Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
System.map not found - unable to check symbols
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lugduweb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 6:43 pm    Post subject: System.map not found - unable to check symbols Reply with quote

I have the following warning/error on boot :

Quote:
System.map not found - unable to check symbols


Does somebody know what it means and what's wrong ?

Thanks :-)
_________________
Pegasos II PPC G4 / ATI RADEON 8500 / Hauppauge PVR350 / Kernel 2.6.15r1
Efika PPC 603e / ATI RADEON 9250 / Kernel 2.6.19r2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Philantrop
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 1130
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is not critical but easy to fix: You'll find the System.map in /usr/src/linux/System.map. Copy it to your /boot directory and name it like your kernel's revision (uname -r):

Code:
cp /usr/src/linux/System.map /boot/System.map-`uname -r`


It should look like this (from my system, your kernel might be different):

ls -l /boot (I removed some meaningless output) wrote:

-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1975403 22. Mai 20:05 kernel-2.6.16-gentoo-r8
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 913762 22. Mai 20:05 System.map-2.6.16-gentoo-r8


The System.map contains the symbols the kernel spits out in case of a kernel panic/oops and you'll therefor hopefully never see it in action. :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lugduweb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi ! thanks for answering :-)

OK, so I've tried what you told me, but it still displays the same error message on boot.

So here the full content of my current boot dir :
Quote:

total 12692
4 drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Jun 17 08:42 .
4 drwxr-xr-x 20 root root 4096 Jun 6 19:15 ..
0 -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Feb 12 11:51 .keep
0 lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 27 Jun 17 08:42 System.map -> System.map-2.6.15-gentoo-r1
584 -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 591385 Jun 17 08:36 System.map-2.6.15-gentoo-r1
0 lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 1 Apr 29 18:19 boot -> .
0 lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 24 May 27 00:27 fbsplash -> fbsplash_livecd-1024x768
484 -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 491412 May 27 00:20 fbsplash_livecd-1024x768
0 lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 26 Jun 17 00:24 pegasos -> pegasos_2.6.15-gentoo-r1_4
1540 -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1630947 May 26 19:27 pegasos_2.6.15-gentoo-r1
1540 -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1630947 May 27 20:22 pegasos_2.6.15-gentoo-r1_2
1656 -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1749731 Jun 6 22:18 pegasos_2.6.15-gentoo-r1_3
1640 -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1733347 Jun 17 00:24 pegasos_2.6.15-gentoo-r1_4
1672 -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1768684 Jun 16 23:02 pegasos_2.6.16-gentoo-r7
1784 -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1882340 Jun 15 22:29 pegasos_2.6.16-gentoo-r9
1784 -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1882368 Jun 16 21:11 pegasos_2.6.16-gentoo-r9_2


I always boot on "pegasos" which is a link on my favorite kernel.
My current used kernel is 2.6.15-gentoo-r1.
_________________
Pegasos II PPC G4 / ATI RADEON 8500 / Hauppauge PVR350 / Kernel 2.6.15r1
Efika PPC 603e / ATI RADEON 9250 / Kernel 2.6.19r2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Philantrop
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 1130
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to see if it helps, I'd suggest copying "pegasos_2.6.15-gentoo-r1_4" to "pegasos-2.6.15-gentoo-r1" (note the absence of "_4") and not using links for this test. Then add an entry for it to your bootloader, boot via the new entry and see if that fixes it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lugduweb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I've named my kernel "kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r1" and booted directly on it (without any link).
Still the same error... There must be something else to do...
_________________
Pegasos II PPC G4 / ATI RADEON 8500 / Hauppauge PVR350 / Kernel 2.6.15r1
Efika PPC 603e / ATI RADEON 9250 / Kernel 2.6.19r2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmja89
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jun 2005
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you have /sbin/install kernel then you can just do
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
make install
and then change your boot config to point to vmlinuz. This has always worked for me...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lugduweb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On Pegasos PPC, you do not use vmlinuz but zImage.chrp.

Anyway, I tried what you told me and here is the result :
Quote:

make install
make: *** No rule to make target `install'. Stop.


I also tried in /usr/src/linux/arch/ppc/boot/images where I can find my kernel image named zImage.chrp... Same result...

In http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/2006.0/handbook-ppc.xml?part=1&chap=7 it's written :
cp arch/ppc/boot/images/zImage.chrp /boot/<kernel-version>

so maybe I should remove "kernel" and just name the file "2.6.15-gentoo-r1" ?
I'm going to check this later (I'm emerging things atm).
_________________
Pegasos II PPC G4 / ATI RADEON 8500 / Hauppauge PVR350 / Kernel 2.6.15r1
Efika PPC 603e / ATI RADEON 9250 / Kernel 2.6.19r2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Philantrop
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 1130
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lugduweb wrote:
so maybe I should remove "kernel" and just name the file "2.6.15-gentoo-r1" ?


No, that won't help. How do you boot? You don't seem to be using grub.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
converter
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Philantrop wrote:
This is not critical but easy to fix: You'll find the System.map in
/usr/src/linux/System.map. Copy it to your /boot directory and name it like your kernel's
revision (uname -r):


Of course, this will only work if /boot is a directory on the root partition or
is automatically mounted if it's on its own partition. I keep a separate /boot
partition and never mount it unless necessary. If I remember correctly, this
was the recommended configuration in the install guide at one point in time,
although the new handbook mentions the option only in passing.

For what it's worth, I'm experiencing the same issue, unfortunately, I haven't
rebooted in a while so I don't have the error message handy for reference. I
always keep a copy of System.map on /, in addition to the copy that lives on
/usr/src/linux, and until recently that's worked just fine. I suspect that
whatever is throwing the error message stopped looking for /System.map and
/usr/src/linux/System.map after some revision or another.
_________________
converter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lugduweb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My /boot is a directory on my / partition.
My Gentoo is on hdb7 and my swap on hdb2.
I'm booting using "bootcreator"'s tool (setup from MorphOS) which can throws predefined boot command line to the Pegasos's Openfirmware so I can boot on several OS such as MorphOS, MacOSX, Linux Ubuntu, Linux Suse or Linux Gentoo without having to type a command line.
_________________
Pegasos II PPC G4 / ATI RADEON 8500 / Hauppauge PVR350 / Kernel 2.6.15r1
Efika PPC 603e / ATI RADEON 9250 / Kernel 2.6.19r2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raistlin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 691
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, I've found the problem (IMHO):
/sbin/modules-update:
Code:

...
if [ -d "`depdir`" -a -f /proc/modules ]
then
        if [ -f /usr/src/linux/System.map ]; then
                depmod -a -F /usr/src/linux/System.map ${KV}
        else
                ewarn "System.map not found - unable to check symbols"
        fi
fi

So, what's actually tested is the presence of /usr/src/linux/System.map - no /boot/ or such alike. Good. The problem is, that at this stage not every partition is mounted already... so: my /usr is on a separate partition... maybe that's the problem... I'll testing it out and get back to you :wink:
_________________
Zwei Was Eins Initially

"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raistlin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 691
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:evil: The solution could be so easy:
Force
Code:
/etc/init.d/modules
to run after
Code:
/etc/init.d/localmount
... Unfortunately, the modifier in
Code:
depend() {
     after localmount
}
doesn't change anything... Neither does
Code:
use localmount
or
Code:
need localmount
do anything... :evil: :evil:
So what are these keywords for anyway?


:idea: Ok, maybe we could force
Code:
/etc/init.d/localmount
to run before modules another way? Add
Code:
...
before modules
...
in localmount doesn't help either... :!:

So, the only working solution - although a really ugly one, is to change in /sbin/modules-update the lines:
Code:
if [ -d "`depdir`" -a -f /proc/modules ]
then
        if [ -f /usr/src/linux/System.map ]; then
                depmod -a -F /usr/src/linux/System.map ${KV}
        else
                ewarn "System.map not found - unable to check symbols"
        fi
fi


to
Code:
if [ -d "`depdir`" -a -f /proc/modules ]
then
        if [ -f /System.map ]; then
                depmod -a -F /System.map ${KV}
        else
                ewarn "System.map not found - unable to check symbols"
        fi
fi


and to copy (note: copy - not symlinking!) /usr/src/linux/System.map to "/"...

I'm an aesthete, so please, PLEASE (!!!) provide me with another solution. (Or tell me I have to "fix" runscript.sh, then I'll do that...)
_________________
Zwei Was Eins Initially

"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lugduweb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is my /etc/fstab :
Quote:

/dev/hdb7 / ext3 noatime 0 1
/dev/hdb8 /usr ext3 defaults 0 0
/dev/hdb9 /mnt/extra ext3 defaults 0 0
/dev/hdb2 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,ro 0 0
/dev/hdb5 /mnt/suse ext3 defaults 0 0
/dev/hdb6 /mnt/ubuntu ext3 defaults 0 0


As you can see my /usr is on another partition too :-)
Well done !

So I guess that your "dirty" solution might be the only good one if this is checked too early.
But the right script should be the one looking for a /boot/System.map with a more comprehensive warning message. That would be cleaner no ?

Like this :
Code:

if [ -d "`depdir`" -a -f /proc/modules ]
then
        if [ -f /boot/System.map ]; then
                depmod -a -F /boot/System.map ${KV}
        else
                ewarn "System.map not found - unable to check symbols (Check /boot/System.map)"
        fi
fi


Maybe we should put this in bugzilla ?
_________________
Pegasos II PPC G4 / ATI RADEON 8500 / Hauppauge PVR350 / Kernel 2.6.15r1
Efika PPC 603e / ATI RADEON 9250 / Kernel 2.6.19r2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raistlin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 691
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

well, I thought about this solution, too. I didn't try it, though, because I assumed that there would be the same problem with /boot... At least on my system, because boot is a distinct partition, too :roll:

I guess, the problem is even more "severe" as one might think in the first place ;)
_________________
Zwei Was Eins Initially

"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rpmohn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 116
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2006 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone tried this and had it work? I didn't find anything in bugzilla, but maybe I didn't search properly? This issue has annoyed me for months now and would like to try this solution tonight.
Please let me know.
Thanks! -RPM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raistlin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 691
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2006 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
it _is_ really annoying. The script really assumes either an all-on-one-partition setup or that all partitions are already mounted (which is not the case, though). It _could_ be very easily solved, if the dependencies were correctly tracked... But, as I've written earlier, specifying "need <SOMETHING" or "use <ANOTHERTHING>" does not work in the runscripts :evil:

So maybe we should really write a bug-report...
_________________
Zwei Was Eins Initially

"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yeauch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2006 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I had the same problem too.

Like you, I have a different partition for /boot and /usr. Somehow if you are using one of the earlier kernels - I think it was 2.6.16-r11 or somewhere there... the System.map message was gone! Something was fixed there but the message appeared again after that on later kernel versions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raistlin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 691
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2006 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, I thought the same thing... but then I realized having a system running a 2.6.12-kernel (somewhere ;) )... The packages are updated, though. Result? The same issues there. So I think it has to do something with the baselayout (or similar) versions...
_________________
Zwei Was Eins Initially

"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rpmohn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 116
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2006 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lugduweb wrote:
<snip>
So I guess that your "dirty" solution might be the only good one if this is checked too early.
But the right script should be the one looking for a /boot/System.map with a more comprehensive warning message. That would be cleaner no ?

Like this :
Code:

if [ -d "`depdir`" -a -f /proc/modules ]
then
        if [ -f /boot/System.map ]; then
                depmod -a -F /boot/System.map ${KV}
        else
                ewarn "System.map not found - unable to check symbols (Check /boot/System.map)"
        fi
fi


I have the file in /boot/System.map, but last night I tried changing the above code to /boot/System.map and it still didn't work! So I also tried /System.map and System.map, but no dice. Come to think of it, my System.map file is actually a symlink within the same /boot directory:
Code:
System.map -> System.map-2.6.16-gentoo-r7
but that shouldn't make a difference, should it?
-RPM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raistlin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 691
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2006 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, because /boot is not mounted, therefore the symlink would point to nirvana... :wink:
_________________
Zwei Was Eins Initially

"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ZmjbS
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Location: Reykjavík, Ísland

PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 7:40 pm    Post subject: Bugzilla report Reply with quote

There is a bug report on bugzilla that dates back to 2005-08-30.
See: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=104288

The bug says it is fixed, but I haven't seen any changes following baselayout upgrades (of which I have the most recent stable version, 1.11.15-r3) and there is no reference to the bug in the ChangeLog. I've got the most recent stable version.

However, there have been changes made in the kernel compile instructions at the Gentoo Linux Kernel Upgrade Guide and the Handbook and they no longer mention copying either the .config or System.map files.

Hmmm ...
_________________
Signatures are, like, so cool...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raistlin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 691
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you don't have to copy System.map to /boot, because the script looks for it in /usr/src/linux ... But this does help _nothing_ if /usr is not mounted :roll:
And especially, if you cannot force localmount be executed before modules...
_________________
Zwei Was Eins Initially

"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 997

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ZmjbS wrote:
The bug says it is fixed

RESOLVED/FIXED means that the bug is addressed somewhere in the source tree, not necessarily in the stable branch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thejackal13
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2005
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have just run into the same problem as well and i got around it by placing the System.map at the root
(/.System.map) and fixing the /sbin/modules-update.

thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ZmjbS
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Location: Reykjavík, Ísland

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

limn wrote:
ZmjbS wrote:
The bug says it is fixed

RESOLVED/FIXED means that the bug is addressed somewhere in the source tree, not necessarily in the stable branch.

That was what I assumed. However, from the bug discussion:
Comment #5 From Henrik Brix Andersen 2005-10-16 1 wrote:
Any chance of getting this patch applied before baselayout-1.12 goes final?

Comment #6 From SpanKY 2005-10-16 wrote:
baselayout-1.12 wont be going stable for quite some time :p

Comment #7 From Henrik Brix Andersen 2005-10-16 wrote:
Then can we please have it applied to the stable branch?

... to which there was no specific answer.
According to the baselayout package page, my version is the last before 1.12, so I suppose my fault is that of overestimating the speed of the process (the version before mine in the portage tree, 1.11.14-r8, dates back to the 17th of April 2006.)

As for where the fix, it was entered in revision 1613, dated at the 10th of November 2005. The latest is revision 2123.
_________________
Signatures are, like, so cool...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum