View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
liquiddoom n00b
Joined: 15 Jun 2006 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 5:18 am Post subject: Networking problems, "Temporary failure in name resolut |
|
|
Hello there! I just installed Gentoo from a minimal installcd. When trying to emerge after, I get the "Temporary failure in name resolution." error. Here's dmesg: Code: | via-rhine.c:v1.10-LK1.2.0-2.6 June-10-2004 Written by Donald Becker
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKA] enabled at IRQ 10
PCI: setting IRQ 10 as level-triggered
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:12.0[A] -> Link [LNKA] -> GSI 10 (level, low) -> IRQ 10
eth0: VIA Rhine II at 0x1e000, 00:30:1b:2b:6f:54, IRQ 10.
eth0: MII PHY found at address 1, status 0x786d advertising 05e1 Link 40a1. |
The output from pinging (anything from an outside network, inside the lan works): Code: |
ping 66.249.87.104
connect: Network is unreachable |
The output of netstat -rn: Code: | Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags MSS Window irtt Iface
192.168.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
127.0.0.0 127.0.0.1 255.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 lo |
The output of ifconfig -a: Code: | eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:30:1B:2B:6F:54
inet addr:192.168.0.11 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:542 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:296 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:5 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:48680 (47.5 Kb) TX bytes:47216 (46.1 Kb)
Interrupt:10 Base address:0xe000
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b) |
And the contents of /etc/resolv.conf: Code: | Generated by dhcpcd for interface eth0
nameserver 205.152.144.23
nameserver 205.152.132.23 |
Any ideas? Also, the network is not behind and firewall or proxy. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gir_doom Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 24 Oct 2005 Posts: 82 Location: SAFB
|
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 5:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
You could try pinging the Wan port on your router to see if the port isn't dead. You could also try manually adding an external DNS server to resolv.conf to try and rule out DNS issue. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thepustule Apprentice
Joined: 22 Feb 2004 Posts: 212 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 4:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You don't have a default route. Your host doesn't know how to contact any machine that is not on it's immediate segment. That is why you can't do DNS, and why you can't ping anything remote.
You need to configure a gateway in your /etc/conf.d/net if static, or make sure your DHCP server is set up properly.
Don't even bother looking at your DNS config until you get the gateway in there - you'll be wasting your time.
If your network is 192.168.0.0/24, it MUST be behind some kind of firewall/proxy/router or you won't be able to communicate with any computer out there on the internet because they don't know how to get back to you. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
liquiddoom n00b
Joined: 15 Jun 2006 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 9:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The DCHP server appears to be configured correctly for that machine. The machine's routing tables don't match the others on the network. Also, this worked fine when the installcd was in.
From the router config:
Code: | Destination LAN IP Subnet Mask Gateway Interface
65.14.252.18 255.255.255.255 0.0.0.0 WAN (Internet)
192.168.0.0 255.255.255.0 0.0.0.0 LAN & Wireless
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 65.14.252.18 WAN (Internet) |
And on the machine:
Code: | Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags MSS Window irtt Iface
192.168.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
127.0.0.0 127.0.0.1 255.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 lo |
The others on the network:
Code: | Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags MSS Window irtt Iface
192.168.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
127.0.0.0 127.0.0.1 255.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 lo
0.0.0.0 192.168.0.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth1 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
thepustule Apprentice
Joined: 22 Feb 2004 Posts: 212 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yep - it's that last route (0.0.0.0) on the machine in question that is missing. This is causing your problem.
If you try etc-update, are there any configs that still need to be merged? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
liquiddoom n00b
Joined: 15 Jun 2006 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 3:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Nope, etc-update doesn't show any configs that need to be merged. I tried to copy the /etc/conf.d/net file from the other similarily-configured machine, but when I rebooted, ifconfig only showed "lo" and some of the network related modules failed to load. I reverted that, but am curious as to how to add that route to the IP routing table correctly. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thepustule Apprentice
Joined: 22 Feb 2004 Posts: 212 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 4:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | route add default gw 192.168.0.1 | should do it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
liquiddoom n00b
Joined: 15 Jun 2006 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
That got it on the internet successfully. Thank you! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|