Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
CDrom won't auto-mount [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
crackbaby58
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 6:18 pm    Post subject: CDrom won't auto-mount [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I'm running gnome.
I have hald, dbus running
User is in appropriate groups:
Code:

$ groups
wheel floppy audio cdrom video usb users cron plugdev games


CDs won't mount when I insert them.
Manually mounting them produced an error:
Code:

mount: block device /dev/hdc is write-protected, mounting read-only
mount: /dev/hdc already mounted or /media/cdrecorder/ busy


On someone's advise I emerged ivman and pmount.
No automount, clicking CD-RW drive under Nautilus gave an error:
Code:

Warning: device /dev/hdc is already handled by /etc/fstab, supplied label is ignored
mount: block device /dev/hdc is write-protected, mounting read-only
mount: /dev/hdc already mounted or /media/cdrecorder busy
Error: could not execute pmount

So I commented reference to cdrom from fstab
No automount. Clicking CD-RW drive again produced different error:
Code:

mount: unknown filesystem type 'jfs'
Error: could not delete mount point: No such file or directory
Error: could not execute pmount

I tried manual pmount with user.
Code:

$ pmount /dev/hdc
mount: unknown filesystem type 'jfs'

Code:

$ pmount -t iso9660 /dev/hdc
mount: block device /dev/hdc is write-protected, mounting read-only
mount: /dev/hdc already mounted or /media/hdc busy


Does this mean anything to anyone? I'm stumped.


Last edited by crackbaby58 on Sat May 20, 2006 9:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mirojira
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 685

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is in your /etc/fstab ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crackbaby58
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply.
Code:

cat /etc/fstab
/dev/hda1               /boot           ext2            defaults,rw,noatime             1 1
/dev/hda3               /               ext3            noatime,user_xattr              0 0
/dev/hda2               none            swap            sw                      0 0
/dev/hda5               /home           ext3            noatime,user_xattr      0 0
#/dev/cdroms/cdrom0     /mnt/cdrom      auto            auto,ro,user            0 0
/dev/fd0                /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto                  0 0
/dev/hdb1               /mnt/bigboy     ext3            auto,noatime,user,exec,user_xattr  0 0
/dev/sda2               /mnt/ipod       vfat            sync,nodev,noauto,user,uid=1000,gid=100      0 0
none                    /proc           proc            defaults                0 0
#/dev/hdc                /media/cdrecorder       auto    user,exec,noauto,managed 0 0
#/dev/cdrom /media/cdrecorder auto noauto,user 0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mirojira
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 685

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This should make automount for you

Code:
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0             /mnt/cdrom     iso9660     users,noauto         0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crackbaby58
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem(s).
Additionally, when attempting to manually mount I get
Code:

# mount /media/cdrecorder/
mount: special device /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 does not exist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mirojira
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 685

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that you should take a look in your /dev directory. If /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 does not exists you musn't use it in fstab.
Using command ls -l /dev/cdr* you should have something like that
Code:

lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 May 20 13:23 /dev/cdrom -> xxx
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 May 20 13:23 /dev/cdrw -> xxx


This should be your device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crackbaby58
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, that's the easy part. It's at /dev/hdc.
Code:

# ls -al /dev/cdr*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 May 16 23:11 /dev/cdrom -> hdc
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 May 16 23:11 /dev/cdrw -> hdc

Mounting it still doesn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crackbaby58
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is bizarre.
I stopped hald & ivman, and killed gnome-volume-manager.
Thus, nothing should be automounted, right?

Then, when I put a CD in and manually mount it, I get the same 'already mounted' error:
Code:

# mount /dev/hdc
mount: block device /dev/hdc is write-protected, mounting read-only
mount: /dev/hdc already mounted or /mnt/cdrom busy


What could possibly be attempting to mount this? Some kernel-level thing?

Edit:
After attempting, this is output of mount:
Code:

# mount
/dev/hda3 on / type ext3 (rw,noatime,user_xattr)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
udev on /dev type tmpfs (rw,nosuid)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
/dev/hda1 on /boot type ext2 (rw,noatime)
/dev/hda5 on /home type ext3 (rw,noatime,user_xattr)
/dev/hdb1 on /mnt/bigboy type ext3 (rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,user_xattr)
none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,devmode=0664,devgid=85)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crackbaby58
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not completely sure why, but it works now.
I suspect it was because I didn't have hotplug in default run-level
Code:

# rc-update add hotplug default

How it works.
The relevant line from fstab is
Code:

/dev/hdc                /mnt/cdrom       iso9660    user,exec,noauto,managed 0 0

Thanks for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum