Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Preparing the disk section
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
oc666
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 May 2006
Posts: 330
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 10:41 am    Post subject: Preparing the disk section Reply with quote

Hello.
I'm installing gentoo & I stuck on the section of making the filesystem.
I created 3 partitions:
Code:
 # fdisk /dev/hda5

The number of cylinders for this disk is set to 3087.
There is nothing wrong with that, but this is larger than 1024,
and could in certain setups cause problems with:
1) software that runs at boot time (e.g., old versions of LILO)
2) booting and partitioning software from other OSs
   (e.g., DOS FDISK, OS/2 FDISK)

Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/hda5: 25.3 GB, 25399632384 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 3087 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

     Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda5p1   *           1           5       40131   83  Linux
/dev/hda5p2               6          68      506047+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda5p3              69        3087    24250117+  83  Linux


when I run the command:
Code:
 # mke2fs /dev/hda5p1
mke2fs 1.38 (30-Jun-2005)
Could not stat /dev/hda5p1 --- No such file or directory

The device apparently does not exist; did you specify it correctly?

The command failed.
Somebody know how to fix this?
_________________
embAD-new way to insert ads to your website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dieter@be
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Apr 2005
Posts: 314
Location: Wetteren, Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's not
Quote:
fdisk /dev/hda5

its:
Quote:
fdisk /dev/hda


you want to partition a hard disk, you don't want to partition a partition, right? :wink:

so you need to make some partitions on /dev/hda (hda1,hda2,hda3,...) and then put filesystems on those
_________________
Nothing beats a ride on the Gentoo learning curve.
2 Gentoo Linux boxes - 2 Arch Linux boxes - Love all four
Say no to i386 binaries! -- Adopt an unanswered topic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oc666
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 May 2006
Posts: 330
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. I want to create Gentoo only on /dev/hda5, cause my Windows is on my /dev/hda1. So, could I do this?
_________________
embAD-new way to insert ads to your website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tane_stelzer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 263
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland and Kempen, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

like he said do
Code:
fdisk /dev/hda
it will show all the partitons on hda which includes windows and all the other partitions on that hard drive. Tehn you just delete the partition hda5 and then from that free space you can partiton it to the need which in minimum means 2 partitions but if you follow the handbook 3 partitions. 1 swap and 1 root and 1 boot if you choose to only 2 partitions then the swap and the root partition which then includes the boot partition. Oh yeah if you find fdisk a bit confusing you could
Code:
cfdisk /dev/hda
its a bit easier but you have to figure out how to read by googling or good luck.
Tane
_________________
Quick Quide to Linux Commands!
MINI HOWTO Get Planeshift working
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oc666
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 May 2006
Posts: 330
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have to use logical partition. Is that correct?
This is my creation:
Code:
   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1   *           1       11504    92405848+   7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda2           11505       14592    24804360    f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda5   *       11505       11517      104391   83  Linux
/dev/hda6           11518       11700     1469916   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda7           11701       14592    23229958+  83  Linux

_________________
embAD-new way to insert ads to your website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davascript
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 618
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

    /
    /boot
have to be on a primary partition i beleive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nitbix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 55
Location: Suffolk (UK)

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You will run into the 4 partition limit so I think you will have no choice than creating this structure:

hda1 -> ntfs
hda2 -> fat
hda3 -> linux ( root partition )
hda4 -> linux swap

You could maybe make hda4 extended and creating swap + something else in it, but since /boot and / must be in a primary partition, otherwise the bootloader can't boot the os, you have no choice but to use only one partition for both.
_________________
.:nitbix:.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

davascript wrote:
    /
    /boot
have to be on a primary partition i beleive.

No, this is a DOS/Windows limitation. Linux can boot and run from any partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davascript
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 618
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
No, this is a DOS/Windows limitation. Linux can boot and run from any partition.


My mistake sorry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dieter@be
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Apr 2005
Posts: 314
Location: Wetteren, Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

why 2 filesystems for windows?
i would just make hda1 windows, and then 2,3,4 for linux?
_________________
Nothing beats a ride on the Gentoo learning curve.
2 Gentoo Linux boxes - 2 Arch Linux boxes - Love all four
Say no to i386 binaries! -- Adopt an unanswered topic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oc666
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 May 2006
Posts: 330
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dieter@be wrote:
why 2 filesystems for windows?
i would just make hda1 windows, and then 2,3,4 for linux?


I think it's for ghost. I'm not sure about this. I'm install Gentoo through SSH connection on computer which I don't realy familiar with.
Now, It's work at the end & I finished the install, but I have another problem with the X server.
_________________
embAD-new way to insert ads to your website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum