Going Back to Gentoo..
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Typhuse
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 2:01 pm    Post subject: Going Back to Gentoo.. Reply with quote

Ok, so I used to use Gentoo.. Until a mishap. Anyways, I really really want to switch back. I know how to avoid my past mistake. I was wonder, though, what drive should I put it on? My backup or my main? They both contain valuable data, and I can't give Gentoo it's own drive, because even though this is my computer my dad needs Windows for CAD drawing and stuff.
Yes I'm a noob, to liniux.

Thanks,
Typhuse
ecosta
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd start by doing a backup of all data followed by a check of the data you backed up.

I'd probably install Gentoo on the drive that doesn't have Wintendo installed.

That said, if you are new to Linux, I'd start playing with gentoo by simply booting of the Gentoo liveCD or any other LiveCD like the fantastic Knoppix. No install needed, no risk of deleted data during installation, ...

When you are ready to install Gentoo, be very carefull as you can easily delete data.

That's my 2c.
-Ed
Linux user #201331
A8N-SLI Delux / AMD64 X2 3800+ / 1024 MB RAM / 5 x 250 GB SATA RAID 1/5 / ATI Radeon X700 256MB.
batistuta
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you wanna get familiar with linux, liveCDs are great. You can see what it is possible. However, if you wanna learn how linux works, liveCDs are tough... they hide a lot of things from you. For that you can't beat Gentoo.