Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
DNS record without subdomain
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RBH
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 1:06 pm    Post subject: DNS record without subdomain Reply with quote

I feel reeeally quite silly for having to ask this but I can't find an answer anywhere.

With bind-style zone files, subdomains are easy to define -

Code:
www    IN    CNAME    server01


But how can I set a record to define where queries to "http://domain.com" go?

Thanks in advance :)

Edit: Typically noobed up the subdomain example.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

See "IN PTR company.com." line in example config files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zeek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2002
Posts: 480
Location: Bantayan Island

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 2:40 am    Post subject: Re: DNS record without subdomain Reply with quote

RBH wrote:
But how can I set a record to define where queries to "http://domain.com" go?


First, don't confuse http and DNS.

Code:

        IN      CNAME   www
www     IN      A       10.0.0.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JC Denton
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 151
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 2:58 am    Post subject: Re: DNS record without subdomain Reply with quote

zeek wrote:
RBH wrote:
But how can I set a record to define where queries to "http://domain.com" go?


First, don't confuse http and DNS.

Code:

        IN      CNAME   www
www     IN      A       10.0.0.0

That first record is invalid. BIND would issue a "CNAME and other data" error and refuse to load the zone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zeek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2002
Posts: 480
Location: Bantayan Island

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 7:40 am    Post subject: Re: DNS record without subdomain Reply with quote

Captain Kirk wrote:
zeek wrote:
RBH wrote:
But how can I set a record to define where queries to "http://domain.com" go?


First, don't confuse http and DNS.

Code:

        IN      CNAME   www
www     IN      A       10.0.0.0

That first record is invalid. BIND would issue a "CNAME and other data" error and refuse to load the zone.


Interesting, this error is new in BIND 9. I googled the issue and from a quick reading on the arguments around it I don't understand why they didn't make CNAME only be an alias for PTR and A records and not apply it to SOA, NS and MX records?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RBH
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 9:45 pm    Post subject: Re: DNS record without subdomain Reply with quote

zeek wrote:
RBH wrote:
But how can I set a record to define where queries to "http://domain.com" go?


First, don't confuse http and DNS.

Code:

        IN      CNAME   www
www     IN      A       10.0.0.0

No worries there - I just included the protocol to illustrate clearly what I was after :)

Thanks for your help all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum