Running Continuum/Subspace with wine? [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
rwentez
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 11:33 am    Post subject: Running Continuum/Subspace with wine? [solved] Reply with quote

Here's the thing. I've been playing this game for 10 years off and on. I know it works under vmware and I've previously played it that way. However it seems someone has figured out how to make Continuum work with a patched wine. As I remember my framerate in vmware was usually next to unplayable, and I'd really rather play it in wine. My problem is that I just can't make it work. When i try to run the game wine simply exits after a second or two. Nothing graphical ever comes on the sreen and it gives no error message at all upon exit. I've tried several versions by editing the ebuild to include the patch. I've also tried compiling and patching by hand following the instructions I've quoted below, but the end result is the same. Has anyone who's reading these forums made the game work in Gentoo? If so, were there any clitches you had to overcome to do it? I know I haven't provided you with much information, but I'm really not sure what's relevant. My Gentoo is a fresh install from 2006.0 minimal cd. 2.6.16-r7 kernel compiled from gentoo-sources. Xorg is version 6.8.2-r7, and I've got an Nvidia fx5600 with the newest drivers (version 1.0.8756).
Here's the link to the appropriate entry in the wine applications database. http://appdb.winehq.org/appview.php?versionId=3703 As you can see it has gold status in Gentoo, so it is working for someone. Neither of the two Gentoo submitters have made an email address available, so I'm unable to contact them directly.
Here are the instructions on how to make it work (from the app db page):
Quote: