Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
SSH url handler
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fraggle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Posts: 187
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 7:36 pm    Post subject: SSH url handler Reply with quote

I want to be able to click on ssh:// links from my browser or anywhere else within the windows environment. I searched the heck out of the forums and google for an answer and couldn't find one.

I want to be able to click the link and have it launch ssh.

Thanks in advance for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aries
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 May 2004
Posts: 127
Location: Sliedrecht the Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In kde (konqueror) just do:
Code:
fish://ipaddress
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fraggle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Posts: 187
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aries wrote:
In kde (konqueror) just do:
Code:
fish://ipaddress


How about gnome? ;)

The problem is that the web page that is auto created gives me ssh:// links. I can't change them. So I need to associate ssh:// with ssh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sybille
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 111
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fraggle wrote:

How about gnome? ;)

The problem is that the web page that is auto created gives me ssh:// links. I can't change them. So I need to associate ssh:// with ssh.

Which browser? Firefox?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fraggle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Posts: 187
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sybille wrote:
Fraggle wrote:

How about gnome? ;)

The problem is that the web page that is auto created gives me ssh:// links. I can't change them. So I need to associate ssh:// with ssh.

Which browser? Firefox?


Yes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sybille
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 111
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can set Firefox to use external programs to handle different protocols, including ssh.

You'd need to add a couple of entries to about:config (or user.js):
  • Code:

    network.protocol-handler.external.ssh

    Make that a boolean entry, and set it to "true."
  • Code:

    network.protocol-handler.app.ssh

    Make that a string entry and set it to whatever application you want to use for ssh. I think you could use nautilus, for example.

If you want a terminal to open up to the ssh address given in the browser link, then I think you'd need to write a simple script, something along the lines of
Code:

#!/bin/sh
aterm -e ssh  "$@"

My script-fu is pretty minimal, so there are probably better ways to do that. But I'd start with something along those lines. The "$@" is a placeholder for whatever address the ssh:// link is going to send to the terminal.

So once you know what command you'd like to run when the ssh:// link is clicked, all you need to do is tell Firefox to use that command.

More information on registering protocols in Firefox:
http://gentoo-wiki.com/TIP_Firefox_Settings#Registering_additional_protocols
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Register_protocol#Linux
http://kb.mozillazine.org/User.js_file[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fraggle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Posts: 187
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome! Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fraggle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Posts: 187
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems to pop up my window but it dies immediatly. My guess is that $@ isn't the correct variable to send.....When I do it from the command line "aterm -e ssh localhost" it works great.

It also works if I put in "aterm -e ssh localhost"

So it has to be the $@
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sybille
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 111
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So you're an aterm user, too. :)
(I'm actually thinking of switching to rxvt-unicode, but that's another topic...)

Did you include the quotation marks with the variable, that is, "$@", not $@ ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fraggle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Posts: 187
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sybille wrote:
So you're an aterm user, too. :)
(I'm actually thinking of switching to rxvt-unicode, but that's another topic...)

Did you include the quotation marks with the variable, that is, "$@", not $@ ?



I have tried them both.

I have also tried it with both aterm and gnome-terminal with the exact same issues. (both work as long as I give them a hardcoded ip)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sybille
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 111
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know that variable works for other things, i.e. files and the ip address of ftp sites passed from firefox to gftp-text, but I'm just not enough of an ssh person to know what you need to use here.

Well, hopefully someone will come along and teach us both something. Or maybe there's something useful on Google.

You might try searching the forums at mozillazine, too.
http://forums.mozillazine.org/


Last edited by sybille on Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:45 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fraggle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Posts: 187
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sybille wrote:
I know that variable works for other things, i.e. files and the ip address of ftp sites passed from firefox to gftp-text, but I'm just not enough of an ssh person to know what you need to use here.

Well, hopefully someone will come along and teach us both something. Or maybe there's something useful on Google.


I've been raping google for information ;) No luck yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fraggle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Posts: 187
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

# ssh ssh2://localhost
ssh: ssh2://localhost: Name or service not known


How much do you want to make a bet that is the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
think4urs11
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 6659
Location: above the cloud

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fraggle wrote:
Seems to pop up my window but it dies immediatly. My guess is that $@ isn't the correct variable to send.....When I do it from the command line "aterm -e ssh localhost" it works great.
It also works if I put in "aterm -e ssh localhost"
So it has to be the $@


Not exactly as $@ gives the whole link like ssh://user@somewhere.org which obviously ssh doesn't know how to handle.
Use a little wrapper script to start ssh and everything works; all whats needed is to cut off the 'header' (ssh:// that is)

so for sake of completeness you need to do
- in Firefox (either via about:config OR via user.js)
a) create a new entry, type boolean named network.protocol-handler.external.ssh with value true
b) create a new entry, type string named network.protocol-handler.app.ssh with value (e.g.) /usr/local/bin/ssh-handler-wrapper

- on unix commandline
create a wrapper script which rebuilds the server address in a way openssh can handle (remove ssh://)
a) nano /usr/local/bin/ssh-handler-wrapper
/usr/local/bin/ssh-handler-wrapper:
#!/bin/sh
xterm -e ssh `echo $@ | sed 's/ssh:\/\///'`

b) chmod +x /usr/local/bin/ssh-handler-wrapper

plus of course having a web site with SSH-Links like
/www/my_ssh-links.html:
<html>
<head></head><body>
<a href="ssh://domain2.org">a Server with user 'same as the one started firefox</a>
<a href="ssh://user@domain.org">one Server with user 'user'</a>
<a href="ssh://domain2.org">a Server with user 'same as the one started firefox</a>
<a href="ssh://joe@1.2.3.4">a Server with unknown fqdn, username 'joe'</a></body></html>


HTH
_________________
Nothing is secure / Security is always a trade-off with usability / Do not assume anything / Trust no-one, nothing / Paranoia is your friend / Think for yourself
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fraggle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Posts: 187
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That worked exactly as I needed. I was surprisingly actually on the right track!

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sybille
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 111
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Think4UrS11 wrote:
... $@ gives the whole link like ssh://user@somewhere.org which obviously ssh doesn't know how to handle.

<snip>
/usr/local/bin/ssh-handler-wrapper:
#!/bin/sh
xterm -e ssh `echo $@ | sed 's/ssh:\/\///'`


Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
think4urs11
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 6659
Location: above the cloud

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fraggle wrote:
That worked exactly as I needed. Thanks!

sybille wrote:
Thanks.

glad to be helpful :)
_________________
Nothing is secure / Security is always a trade-off with usability / Do not assume anything / Trust no-one, nothing / Paranoia is your friend / Think for yourself
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum