Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Init scripts stopped to work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
igu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2002
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 10:47 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Init scripts stopped to work Reply with quote

Hello there!

I really need YOUR help with this one :)

I have a problem with some init scripts that all of the sudden fail to work.
Some work and some don't. There are no logs and no clues to why they fail (not even a [!!] or anything when they fail) just a newline :(

I have provided two strace logs from one that works (hddtemp) and one that fails (vixie-cron)
http://gentoo.se/debug
http://gentoo.se/debug2

Hopefully i can get this show on the road asap!
_________________
:::
Administrator of gentoo.se/.no mirrors and homepages.
IRC: igu @EFNet #gentoo, #gentoo.se, #gentoo.no


Last edited by igu on Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:30 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
igu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2002
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

a previous, related topic can be found here:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-449904-highlight-.html

back then i only thought it was apache but now i realise it must be something more.

here's the output of
Code:
bash -v /etc/init.d/runscript.sh /etc/init.d/apache2 start

http://gentoo.se/debug-shiz
_________________
:::
Administrator of gentoo.se/.no mirrors and homepages.
IRC: igu @EFNet #gentoo, #gentoo.se, #gentoo.no
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
igu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2002
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Problem solved for now by editing /etc/init.d/runscript.sh

Code:
svc_start() {
        local x= y= retval=0 startfail= startinactive=

        # Do not try to start if i have done so already on runlevel change
        if is_runlevel_start && service_failed "${SVCNAME}" ; then
               return 1
        elseif service_started "${SVCNAME}" ; then
                ewarn "WARNING:  ${SVCNAME} has already been started."
                return 0


changed into

Code:
svc_start() {
        local x= y= retval=0 startfail= startinactive=

        # Do not try to start if i have done so already on runlevel change
        #if is_runlevel_start && service_failed "${SVCNAME}" ; then
        #       return 1
        if service_started "${SVCNAME}" ; then
                ewarn "WARNING:  ${SVCNAME} has already been started."
                return 0



Thank you shiznix of #gentoo@EFNet
_________________
:::
Administrator of gentoo.se/.no mirrors and homepages.
IRC: igu @EFNet #gentoo, #gentoo.se, #gentoo.no
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
igu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2002
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SOLVED!!

Horray to shiznix for finding the real cause.
Code:
 rm -rf /var/lib/init.d/softscripts.old/

That solved my poblem and i could change back my runscript.sh (baselayout 1.12.1) to the way it was
_________________
:::
Administrator of gentoo.se/.no mirrors and homepages.
IRC: igu @EFNet #gentoo, #gentoo.se, #gentoo.no
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum