Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
adsl little problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Quad Machine
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 15
Location: Beyond bloodred horizons

PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2006 6:10 pm    Post subject: adsl little problem Reply with quote

i have DSL modem which connects to my ethernet card
i configured pppoe-setup, and when i use pppoe-start it says .... TIMED OUT

i configured /etc/conf.d/net like this:
config_eth0=( "192.168.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.0.255" )
routes_eth0=( "default gw 192.168.0.1 )
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
dhcp_eth0="nonis"

and when i try:
mladen2500 init.d # /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
/etc/conf.d/net: line 4: unexpected EOF while looking for matching `"'
/etc/conf.d/net: line 6: syntax error: unexpected end of file
* Starting eth0
* Bringing up eth0
* 192.168.0.2
* eth0 does not exist [ !! ]
mladen2500 init.d #

do i need to change device name or what? btw while configuring kernel i selected support for pppoe and 10/100mbit ethernet
plz hlp, THX
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Philantrop
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 1130
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2006 6:22 pm    Post subject: Re: adsl little problem Reply with quote

Quad Machine wrote:

routes_eth0=( "default gw 192.168.0.1" )


See?

And it even tells you where to look for what... :-)

Quad Machine wrote:

mladen2500 init.d # /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
/etc/conf.d/net: line 4: unexpected EOF while looking for matching `"'
/etc/conf.d/net: line 6: syntax error: unexpected end of file
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Quad Machine
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 15
Location: Beyond bloodred horizons

PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2006 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i fixed the " and now i get this:

mladen2500 ~ # /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
* Caching service dependencies ... [ ok ]
* Starting eth0
* Bringing up eth0
* dhcp
* eth0 does not exist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Philantrop
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 1130
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2006 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please post the output of
Code:
ifconfig eth0
Code:
ifconfig
and
Code:
lspci
(if you don't have lspci, please emerge sys-apps/pciutils.)

In your kernel you did activate support for your specific NIC, right? Provided you did: If you configured it as a module - did you load the module?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Quad Machine
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 15
Location: Beyond bloodred horizons

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In your kernel you did activate support for your specific NIC, right? Provided you did: If you configured it as a module - did you load the module?

what's a NIC?

i tried ifconfig eth0 - says error fetching dev information:Device not found

ifconfig says:
Link encap: Local loopback
inet addr: 127.0.0.1 Mask: 255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTO:16436 Metric:1
RX packets: 40errors :0 dropped :0 overruns :0 carriers :0 collisions :0 txqueuelen
RX bytes 3280 (3,2kB)
TX bytes 3280 (3,2kB)

lspci says
...
00:04.0 Ethernet controller nVidia Corporation nForce Ethernet controller (rev a1)
...
(I didnt rewrite the whole text, i believe this is the part ur looking for :))

any idea whats the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Philantrop
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 1130
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NIC = Network Interface Card.

Which driver did you configure for your nForce Ethernet controller? (There's a reverse-engineered nForce driver in recent kernels.) Did you compile into the kernel itself or as a module? If as a module: Is it loaded (lsmod)?

And, yes, that lspci line was the one I needed. :-) Thanks.

So far it seems obvious for me that either

a) you forgot to compile the driver,
b) you chose the wrong driver,
c) didn't load the compiled kernel module,
d) the driver simply fails for your NIC which could be the case from what I've seen on the net about the nForce NIC.

I think we'll get to the bottom of this issue once you answered my above question. What I cannot promise is that we'll get this NIC going. Linux support for it seems to be far from optimal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Quad Machine
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 15
Location: Beyond bloodred horizons

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm using 2.6.16-r7 kernel, during manual configuration of the kernel i looked for nvidia ethernet card but i haven't seen any named nvidia, but some card was selected by default (my pc is emerging kde at the time so i can't tell you exactly which, i think it starts with an R though)!
so i compiled with those drivers, and they're probably no good, but where are the nvidia drivers? if i had saw them i would have selected them...

hope u know what i'm talking about, greetz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Monkeh
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 1656
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The default selection was probably a Realtek one, they're incredibly common. What you want is under 10/100 (not gigabit, which is what your card is technically capable of), it's called forcedeth. Compile that in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Quad Machine
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 15
Location: Beyond bloodred horizons

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What you want is under 10/100 (not gigabit, which is what your card is technically capable of), it's called forcedeth. Compile that in.

i'll try, what does it do, doesn't sound nice LOL forcedeth...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Quad Machine
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 15
Location: Beyond bloodred horizons

PostPosted: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SOLVED, apparently I was blind and didn't see the nvidia drivers, emerged them and now all is working fine,
anyway thx for your help
HAIL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum