View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
tessmonsta Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 Posts: 114
|
Posted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 4:18 pm Post subject: gtkwifi? |
|
|
Is gtkwifi available for gentoo? I can't seem to find it in portage, but I've heard that it's available in another package. The text-based configuration won't work well for me, since this laptop and I travel a lot. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
uweklosa Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 18 Feb 2005 Posts: 105
|
Posted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 4:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Have you tried net-wireless/wifi-radar. I don't use it my self but could be worth a try. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tessmonsta Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 Posts: 114
|
Posted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 4:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I tried wifi-radar, but it seems to insist on pinging eth2, and not eth1 where my wifi card is located. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
KillMinusNine n00b
Joined: 27 Dec 2005 Posts: 44 Location: Washington
|
Posted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 4:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Gnome_Wifi
There are instructions there for GTKWifi installation, but sadly no ebuilds for it and portage to get along nicely. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Monkeh Veteran
Joined: 06 Aug 2005 Posts: 1656 Location: England
|
Posted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 6:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Because I'm bored (and semi-interested in this), I'll see if I can knock up an ebuild. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tessmonsta Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 Posts: 114
|
Posted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 7:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Monkeh wrote: | Because I'm bored (and semi-interested in this), I'll see if I can knock up an ebuild. |
That'd be wonderful! Thank you! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tessmonsta Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 Posts: 114
|
Posted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 7:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ahhh, I misread that site before. I was thinking so much of finding the proper emerge string that I failed to notice the base installation instructions. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Monkeh Veteran
Joined: 06 Aug 2005 Posts: 1656 Location: England
|
Posted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 10:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Here's your ebuild: Code: | DESCRIPTION="GTKWifi is a GNOME panel applet that displays wireless
connection status, finds wireless networks, and allows
storage of WEP keys and automatic connection to
preferred networks."
HOMEPAGE="http://gtkwifi.sourceforge.net"
SRC_URI="mirror://sourceforge/${PN}/${P}.deb"
LICENSE="GPL-2"
SLOT="0"
KEYWORDS="~x86"
IUSE=""
DEPEND="net-wireless/wireless-tools
>=dev-python/gnome-python-2
>=dev-python/gnome-python-extras-2
dev-python/gnome-python-desktop"
RDEPEND=""
src_unpack() {
cd ${T}
ar x ${DISTDIR}/${A} data.tar.gz
}
src_install() {
cd ${D}
tar -xzf ${T}/data.tar.gz
rm .deb
}
pkg_postinst() {
einfo gtkwifi will not work until you add the following
einfo line to your sudoers file \(use visudo\)
einfo ALL ALL=\(root\) NOPASSWD: /usr/bin/gtkwifi-settings-client
} |
I haven't tested the program, so I can't tell you if it works or not, but it installs just fine.
Last edited by Monkeh on Tue Jun 06, 2006 2:22 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
KillMinusNine n00b
Joined: 27 Dec 2005 Posts: 44 Location: Washington
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 12:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
That's very cool. You should submit it to be added to the main portage, or at least add it to the Gnomewifi wiki.
BTW, in case someone else comes across this and doesn't know how to do portage overlay stuff, I'll describe how to use this:
add the line
Code: | PORTDIR_OVERLAY=/usr/local/portage |
to /etc/make.conf then
Code: | mkdir -p /usr/local/portage/net-wireless/gtkwifi/ |
Save the ebuild text into a file called "gtkwifi-1.09.ebuild" in the directory you just created. (or 1.08, 1.07, etc, for different versions)
Code: | cd /usr/local/portage/net-wireless/gtkwifi/
ebuild gtkwifi-1.09.ebuild digest
echo net-wireless/gtkwifi >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
emerge -av gtkwifi |
Last edited by KillMinusNine on Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:13 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
KillMinusNine n00b
Joined: 27 Dec 2005 Posts: 44 Location: Washington
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 3:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
tessmonsta wrote: | I tried wifi-radar, but it seems to insist on pinging eth2, and not eth1 where my wifi card is located. |
I guess it may be too late to tell you (I didn't know at the time), but wifi-radar uses /etc/wifi-radar.conf to determine what interface to look on. You needed to change it from eth2 to eth1 manually. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
iarwain Apprentice
Joined: 25 Sep 2003 Posts: 253
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
KillMinusNine wrote: | echo net-wireless/gtkwifi > /etc/portage/package.keywords
emerge -av gtkwifi |
Oh no! I know it's my fault for just copy/pasting, but I've just overwritten my package.keywords file! Please edit your post and substitute ">" with a ">>".
Anyway, thanks for the guide and Monkeh for the ebuild. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tessmonsta Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 Posts: 114
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 1:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Okay, I downloaded the *.deb file from sourceforge, and then used the alien command to create a *.tgz as per the Gentoo Wiki.
Code: | rei gtkwifi # ls
gtkwifi-1.08.deb gtkwifi-1.09.ebuild gtkwifi-1.09.tgz |
I assumed that I had to rename the tgz if I wanted to have the ebuild work. Then I created the *.ebuild as directed. And performed the emerge:
Code: | rei gtkwifi # emerge -av gtkwifi
These are the packages that I would merge, in order:
Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild N ] net-wireless/gtkwifi-1.09 0 kB [1]
Total size of downloads: 0 kB
Portage overlays:
[1] /usr/local/portage
Do you want me to merge these packages? [Yes/No] yes
>>> emerge (1 of 1) net-wireless/gtkwifi-1.09 to /
!!! No package manifest found: /usr/local/portage/net-wireless/gtkwifi/Manifest
rei gtkwifi # |
Did I do something wrong? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Xithix Apprentice
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 228
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 2:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Digest the ebuild. Code: | ebuild gtkwifi-1.09.ebuild digest | Then try emerging again. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tessmonsta Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 Posts: 114
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 2:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Xithix wrote: | Digest the ebuild. Code: | ebuild gtkwifi-1.09.ebuild digest | Then try emerging again. |
Wonderful! That worked. Now I have another problem. ^^;
Code: | rei gtkwifi # gtkwifi
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/gtkwifi", line 37, in ?
import gnome.applet
ImportError: No module named applet
rei gtkwifi # |
I know I'm not helping by trying to run this in KDE, sorry! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tessmonsta Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 Posts: 114
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 2:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
KillMinusNine wrote: | [I guess it may be too late to tell you (I didn't know at the time), but wifi-radar uses /etc/wifi-radar.conf to determine what interface to look on. You needed to change it from eth2 to eth1 manually. |
No, not too late. That actually fixed the appliction. I can get it to load now, but only when I'm running from a terminal as root. Part of it was that I didn't add my user account to sudoers. Even after I fixed that I still have a bit of a problem:
Code: | tess@rei ~ $ sudo wifi-radar
Password:
Sorry, try again.
Password:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/sbin/wifi-radar", line 1795, in ?
import gtk, gobject
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/gtk-2.0/gtk/__init__.py", line 45, in ?
from _gtk import *
RuntimeError: could not open display
tess@rei ~ $ |
Neither the root or my password works in the password query above. Worse, because it's querying for a password, the link in the KDE menu is completely broken.
But! When I do run the app from a terminal as root, it's mighty spiffy. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Monkeh Veteran
Joined: 06 Aug 2005 Posts: 1656 Location: England
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 2:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tessmonsta wrote: | Okay, I downloaded the *.deb file from sourceforge, and then used the alien command to create a *.tgz as per the Gentoo Wiki.
Code: | rei gtkwifi # ls
gtkwifi-1.08.deb gtkwifi-1.09.ebuild gtkwifi-1.09.tgz |
I assumed that I had to rename the tgz if I wanted to have the ebuild work. Then I created the *.ebuild as directed. And performed the emerge:
Code: | rei gtkwifi # emerge -av gtkwifi
These are the packages that I would merge, in order:
Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild N ] net-wireless/gtkwifi-1.09 0 kB [1]
Total size of downloads: 0 kB
Portage overlays:
[1] /usr/local/portage
Do you want me to merge these packages? [Yes/No] yes
>>> emerge (1 of 1) net-wireless/gtkwifi-1.09 to /
!!! No package manifest found: /usr/local/portage/net-wireless/gtkwifi/Manifest
rei gtkwifi # |
Did I do something wrong? |
You do not need to download the .deb or use alien. the ebuild does it all for you (without requiring alien or it's dependencies)
As posted above, you must digest the ebuild to use it.
And you can't use gtkwifi in KDE, at least, not without most of GNOME installed. Should probably be renamed to gnomewifi really.. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tessmonsta Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 Posts: 114
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 2:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Monkeh wrote: | [
And you can't use gtkwifi in KDE, at least, not without most of GNOME installed. Should probably be renamed to gnomewifi really.. |
I actually have a lot of gnome apps in my system already. So most of it is already installed. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Monkeh Veteran
Joined: 06 Aug 2005 Posts: 1656 Location: England
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 2:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tessmonsta wrote: | Monkeh wrote: | [
And you can't use gtkwifi in KDE, at least, not without most of GNOME installed. Should probably be renamed to gnomewifi really.. |
I actually have a lot of gnome apps in my system already. So most of it is already installed. |
Well you're missing something. I'm assuming gnome.applet comes with gnome-panel, but I'll go find it and check.
