Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Baselayout and RC_AUTO_INTERFACE
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
beatryder
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 1138

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
beatryder wrote:
Is there *any* documentation for how to set this up?

/etc/conf.d/net.example

That file is not all that accurate. When I attempted to use the config_ESSID() the init script failed. Which is why I am confused. Can you do this with wpa_supplicant?? Ie: can I have a static IP set for an AP with wpa_supplicant?
UberLord wrote:

Quote:
Should I have ifplugd in my runlevel?

No
Quote:

What should I have in my /etc/conf.d/net ?
- If I want wpa_supplicant on eth1 and ifplugd on eth0?


Code:
modules_eth1=( "wpa_supplicant" )



how about this:
/etc/conf.d/net:

wpa_supplicant_eth1="-Dwext"
modules_eth1=( "wpa_supplicant" )
fallback_eth0=( "10.0.0.151 netmask 255.0.0.0 broadcast 10.255.255.255" )
#this is for my PCMCIA NIC I only use it when I have to share a hard wire ethernet connection (dont ask  :twisted: )
config_eth2=( "192.168.100.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255" )


Do you see any problems?


UberLord wrote:

Quote:

For some reason my DNS resolution does not work with resolvconf-gentoo installed. I followed the instruction to run
Code:

emerge --config =resolvconf-gentoo-1.0


does /etc/resolv.conf have anything in it saying resolvconf?
does resolvconf -l show anything?
Have you installed a dhcp client that uses resolvconf if using dhcp?


I removed ifplugd reinstalled resolvconf-gentoo and reconfiged it. and now it seems to be ok.
_________________
Dont make it idiot proof, make it work.
Neucode.org
<suppressed key>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

beatryder wrote:
UberLord wrote:
beatryder wrote:
Is there *any* documentation for how to set this up?

/etc/conf.d/net.example

That file is not all that accurate. When I attempted to use the config_ESSID() the init script failed. Which is why I am confused. Can you do this with wpa_supplicant?? Ie: can I have a static IP set for an AP with wpa_supplicant?


That documentation is highly accurate in my eyes.
If you cannot understand it then please provide improved documentation :)

And yes, you can have a static IP set for an AP with wpa_supplicant - you have had this ability since baselayout-1.11

Tell you what, why don't you post how you think it should be setup and I'll tell you where you're wrong and where about the documentation told you to do it correctly ;)
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beatryder
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 1138

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
beatryder wrote:
UberLord wrote:
beatryder wrote:
Is there *any* documentation for how to set this up?

/etc/conf.d/net.example

That file is not all that accurate. When I attempted to use the config_ESSID() the init script failed. Which is why I am confused. Can you do this with wpa_supplicant?? Ie: can I have a static IP set for an AP with wpa_supplicant?


That documentation is highly accurate in my eyes.
If you cannot understand it then please provide improved documentation :)

And yes, you can have a static IP set for an AP with wpa_supplicant - you have had this ability since baselayout-1.11

Tell you what, why don't you post how you think it should be setup and I'll tell you where you're wrong and where about the documentation told you to do it correctly ;)


There is no need to be condescending. I am asking for help.

Perhaps using the phrase "not all that accurate" was a bad choice, should have said "not all that clear." Asking me to provide improved documentation is also a moot request as I obviously have no idea what I am doing, if I understood the existing docs I would not need improved documentation!

You know it is easy for you the developer and the guy who is extremely intimate with baselayout say "its in the docs." The fact is that the docs are not all that clear.

/etc/conf.d/net.example:

# GENERIC WIRELESS OPTIONS
# PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS IN /etc/conf.d/wireless.example FOR
# HOW TO USE THIS ESSID VARIABLE
# You can also override any settings found here per ESSID - which is very
# handy if you use different networks a lot
#config_ESSID=( "dhcp" )
#dhcpcd_ESSID="-t 5"

Ok, so I look in the /etc/conf.d/wireless.example
/etc/conf.d/wireless.example:

...
# Any ESSID's in values like essid_eth0="My NET" may need to be escaped
# This means placing the character \ before the character
# \" need to be escaped for example
# So if your ESSID is
#      My "\ NET
# it becomes
#      My \"\\ NET
# for example
#      #essid_eth0="My\"\\NET"
#
# So using the above we can use
#      #dns_domain_My____NET="My\"\\NET"
# which is an invalid dns domain, but shows the how to use the variable
# structure
#
# As a final note, most users will just need to set the following options
# key_ESSID1="s:yourkeyhere enc open" # s: means a text key
# key_ESSID2="aaaa-bbbb-cccc-dd"      # no s: means a hex key
# preferred_aps=( "ESSID1" "ESSID2" )
#
# Clear? Good. Now configure your wireless network below


Clear?? Sure is! Clear as mud! :p Am I to assume that if I have an ESSID named "linksys" I could use config_linksys=( "10.0.0.151 netmask 255.0.0.0 broadcast 10.255.255.255" )??



It is unclear to me what to do. Keep in mind that you develop baselayout, and not everyone is going to make sense out of your documentation. Also the gentoo handbook docs regarding network are slightly outdated and if I am not mistaken the way the net init script works has been changed significantly. Are the docs going to be updated when baselayout-1.12.1 goes stable?

Also, one more thing you may want to add to future .example files is which version of the package they came with....
_________________
Dont make it idiot proof, make it work.
Neucode.org
<suppressed key>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beatryder
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 1138

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OMFG, I feel a bit of a fool. I was just about to try and get an error msg for you so you could see what it was. And turns out, I missed an "=", I was using

config_linksys()

instead of:

config_linksys=()

guh... wow... any how... I still think the docs are a tad vauge, some more clarification would be nice.

Something like:

/etc/conf.d/net.example:

# GENERIC WIRELESS OPTIONS
# PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS IN /etc/conf.d/wireless.example FOR
# HOW TO USE THIS ESSID VARIABLE
# You can also override any settings found here per ESSID - which is very
# handy if you use different networks a lot
#config_ESSID=( "dhcp" )
#dhcpcd_ESSID="-t 5"
# EXAMPLE:
# if you have an ESSID named "default"
# config_default=( "dhcp" )
# or ESSID named "linksys" and you want a static IP
# config_linksys=( "10.0.0.151 netmask 255.0.0.0 broadcast 10.255.255.255" )


just my 2cents.

On a more positive note, the parallel startup is WAY better, shaved 20secs of my boot time, and thats on top of the 5 -15 secs the backgrounding of network setup saved me!
_________________
Dont make it idiot proof, make it work.
Neucode.org
<suppressed key>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum