View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
snakeo2 Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 01 Jan 2006 Posts: 1237
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 5:24 pm Post subject: How to get wireless internet working?? |
|
|
Here is my situation, I have a box working running gentoo, my girlfriend has a laptop running XP. I have highspeed internet via cable (comcast). the modem comcast provide hooks up to a d-link 524 wireless router. I have PCI wireless adapter that I will installing tonight to my gentoo box. my mobo has an onboard ethernet port as well. my question is there a tutorial that walks you through the set up ? i want to be able to pick up the wireless signal from my d-link 524 on my gentoo box and also have my girlfriend's laptop pick up the same signal. her laptop is working already, my gentoo box is the only one with no internet. Would there be a problem being that there are two NIC? the onboard and the pci adapter? while im here, i have another question, my drive is a sata drive 160GB, of which i only formatted 55GB during gentoo installation. i have three partition
1 /boot
2 /swap
3 /root
I want to create and extended partiton for the rest of unused drive and then create logical partitions to create a separate /home parititon? this is what i have in mind
fdisk /dev/sda
new
extended
formated ext3
create my /home partiton
add it to my /etc/fstab so that it mounts every time
and then add other user accounts and give them space as well. is this the right approach?? thanks in advance _________________ Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition
MSI ATI R4650 PCIe2
250GB SATA Drive
4GB Corsair DDR2 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hoosierpeschke n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 03 Jun 2006 Posts: 29 Location: Chicagoland
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 6:45 pm Post subject: wireless and hard drive |
|
|
I finally got my wireless working on my HP zv5000 laptop last night. gentoo-wiki wireless howto is the best place to start.
Once you have all of the necessary tools emerge'd (whether you have a compatible pci card or have to use ndiswrapper), configure /etc/conf.d/wireless (you may have to create it).
Here's a copy of mine:
Code: |
# Put your own ESSID in here
essid_wlan0="ESSID_NAME"
mode_wlan0="auto"
# Put your channel here, not sure if it's necessary, but it works for me
channel_wlan0="2"
# These allow the hardware to fire up before launching bits everywhere
sleep_scan_wlan0="1"
sleep_associate_wlan0="5"
scan_mode_wlan0="Ad-Hoc"
#Replace "ESSID_NAME" with whatever your ESSID is
#Put your key in Hex format in where the x's are
key_ESSID_NAME="xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xx"
# Setup for dhcp
config_ESSID_NAME=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd_ESSID_NAME="-t 30"
|
You'll also have to change wlan0 to whatever your card may be.
Once you have all of that saved, use ifconfig wlan0 up. You can then use iwconfig to see if your connected.
--
For your hard drive question, after you've created your extended partition, you've got to create partitions in that extended partition. So now you've got:
/dev/sda1 = /boot
/dev/sda2 = swap
/dev/sda3 = /
/dev/sda4 = extended
/dev/sda5 = /home
As for mounting it on /home, I was once told to only mount on empty folders to prevent issues, not sure what issues but I've made it a practice anyway. I would log in at the console, tar -cvjpf home.tar.bz2 /home, mount /dev/sda5 /home, tar -xvjpf home.tar.bz2.[/url] |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
gerard27 Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
Joined: 04 Jan 2004 Posts: 2377 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 7:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi snakeo2,
You can disable the onboard ethernet card in the bios of your mobo.
Go into the bios after (re-)booting and hit del (probably).Search the bios menu's
for onboard ethernet and disable.
G |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
snakeo2 Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 01 Jan 2006 Posts: 1237
|
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 1:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hey guys thanks for the replies. i will try your config file hoosier see how it goes. weird thing happened last night. as i mentioned before, im using comcast for my internet and last night when i got home i ran a network cable from my gentoo box to my wireless router and rebooted. on other occassions i have installed fresh copies of gentoo & fedora and normally after installation and reboot, im able to get on line no problem. so my first guess was comcast was having problems so i check my connections and everythign seemed fine. then i got a new sata drive, installed fresh copy of XP and no internet. and on top of that, XP is super sluggish which is weird. when i drag a window CPU usage goes to 100% and it's painfully slow. look at my specs below, so i know is not my hardware. i guessing it could be the my SATA drive that maybe it's does not have the right drivers or something. . going back to internet problem, i loaded my D-Link router cd and it couldnt find a connection. I will call comcast tonight when i get home from work. here is my question, i want to set up a network with my gentoo box and my girlfriend laptop. in the past i have done by hardwiring a computer to the wireless router and then connecting to the internet by connecting to the hardwired computer. i have never done a cross platform network and i dont want to mess with samba right now. all i want is to be able to connect to the internet with my wireless pci card. will try your script and see if it works for me. thanks in advance. _________________ Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition
MSI ATI R4650 PCIe2
250GB SATA Drive
4GB Corsair DDR2 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hoosierpeschke n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 03 Jun 2006 Posts: 29 Location: Chicagoland
|
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 7:26 pm Post subject: One more thing... |
|
|
I forgot, ifconfig wlan0 up won't work (boggled my mind last night how I got everything to work). You need to do:
Code: |
ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.wlan0
|
Then use /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start to bring up the interface... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
snakeo2 Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 01 Jan 2006 Posts: 1237
|
Posted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 10:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
emerge wpa_supplicant
--- Invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.keywords: emerge:
--- Invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.keywords: Calculating
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) net-wireless/wpa_supplicant-0.4.8 to /
!!! Invalid token (not "=") is
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 3228, in ?
mydepgraph.merge(pkglist)
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 1904, in merge
retval=portage.doebuild(y,"clean",myroot,self.pkgsettings,edebug,cleanup=1,tree="porttree")
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 2464, in doebuild
mykv,err1=ExtractKernelVersion(root+"usr/src/linux")
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 806, in ExtractKernelVersion
kernelconfig = getconfig(base_dir+"/.config")
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage_util.py", line 273, in getconfig
raise e.__class__, str(e)+" in "+mycfg
Exception: ParseError: Invalid token (not '='): /usr/src/linux/.config: l
any ideas what the problem is ?? thanks _________________ Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition
MSI ATI R4650 PCIe2
250GB SATA Drive
4GB Corsair DDR2 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hoosierpeschke n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 03 Jun 2006 Posts: 29 Location: Chicagoland
|
Posted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 11:28 pm Post subject: Use ~ keyword |
|
|
I have the masked version on my laptop. Type this as root:
Code: |
echo "net-wireless/wpa_supplicant ~amd64" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
|
If you're on x86, change amd64 for x86. I've been using the latest and greatest and haven't had a problem... yet... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
snakeo2 Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 01 Jan 2006 Posts: 1237
|
Posted: Thu Jun 08, 2006 2:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
here is my /etc/portage/package.keywords
~net-p2p/gift-ares-0.2.2
~net-p2p/gift-gnutella-0.0.10.1
Calculating dependencies
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "echo".
net-wireless/wpa_supplicant ~amd64
localhost freeze # echo "net-wireless/wpa_supplicant ~amd64" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
localhost freeze # emerge wpa_supplicant --- Invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.keywords: emerge:
--- Invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.keywords: Calculating
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) net-wireless/wpa_supplicant-0.5.3 to /
!!! Invalid token (not "=") is
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 3228, in ?
mydepgraph.merge(pkglist)
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 1904, in merge
retval=portage.doebuild(y,"clean",myroot,self.pkgsettings,edebug,cleanup=1,tree="porttree")
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 2464, in doebuild
mykv,err1=ExtractKernelVersion(root+"usr/src/linux")
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 806, in ExtractKernelVersion
kernelconfig = getconfig(base_dir+"/.config")
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage_util.py", line 273, in getconfig
raise e.__class__, str(e)+" in "+mycfg
Exception: ParseError: Invalid token (not '='): /usr/src/linux/.config: line 161 in /usr/src/linux/.config
any more ideas?? thanks _________________ Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition
MSI ATI R4650 PCIe2
250GB SATA Drive
4GB Corsair DDR2 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hoosierpeschke n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 03 Jun 2006 Posts: 29 Location: Chicagoland
|
Posted: Thu Jun 08, 2006 1:16 pm Post subject: invalid token |
|
|
The invalid token means that something is wrong with your syntax in your package.keywords file. Looking at what you posted, it differs from the way I enter packages into that file. Have you had problems emerging the other two packages in that file?
Here's what I would do:
Open your /etc/portage/package.keywords file and delete the line I had suggested you enter.
Then try to emerge this way:
Code: |
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" emerge -av wpa-supplicant
|
The only problem doing it this way is when you update your system, it will try and downgrade your wpa-supplicant.
Try it and let me know if it works. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
snakeo2 Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 01 Jan 2006 Posts: 1237
|
Posted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 1:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
hoosier,
thanks for the tip here is what i did. opened my /etc/portage/pakckages.keywords and deleted the lines i had there
then i emerge as you suggested here is the output. let me know if you know what it all means
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" emerge -av wpa-supplicant
--- Invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.keywords: emerge:
--- Invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.keywords: Calculating
These are the packages that I would merge, in order:
Calculating dependencies
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "wpa-supplicant".
localhost freeze # ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" emerge -av wpa_supplicant
--- Invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.keywords: emerge:
--- Invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.keywords: Calculating
These are the packages that I would merge, in order:
Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild N ] net-wireless/wpa_supplicant-0.5.3 +dbus -gsm -madwifi +qt +readline +ssl 530 kB
Total size of downloads: 530 kB
Do you want me to merge these packages? [Yes/No] y
>>> emerge (1 of 1) net-wireless/wpa_supplicant-0.5.3 to /
!!! Invalid token (not "=") is
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 3228, in ?
mydepgraph.merge(pkglist)
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 1904, in merge
retval=portage.doebuild(y,"clean",myroot,self.pkgsettings,edebug,cleanup=1,tree="porttree")
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 2464, in doebuild
mykv,err1=ExtractKernelVersion(root+"usr/src/linux")
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 806, in ExtractKernelVersion
kernelconfig = getconfig(base_dir+"/.config")
File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage_util.py", line 273, in getconfig
raise e.__class__, str(e)+" in "+mycfg
Exception: ParseError: Invalid token (not '='): /usr/src/linux/.config: line 161 in /usr/src/linux/.config
localhost freeze # _________________ Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition
MSI ATI R4650 PCIe2
250GB SATA Drive
4GB Corsair DDR2 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hoosierpeschke n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 03 Jun 2006 Posts: 29 Location: Chicagoland
|
Posted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry about giving you the bit of wrong information about wpa-supplicant vs wpa_supplicant.
Now it looks like a problem with your kernel's .config file in /usr/src/linux. Here's a couple of questions:
1. Are you using the genkernel or gentoo-sources?
2. If you issue the command ls -l /usr/src/linux, does it link to your latest kernel version?
If you have a genkernel you might want to just try re-emerging it (I'm not sure if that would work because I use gentoo-sources).
If you have the gentoo-sources kernel, what you'll probably have to do is delete the .config file in /usr/src/linux and reconfigure and recompile your kernel. Although, you might want to `cd /usr/linux/src` and type `make oldconfig` first. This evaluates kernel options compared to your .config file. It may fix that problem without having to configure everything from scratch. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
snakeo2 Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
Joined: 01 Jan 2006 Posts: 1237
|
Posted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 5:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
im pretty sure i emerged gentoo-sources during installation. i did however compiled via genkernel because when i compiled manually it wouldnt boot and genkernel seemed to solve the problem. I actually been wanting to migrate to manually compiled kernel but i dont know how to go about it. i guess i can cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig , cp /boot/image etc and see if it works. im afraid that i may screw things up. im planning on dowloading and installing fedora 5 64bit, and set up a dual boot, cause right now my soundcard does not work. mind you i have an onboard and a pci soundcard. i compiled the kernel to support alsa, it didnt work. then i emerge alsa-driver, tool, utils, etc, still didnt work. but back to the problem at hand, i'll do some reading over the weekend how to migrate to a manually compiled kernel. my fear is that since i compiled with genkernel and grub is already set up with it, it may not boot. _________________ Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition
MSI ATI R4650 PCIe2
250GB SATA Drive
4GB Corsair DDR2 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hoosierpeschke n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 03 Jun 2006 Posts: 29 Location: Chicagoland
|
Posted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:47 pm Post subject: grub |
|
|
Do you know how to manually configure grub? If you do, you can leave your genkernel (for backup) and try out manually configuring a different kernel. The biggest thing in compiling your own kernel is knowing your hardward. The command `lspci` gives a lot of information and having your motherboard manual is even better. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|