View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mvb n00b
Joined: 22 May 2006 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Mon May 22, 2006 4:47 pm Post subject: Default route always wrong |
|
|
Hi,
how can I set the default route to my second Ethernet card?
In /etc/conf.d/net I've first tried
Code: | config_eth0=( "192.168.227.114 broadcast 192.168.227.255 netmask 255.255.255.0" )
config_eth1=( "213.203.218.134 broadcast 213.203.218.159 netmask 255.255.255.224" )
routes_eth1=( "default via 213.203.218.129" )
|
but after boot this results in:
Code: | Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
213.203.218.128 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.224 U 0 0 0 eth1
192.168.227.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
0.0.0.0 213.203.218.129 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth1
0.0.0.0 192.168.227.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
|
No matter how I try I alway get a default route to 192.168.227.1
What did I do wrong?
Thanks in advance
MvB |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PsychoticRetina Guru
Joined: 18 Dec 2005 Posts: 352 Location: behind the scalpel
|
Posted: Mon May 22, 2006 5:35 pm Post subject: Re: Default route always wrong |
|
|
i have no *nix networking experience, but it looks logical to me. youve chosen to specify a gateway for eth1 and the appropriate ip is listed correctly (213.203.218.129). you havent specified any gateway for eth0, so (i assume) the system chooses one - the one it sees as the most probable for the subnet range specified. with a /24 mask, as you have specified for eth0, 192.168.127.1 would be the most probable gateway, as this is the first ip address in that range that is "usable" (192.168.127.0 being a reserved ip address of the whole network.) thats just a guess though.
what value do you expect and what exacly are you trying to achieve? whats your network topology? _________________ there are pinheads everywhere.
penguins are no exception. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nixnut Bodhisattva
Joined: 09 Apr 2004 Posts: 10974 Location: the dutch mountains
|
Posted: Mon May 22, 2006 5:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Moved from Installing Gentoo to Networking & Security.
Networking question, so moved here. _________________ Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bluedevils Apprentice
Joined: 21 Jul 2004 Posts: 252 Location: Vancouver BC -> NYC, NY
|
Posted: Mon May 22, 2006 6:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
it looks like it put in two default routes. One is yours and the other must have come from some other configuration. I can't remember, does gentoo or newer linux even look at /etc/defaultrouter or is /etc/conf.d/net the only file? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mvb n00b
Joined: 22 May 2006 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Tue May 23, 2006 6:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
nixnut wrote: | Moved from Installing Gentoo to Networking & Security.
Networking question, so moved here. |
Mmmh, this is not a networking question. I have no problems with network setup. Since when I remove the strange route by issuing a Code: | route del default gw 192.168.227.1 | everything is fine. I have a problem with gentoo-specific scripts. I want to know how I can install a server which operates smoothly after boot without the necessity of deleting the false route by hand. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mvb n00b
Joined: 22 May 2006 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Tue May 23, 2006 6:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
bluedevils wrote: | it looks like it put in two default routes. One is yours and the other must have come from some other configuration. I can't remember, does gentoo or newer linux even look at /etc/defaultrouter or is /etc/conf.d/net the only file? |
What you term Quote: | some other configuration | is exactly what I'm looking for. But my search revealed little so far:
There is a script named 'net.lo' in /etc/iniit.d. For each card there is a link to that script e.g.
net.eth0->net.lo
net.eth1->net.lo
The script's header reads:
Code: | #NB: Config is in /etc/conf.d/net |
and I cannnot find any traditional config files like /etc/route or /etc/defaultroute |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mvb n00b
Joined: 22 May 2006 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Tue May 23, 2006 6:44 am Post subject: Re: Default route always wrong |
|
|
vesselin wrote: | i have no *nix networking experience, but it looks logical to me. youve chosen to specify a gateway for eth1 and the appropriate ip is listed correctly (213.203.218.129). you havent specified any gateway for eth0, so (i assume) the system chooses one - the one it sees as the most probable for the subnet range specified. with a /24 mask, as you have specified for eth0, 192.168.127.1 would be the most probable gateway, as this is the first ip address in that range that is "usable" (192.168.127.0 being a reserved ip address of the whole network.) thats just a guess though.
what value do you expect and what exacly are you trying to achieve? whats your network topology? |
Since I have an external IP I don't want packets to remote destinations routet through LAN, but through the interface with the external IP. The default route to LAN prevents that. I have to remove it manually. Otherwise you never get a reply when you contact the server from Internet. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
troymc Guru
Joined: 22 Mar 2006 Posts: 553
|
Posted: Tue May 23, 2006 7:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
This bad gateway appears only at boot?
No DHCP client or server running?
No ppp connection initiated out eth0?
Can you show us the output of
Code: |
# grep -v "^#" /etc/conf.d/net
|
troymc |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mvb n00b
Joined: 22 May 2006 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Tue May 23, 2006 7:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
troymc wrote: | This bad gateway appears only at boot? |
Yes
Quote: | No DHCP client or server running? |
Yes and No
The box is a diskless, headless server with an NFS-mounted root. It boots via pxelinux. Therefore, DHCP boot support is in the kernel. And of course it boots from LAN. But there is no need for a default route at this stage and the DHCP server does not provide one.
Quote: | No ppp connection initiated out eth0? |
No
Quote: | Can you show us the output of
Code: |
# grep -v "^#" /etc/conf.d/net
|
|
Code: |
mvb@www4 ~ $ grep -v "^#" /etc/conf.d/net
config_eth0=( "192.168.227.114 broadcast 192.168.227.255 netmask 255.255.255.0" )
config_eth1=( "213.203.218.134 broadcast 213.203.218.159 netmask 255.255.255.224" )
routes_eth1=( "default via 213.203.218.129" )
mvb@www4 ~ $
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
troymc Guru
Joined: 22 Mar 2006 Posts: 553
|
Posted: Tue May 23, 2006 10:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Wow...Ok, does the bad gateway go away if you take down eth0 manually?
Code: |
# /etc/init.d/net.eth0 stop
|
troymc |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mvb n00b
Joined: 22 May 2006 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Tue May 23, 2006 11:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
troymc wrote: | Wow...Ok, does the bad gateway go away if you take down eth0 manually?
Code: |
# /etc/init.d/net.eth0 stop
|
troymc |
This I cannot answer because since the whole file system is mounted on nfs the box immediatly hangs when eth0 goes away.
It does not change when I stop/start net.eth1, though. (whatever this info might be worth). I should perhaps enable serial console to have a look/see.... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
troymc Guru
Joined: 22 Mar 2006 Posts: 553
|
Posted: Tue May 23, 2006 11:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
mvb wrote: |
This I cannot answer because since the whole file system is mounted on nfs the box immediatly hangs when eth0 goes away.
It does not change when I stop/start net.eth1, though. (whatever this info might be worth). I should perhaps enable serial console to have a look/see.... |
Ok, every bit of info helps, that does count out the eth1 configuration as the culprit. We know it has to be coming in with the initial eth0 configuration. And that comes during the PXE boot, and that comes in from the DHCP server.
Can you post the dhcp.conf from the dhcp server? (I understand that this may be sensitive info.)
Are you sure the dhcp server is not providing a default gateway?
You may not have one set specifically for this host, but maybe a global option that is being sent by default?
troymc |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mvb n00b
Joined: 22 May 2006 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Tue May 23, 2006 12:04 pm Post subject: [solved] Default route always wrong |
|
|
troymc wrote: | mvb wrote: |
This I cannot answer because since the whole file system is mounted on nfs the box immediatly hangs when eth0 goes away.
It does not change when I stop/start net.eth1, though. (whatever this info might be worth). I should perhaps enable serial console to have a look/see.... |
Ok, every bit of info helps, that does count out the eth1 configuration as the culprit. We know it has to be coming in with the initial eth0 configuration. And that comes during the PXE boot, and that comes in from the DHCP server.
Can you post the dhcp.conf from the dhcp server? (I understand that this may be sensitive info.)
Are you sure the dhcp server is not providing a default gateway?
You may not have one set specifically for this host, but maybe a global option that is being sent by default?
troymc |
Yes! I've got it! It was not the dhcp, but the pxe boot loader. In its configuration there was a line
which automagically sets a default route to the boot device and is deprecated anyway. I removed this line and since then the route is fine.
Thanks for your effort.
MvB |
|
Back to top |
|
|
troymc Guru
Joined: 22 Mar 2006 Posts: 553
|
Posted: Tue May 23, 2006 1:22 pm Post subject: Re: [solved] Default route always wrong |
|
|
mvb wrote: |
Yes! I've got it! It was not the dhcp, but the pxe boot loader. In its configuration there was a line
which automagically sets a default route to the boot device and is deprecated anyway. I removed this line and since then the route is fine.
Thanks for your effort.
MvB |
Excellent! Glad you got it squared away!
troymc |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|