View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
niedzwiedz Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 05 Jun 2006 Posts: 93 Location: BP
|
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 9:55 pm Post subject: [SOLVED]internet doesn't work with new kernel:( |
|
|
Hi
I compilled new kernel and when i installed it ,network stopped working. can anyone tell me how i can fix it.
Last edited by niedzwiedz on Tue Jun 13, 2006 7:08 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheRAt Veteran
Joined: 03 Jun 2002 Posts: 1580
|
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 10:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
make sure you have compiled the drivers for your networking hardware, either in the kernel, or as a module, and that you are loading these drivers on startup...
more help can be provided if you supply more information, ie. what networking hardware, loaded kernel modules, etc .. _________________ All reality is the construct of the observer.
Get Firefox and rediscover the web!
BOFH Excuse #295:
The Token fell out of the ring. Call us when you find it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AaronPPC Guru
Joined: 29 May 2005 Posts: 522 Location: Tucson, AZ
|
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 10:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
We would love to help, but we'll need some more information.
What version was your old kernel and what version is the new one?
Do you get any error messages during boot? You can also look at dmesg and see if there are any errors.
If you post your kernel config and tell us about your system, you will probably get the most help.
Many configs moved in the 2.6.16 and .17-rc kernels so it is easy for a config option to get knocked out of wack. _________________ --Aaron |
|
Back to top |
|
|
niedzwiedz Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 05 Jun 2006 Posts: 93 Location: BP
|
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 11:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I tried rc -update net.eth0 but it says that net.eth0 is already installed
during bootin i got something like that:
Code: | caching service dependencies
starting eth0
bringing up eth0
eth0 does not exist
problem starting needed service
"netmount" was not started |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheRAt Veteran
Joined: 03 Jun 2002 Posts: 1580
|
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 11:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
this is probably caused by the drivers for the hardware either not compiled in the kernel, or not loaded as a module during system startup..
if you provide information on your networking hardware, we could help you with trying to solve this.. _________________ All reality is the construct of the observer.
Get Firefox and rediscover the web!
BOFH Excuse #295:
The Token fell out of the ring. Call us when you find it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
niedzwiedz Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 05 Jun 2006 Posts: 93 Location: BP
|
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 11:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have cable modem connected to my ethernet card wich is:
Code: | NVidia Coprportaion NForce2 Ethernet Controller |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheRAt Veteran
Joined: 03 Jun 2002 Posts: 1580
|
Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 11:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
if you run ifconfig -a, is your ethernet interface listed ?
if not, then try modprobe forcedeth
report results for more ... _________________ All reality is the construct of the observer.
Get Firefox and rediscover the web!
BOFH Excuse #295:
The Token fell out of the ring. Call us when you find it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
niedzwiedz Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 05 Jun 2006 Posts: 93 Location: BP
|
Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
ifconfig -a:
Code: | lo Link encap:Local Loopback inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0 UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1 RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b) |
modeprobe forcedeth returns:
FATAL: forcedeth module not found (or something like that)
edited:
I don't know if it matters but during boot up i saw a message like this:
failed to run(or execute, can;t remember) /linuxrc |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheRAt Veteran
Joined: 03 Jun 2002 Posts: 1580
|
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
that suggests that you have not compiled the required module for your ethernet card..
try:
Code: | # cd /usr/src/linux
# make menuconfig |
select the appropriate module ...
Code: | Device Drivers --->
Network device support --->
Ethernet (10 or 100 Mbit) --->
[*] EISA, VLB, PCI and on board controllers
<*> Reverse Engineered nForce Ethernet support (EXPERIMENTAL) |
then exit and save changes, and recompile your kernel.. and install...
restart, and the card should be detected..
post your results... _________________ All reality is the construct of the observer.
Get Firefox and rediscover the web!
BOFH Excuse #295:
The Token fell out of the ring. Call us when you find it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
niedzwiedz Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 05 Jun 2006 Posts: 93 Location: BP
|
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
THANK YOU>
i did what you suggested and it worked |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|