Edit: Do you have gnome-python-desktop installed? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tessmonsta Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 Posts: 114
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 2:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Monkeh wrote: | Edit: Do you have gnome-python-desktop installed? |
Me thinks not:
Code: | rei gtkwifi # emerge -p gnome-python-desktop
These are the packages that I would merge, in order:
Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild N ] app-text/gnome-doc-utils-0.6.0
[ebuild N ] gnome-base/gnome-desktop-2.14.1.1
[ebuild N ] gnome-base/gail-1.8.11
[ebuild N ] dev-util/desktop-file-utils-0.10-r1
[ebuild N ] gnome-base/gnome-menus-2.14.0
[ebuild N ] gnome-base/eel-2.14.1
[ebuild N ] media-video/mpeg2vidcodec-12-r1
[ebuild N ] media-gfx/imagemagick-6.2.6.0
[ebuild N ] media-libs/libwmf-0.2.8.3-r1
[ebuild N ] gnome-extra/libgsf-1.14.0
[ebuild N ] dev-libs/libcroco-0.6.1
[ebuild N ] gnome-base/librsvg-2.14.3
[ebuild N ] gnome-base/nautilus-2.14.1
[ebuild N ] dev-python/pyxml-0.8.4
[ebuild N ] app-text/iso-codes-0.49-r1
[ebuild N ] media-video/totem-1.4.0
[ebuild N ] app-cdr/cdrtools-2.01.01_alpha07
[ebuild N ] gnome-extra/nautilus-cd-burner-2.14.1
[ebuild N ] x11-wm/metacity-2.14.3
[ebuild N ] x11-libs/libwnck-2.14.1
[ebuild N ] gnome-base/gnome-panel-2.14.1
[ebuild N ] gnome-base/libgtop-2.14.1
[ebuild N ] x11-libs/gtksourceview-1.6.1
[ebuild N ] media-libs/gstreamer-0.10.6
[ebuild N ] dev-libs/liboil-0.3.8
[ebuild N ] media-libs/gst-plugins-base-0.10.7
[ebuild N ] media-plugins/gst-plugins-alsa-0.10.7
[ebuild N ] media-plugins/gst-plugins-oss-0.10.3
[ebuild N ] media-plugins/gst-plugins-xvideo-0.10.7
[ebuild N ] media-plugins/gst-plugins-x-0.10.7
[ebuild N ] media-plugins/gst-plugins-esd-0.10.3
[ebuild N ] media-plugins/gst-plugins-gconf-0.10.3
[ebuild N ] media-plugins/gst-plugins-mad-0.10.3
[ebuild N ] media-libs/gst-plugins-good-0.10.3
[ebuild N ] media-plugins/gst-plugins-ogg-0.10.7
[ebuild N ] media-plugins/gst-plugins-vorbis-0.10.7
[ebuild N ] gnome-extra/gnome-media-2.14.0-r1
[ebuild N ] dev-python/gnome-python-desktop-2.14.0
rei gtkwifi # |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Monkeh Veteran
Joined: 06 Aug 2005 Posts: 1656 Location: England
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 2:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Far as I can tell, you need it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mihochan Apprentice
Joined: 16 Apr 2002 Posts: 296 Location: Melbourne again
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 4:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tessmonsta wrote: | I tried wifi-radar, but it seems to insist on pinging eth2, and not eth1 where my wifi card is located. |
Just alter the config file in /etc! _________________ In the long run we are all dead - Keynes |
|
Back to top |
|
|
KillMinusNine n00b
Joined: 27 Dec 2005 Posts: 44 Location: Washington
|
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 1:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
iarwain wrote: | Oh no! I know it's my fault for just copy/pasting, but
I've just overwritten my package.keywords file! Please edit your post
and substitute ">" with a ">>".
Anyway, thanks for the guide and Monkeh for the ebuild. |
Sorry about that, it's fixed now.
Monkeh wrote: |
Well you're missing something. I'm assuming gnome.applet comes with
gnome-panel, but I'll go find it and check.
Edit: Do you have gnome-python-desktop installed? |
gtkwifi didn't run on my system until I installed gnome-python-desktop.
Could you edit your original ebuild to add that to the dependencies
list?
Also - I don't know why - but gtkwifi does bad things to my wireless connection and forces me to restart to get wireless back. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Monkeh Veteran
Joined: 06 Aug 2005 Posts: 1656 Location: England
|
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 2:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
KillMinusNine wrote: | Monkeh wrote: |
Well you're missing something. I'm assuming gnome.applet comes with
gnome-panel, but I'll go find it and check.
Edit: Do you have gnome-python-desktop installed? |
gtkwifi didn't run on my system until I installed gnome-python-desktop.
Could you edit your original ebuild to add that to the dependencies
list? |
Added, thanks for the confirmation on that. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Sachankara l33t
Joined: 11 Jun 2004 Posts: 696 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It was quite a while ago someone even said anything is this thread, so I guess most people don't use it. Well, anyway, I tried it with my Broadcom 4318 and it doesn't work. All I get when listing the available cards is this:
Device: sh:
Name: sh: Card ID: config: command n
Very useful error message. Just thought it could be of some use to someone else. _________________ Gentoo Hardened Linux 2.6.21 + svorak (Swedish dvorak) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|