View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Vieri l33t
Joined: 18 Dec 2005 Posts: 907
|
Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 8:55 am Post subject: [SOLVED] BRIDGE and ROUTER - Bridge 3 interfaces and route 1 |
|
|
I'm new to bridging and would like to know how I can bridge more than two interfaces.
The network layout is as follows:
LAN 1 ----------------------------------|
Internet---ADSL modem/router---SWITCH---Gentoo Shorewall---ATM line---LAN 2
LAN 3 --------------------------------------------------| |
DMZ -------------------------------------------------------
I need LAN 1, LAN 3 and DMZ to be on the same subnet 10.215.144.0/255.255.255.252
The ADSL modem/router's local IP would be 10.215.144.92.
The Gentoo Shorewall gateway would have a bridged interface virtual IP= 10.215.144.91 and the fourth interface would have IP= 172.20.3.4 and would be in charge of ROUTING traffic to LAN 2 (several subnets of type 10.215.0.0) from the remote ATM line endpoint (172.20.3.2).
What would be a SAMPLE NETWORK CONFIGURATION for Gentoo (supposing eth0 connected to ADSL, eth1 connected to LAN 3, eth2 connected to ATM/LAN 2 and eth3 connected to DMZ)?
e.g.:
Compile KERNEL with BRIDGE support
# emerge net-misc/bridge-utils
EDIT /etc/conf.d/net:
bridge_br0="eth0 eth1 eth3"
config_br0=( "10.215.144.91 netmask 255.255.252.0" )
config_eth0=( "null" )
config_eth1=( "null" )
config_eth3=( "null" )
brctl_br0=( "stp on" )
config_eth2=( "172.20.3.4 netmask 255.255.255.0" )
routes_eth2=( "default via 172.20.3.2" )
# ln -sf /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.eth1
# ln -sf /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.eth2
# ln -sf /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.eth3
# rc-update add net.eth0 default
# rc-update add net.eth1 default
# rc-update add net.eth2 default
# rc-update add net.eth3 default
# ln -sf /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.br0
# rc-update add net.br0 default
# /etc/init.d/net.br0 start
What I'm not sure about is whether I can bridge_br0="eth0 eth1 eth3" or if I have to do that two by two.
I would appreciate any tips/suggestions.
Thanks in advance
Last edited by Vieri on Tue Jun 27, 2006 6:23 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nielchiano Veteran
Joined: 11 Nov 2003 Posts: 1287 Location: 50N 3E
|
Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 11:57 am Post subject: Re: BRIDGE and ROUTER - Bridge three interfaces and route on |
|
|
Vieri wrote: | What I'm not sure about is whether I can bridge_br0="eth0 eth1 eth3" or if I have to do that two by two. |
I'm not very experienced with the gentoo-init scripts, but (kernel-wise) you can definitely add more than 2 if's to a bridge. The terms "bridge" and "switch" are technicaly the same. only "switch" is mostly used for a local device with multiple ports, "bridge" for a device with 2 ports that spans some distance; but they're both layer-2 "repeaters" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Vieri l33t
Joined: 18 Dec 2005 Posts: 907
|
Posted: Tue Jun 27, 2006 6:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks nielchiano.
Bridging several interfaces was quite simple in Gentoo. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|