have the same problem? |
it's too much of a hasle to compile XFS to the kernel (and ALSA and Nvidia-kernel again) then reformat. in my next recompile of the kernel I'll do it just to test but I just don't have the energy for that stupid tiny problem....
well anyway thanks for all the help and if I'll do it soon I'll let you know. _________________ No good deed ever goes unpunished |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AutoBot l33t
Joined: 22 Apr 2002 Posts: 968 Location: Usually Out
|
Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2002 2:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Agreed, I've been using ext3 on a gcc2 based gentoo system because of the xfs preempt problems I had on my first gentoo install. So I decided lastnight to build a gcc3 based gentoo running on xfs once again, damn preempt is still not functioning properly. Long story short, when and if you do decide to change filesystems I recommend ReiserFS to save yourself some headache. _________________ This message self destructed a long time ago. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|