Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Setting hostname via DHCP on bonded interface [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
randal1
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2006 1:38 pm    Post subject: Setting hostname via DHCP on bonded interface [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi All!

I am currently trying to configure my DHCP server to set the hostnames of the servers when it gives them an IP address.
In testing, I can get this to work with this command:

Code:

dhcpcd -H eth2


which is fine - this recieves an IP address, and the hostname is set as I wish. The problem is that I am trying to do this for a bonded interface - bond0 - that consists of eth1 and eth2.


If I type:

Code:

dhcpcd -H bond0


I see...

Code:

dhcpcd: MAC address = 00:00:00:00:00:00
>> dhcpcd[11140]: dhcpStart: retrying MAC address request (returned
>> 00:00:00:00:00:00)
>> dhcpcd: MAC address = 00:00:00:00:00:00
>> dhcpcd[11140]: dhcpStart: retrying MAC address request (returned
>> 00:00:00:00:00:00)
>> dhcpcd: MAC address = 00:00:00:00:00:00
>> dhcpcd[11140]: broadcasting DHCP_REQUEST for 192.168.7.4
>>
>> dhcpcd[11140]: timed out waiting for DHCP_ACK response
>>
>> dhcpcd[11140]: broadcasting DHCP_DISCOVER
>>
>> dhcpcd[1140]: timed out waiting for a valid DHCP server response


Any ideas how I can get this working?

Many thanks :)

Aaron


Last edited by randal1 on Sat Aug 19, 2006 2:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vad3r
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 461
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2006 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like the bonding interface doesn't return a valid MAC address. How is your bond device configured?
_________________
-- http://www.linuxaddicted.de/ | Please help to answer open questions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
randal1
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply!

heres my config from /etc/conf.d/net...

Code:

slaves_bond0=( "eth1 eth2" )
ifconfig_bond0=(
       "dhcp"
)
routes_bond0=(
       "default gw 192.168.7.1"
)
dhcpcd_bond0="-H"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vad3r
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 461
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it should be

Code:
config_bond0 = ( "dhcp" )

_________________
-- http://www.linuxaddicted.de/ | Please help to answer open questions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
randal1
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Brilliant that fixed it a treat!

Many thanks :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum