View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
petterg Guru
Joined: 25 Mar 2004 Posts: 500 Location: Oslo, Norway
|
Posted: Sat May 27, 2006 9:21 am Post subject: Older networkcards buggy with >gentoo-sources-2.6.8 ? |
|
|
Does anyone else run into trouble when using multiple older networkcards?
Here's my experiece:
For experimental puposes I had the need of a box with 3 networkcards, and I had a box running gentoo-sources-2.6.8, so I placed two 3com 905 and a Tulip card into that box. A quick ping-check showed that the cards were working. Then I did a full system upgrade (mulitiple emerge -e world) and got a system running gentoo-sources-2.6.12 (which was the latest stable at the time).
Once rebooted with the kernel-2.6.12 (networkdrivers compiled into the kernel) only one of the 3com cards got reply on ping. I could ping the the (static) IP of the other cards from localhost, no trafic would go to the networks they were connected to. (The LEDs on all the cards and switches they were connected to indicated link.)
I pulled out the working 3com card - then the other 3com card started working. The tulip was still dead.
I pulled out the other 3com card too (leaving only the tulip behind) - The tulip started to work.
I pluged in another tulip card - They were both working.
Plugged in the 3com that was working in the first place - All 3 cards were dead.
So I started to test combinations of all the cards I had in storage: 5 3c905a/b/c, 3 tulip, 2 intel e100, 2 intel e1000
First checking that all cards were working when installed alone - and they were
Turns out that
any combination two cards of tulip + 3com makes only one card working
any combination of three cards of tulip + 3com makes 0 or 1 card working
any combination of three tulips: all dead
any combination of three 3coms: one or two working
If a intel card is added to any of the configurations the 3com/tulips are unaffected while the intel cards always seem work.
I also had a tulip card with 4 interfaces. On this card all interfaces were working.
That was in October.
Now, in April I had the need for a box with two network cards. This time I was running gentoo-sources-2.6.15. Remembering from October I installed two tulips - only one were working. So I tried 3com + tulip - only one were working.
And here we go again:
This time the only combination of two cards I get to work is Intel + [what ever].
3com + 3com = 0 or 1 working cards
3com + tulip = 0 or 1 working cards
tulip + tulip = 0 working cards
Intel + anything = 2 working cards
Has anyone else had this kind of problems? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54810 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat May 27, 2006 9:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
petterg,
By older, do you mean all ISA cards, a mix of ISA and PCI, or early PCI cards ?
ISA cards have always been a struggle to get to work in a mixed ISA/PCI environment.
Post your lspci output, the manual settings for any ISA cards and the output of less /proc/interrupts
When you run do all your interfaces appear ? _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
petterg Guru
Joined: 25 Mar 2004 Posts: 500 Location: Oslo, Norway
|
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 12:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
They're all pci cards.
They all exist. There are IP adresses assigned to each of them. Each IP responds to ping from localhost. Everything works, except that they don't transmit any packages over the cable.
Basically they're just being shy - talking to thems selves. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54810 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 12:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
petterg,
Post the output of the route command when all three cards have and IP and the content of /etc/resolv.conf.
You may want to mask any public IPs that show there by hiding the first two octets.
Some idea ove your network topology would be useful too. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
petterg Guru
Joined: 25 Mar 2004 Posts: 500 Location: Oslo, Norway
|
Posted: Sun May 28, 2006 1:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Heres the output of ifconfig -a. I skipped the output for dummy, lo, gre and tun devices.
Code: |
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:01:02:8E:94:57
inet addr:192.168.1.254 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:15 Base address:0xe800
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:E8:6B:31:FC
inet addr:192.168.2.254 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:18 Base address:0xa000
eth2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:F8:10:E3:32
inet addr:192.168.3.254 Bcast:192.168.3.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:19 Base address:0xef80
|
For testing each interface is connected to a switch - one by one. Also connected to the same switch is a pc with one nic with 3 ip adresses (192.168.1.250, 192.168.2.250, 192.168.3.250). This pc respons to ping on all 3 IP's.
On the multi-nic pc the cable from the switch is plugged into one of the nic's. Then I wait for 10 seconds and run
Code: |
ping -c 4 192.168.1.250
ping -c 4 192.168.2.250
ping -c 4 192.168.3.250
|
(I run all 3 commands case I'm not always sure which card has the cable.)
Then I move the cable to the next nic, wait for 10 sec and repeat the commands.
When no reply I consider the card dead.
output of route (to make sure it detects cable I plugged a cable into all nics when running this)
Code: |
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.1.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
192.168.2.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
192.168.3.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth2
loopback localhost 255.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 lo
default 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
|
resolve.conf is blank.
Motherboards used with these tests: Abit BH6, Aopen AX64. Both with P3-600.
News of yesturday: the 3c905 cards does not work on Abit A8N-VM CSM (amd64) using gentoo live cd downloaded April 13th. The E1000 does work. I didn't have the time to try other cards. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|