View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Logge Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 09 Jul 2004 Posts: 131 Location: Sweden
|
Posted: Thu May 25, 2006 6:56 pm Post subject: net.wlan0 takes to long to start [Partially SOLVED] |
|
|
Forgive me if this post is somewhat wierd... Currently listening to the live transmission of the 250:th episode of A State Of Trance on DI.fm. Those of you that knows about that probably understand... =)
However...
The last months or so have I been noticing an issue of mine. You see, it takes 18 seconds, almost 19, to get my wlan0 up and running. Doesn't matter if it's run at boot or whenever... The output of my command:
Code: | logge@Nucleus ~ $ time sudo /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart
* Service net.wlan0 stopping
* Service net.wlan0 stopped
* Service net.wlan0 starting
Trying to force preferred in case they are hidden
* Service net.wlan0 started
real 0m18.602s
user 0m1.060s
sys 0m1.144s
|
How come that this issue is what it is? It hasen't' been like this before...
I'm running ndiswrapper in an entirely ~x86-system. Don't think that's the issue though...
//Logge _________________ I never stop to amaze about the advanced features of the human body's simplicity
Last edited by Logge on Sat May 27, 2006 8:19 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Logge Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 09 Jul 2004 Posts: 131 Location: Sweden
|
Posted: Thu May 25, 2006 7:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It is broadcasted...
# /etc/conf.d/wireless:
Code: | essid_wlan0="any"
mode_wlan0="auto"
key_MyNet="myveryspecifichexkey enc open"
preferred_aps=( "MyNet" "OtherNet" )
associate_order_wlan0="forceany" |
I am using forceany because it seems to work alot better that way... If not using, I aint connecting... Wierd...
EDIT: Broadcasting of essid or not, doesn't matter in this case...
//Logge _________________ I never stop to amaze about the advanced features of the human body's simplicity |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Logge Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 09 Jul 2004 Posts: 131 Location: Sweden
|
Posted: Thu May 25, 2006 8:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yepp!
Approx. four seconds... But what about the remaining 14?? =)
Looked through the net.lo that net.wlan0 is symlinked to, found quite a few nested for's. Maybe something is stalling in those?
Edit: Removing or setting the associate_order_wlan0 to "any" makes no difference btw.
//Logge _________________ I never stop to amaze about the advanced features of the human body's simplicity |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Logge Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 09 Jul 2004 Posts: 131 Location: Sweden
|
Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 11:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
When following your instructions, i got the following:
Code: | Nucleus logge # time /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start
* Starting wlan0
* Loading networking modules for wlan0
* modules: apipa arping ccwgroup macchanger macnet rename ifplugd iwconfig essidnet iptunnel ifconfig system vlan dhcpcd ip6to4
* ifplugd provides plug
* iwconfig provides wireless
* ifconfig provides interface
* dhcpcd provides dhcp
* Configuring wlan0 for MAC address blaha ... [ ok ]
* ifplugd does not work on wireless interfaces
* Configuring wireless network for wlan0
* Connecting to "any" in managed mode (WEP Disabled) ... [ !! ]
* Trying to force preferred in case they are hidden
* Connecting to "MyNet" in managed mode (WEP enabled - open) ... [ ok ]
* wlan0 connected to ESSID "MyNet" at some mac
* in managed mode on channel 6 (WEP enabled - open)
* Configuring wlan0 for ESSID "MyNet" ... [ ok ]
* Bringing up wlan0
* dhcp
* Running dhcpcd ... [ ok ]
* wlan0 received address 192.168.0.101/24
real 0m12.710s
user 0m0.568s
sys 0m0.500s
|
Code: | Nucleus logge # confcat /etc/conf.d/net
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
|
Code: | Nucleus logge # confcat /etc/conf.d/wireless
essid_wlan0="any"
mode_wlan0="auto"
key_MyNet="specialwepkey enc open"
preferred_aps=( "MyNet" "OtherNet" )
associate_order_wlan0="any"
|
Any ideas??
EDIT: Setting associate_timeout_wlan0 to "3" shortens the startup-time down to 6-7 seconds, setting it to anything lower than three just makes the script to fail to connect.
//Logge _________________ I never stop to amaze about the advanced features of the human body's simplicity |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Logge Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 09 Jul 2004 Posts: 131 Location: Sweden
|
Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 12:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm... That config itself shortened the time to 8 seconds.
Well... It's not as good as it has been but it's better then 19 seconds... =) which means my boot time has shortened with 10 seconds overall... =)
Is it acctually supposed to take that many seconds to associate with a AP these days?? It hasen't taken that long before...
Any way... Thanks for the help! =)
//Logge _________________ I never stop to amaze about the advanced features of the human body's simplicity |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 1:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Logge wrote: | Is it acctually supposed to take that many seconds to associate with a AP these days?? It hasen't taken that long before... |
Depends on a variety of factors - mainly signal quality. In my bedroom I can associate and get an IP in under 2 seconds, but sometimes it takes 30.
One speed improvement would be to put parallel startup on again and move xdm to the boot runlevel - that's a major speed boost _________________ Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Logge Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 09 Jul 2004 Posts: 131 Location: Sweden
|
Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 1:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | Depends on a variety of factors - mainly signal quality. In my bedroom I can associate and get an IP in under 2 seconds, but sometimes it takes 30. |
Mkay... Mine is allmost allways somewhere around 100% in signal quality, but I'm not that grumpy about 8 seconds... But still... =)
UberLord wrote: | One speed improvement would be to put parallel startup on again and move xdm to the boot runlevel - that's a major speed boost |
It is!?!? Got to try that one out... Thanks for the tip!! =)
//Logge _________________ I never stop to amaze about the advanced features of the human body's simplicity |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|