View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
turtles Veteran
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1697
|
Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:56 am Post subject: Yaboot on G3 hangs "please wait loading kernel" [s |
|
|
I have searched here, RTFM and yaboot does not find kernel [Edit finds kernel now but hangs scroll to 2nd post by turtles]. From rebooting the live cd I Code: | livecd ~ #mount /dev/hdb4 /mnt/gentoo livecd ~ # mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
livecd ~ # mount -o bind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
livecd ~ # chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
livecd / # /usr/sbin/env-update && source /etc/profile
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
livecd / #nano -w /etc/yaboot.conf |
[EDIT out all comented lines to save space.]
Code: | boot=/dev/hdb2
device=hd:2 #I also tried a 1 here and leaving blank like it shows in manual#
partition=4
delay=10
timeout=40
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot
image=/boot/2.6.16-gentoo-r9
label=Linux
root=/dev/hda4
partition=4
read-only
ofboot=hd:1
|
Question remains why wouldent yaboot find at least a broken kernel?? Me thinks it has to be Code: | /boot/kernel-2.6.16-gentoo-r9
|
Instead of
Code: | /boot/2.6.16-gentoo-r9 |
and now i emerged mac-fdisk in the chroot so I dident have to keep re chrooting every time yabootconfig doesnt work.
Code: | (chroot) livecd / # yabootconfig
yaboot is the Linux Loader for PowerPC. yabootconfig sets up your system to boot directly
from your hard disk, without the need for a boot CD, floppy or a network boot.
Install yaboot bootstrap on /dev/hdb2 to boot Linux from /dev/hdb4? [Yes] yes
Creating a simple /etc/yaboot.conf...
yabootconfig: Cannot find a kernel, please locate one
Enter path to a kernel image: /boot/kernel-2.6.16-gentoo-r9
Enter path to an initrd image (hit Enter for none):
ofpath: Unable to determine sysfs mountpoint
yabootconfig: Unable to determine OpenFirmware device name to /dev/hdb, aborting...
(chroot) livecd / # ofpath /dev/hdb
ofpath: Unable to determine sysfs mountpoint
(chroot) livecd / # mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
mount: mount point /mnt/gentoo/dev does not exist
(chroot) livecd / # mount -o bind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
mount: mount point /mnt/gentoo/sys does not exist
(chroot) livecd / # /usr/sbin/env-update && source /etc/profile
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
|
Code: | livecd / # ls /sys
block class firmware module
bus devices kernel power
|
Code: | livecd / # ls /dev
[EDITED OUT EXTRA STUFF]
hdb ptye1 ptyu0 ptyzf ttya6 ttyq5 ttyw4
hdb1 ptye2 ptyu1 ram0 ttya7 ttyq6 ttyw5
hdb2 ptye3 ptyu2 ram1 ttya8 ttyq7 ttyw6
hdb3 ptye4 ptyu3 ram10 ttya9 ttyq8 ttyw7
hdb4 ptye5 ptyu4 ram11 ttyaa ttyq9 ttyw8
|
Code: | livecd ~ # mac-fdisk /dev/hdb
/dev/hdb
Command (? for help): p
/dev/hdb
# type name length base ( size ) system
/dev/hdb1 Apple_partition_map Apple 63 @ 1 ( 31.5k) Partition map
/dev/hdb2 Apple_Bootstrap bootstrap 1600 @ 64 (800.0k) NewWorld bootblock
/dev/hdb3 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap 1048576 @ 1664 (512.0M) Linux swap
/dev/hdb4 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root 155251248 @ 1050240 ( 74.0G) Linux native
Block size=512, Number of Blocks=156301488
DeviceType=0x0, DeviceId=0x0
|
I have read https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-369501-start-0-postdays-0-postorder-asc-highlight-initrd+ppc.html
and
[url] http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-ppc.xml?part=1&chap=10[/url]
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-371681-highlight-initrd+ppc.html
ANY clues I am missing in here? _________________ Donate to Gentoo
Last edited by turtles on Wed Jul 12, 2006 8:07 am; edited 7 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 12:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
What do you mean by: "yaboot does not find kernel"? Is there a specific error? Everything looks fine to me, the boot link is a link to prevent people with seperate /boot partitions from screwing up their paths. Grub2 is not mature enough to suggest it for regular use. _________________ Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml |
|
Back to top |
|
|
turtles Veteran
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1697
|
Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 12:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Edited above post and title to better describe problem
UPDATE
I could do a on the live cd but not chrooted
From the chroot
I have tried adding a few different combinations to /etc/yaboot.conf
Code: | device=hd:/pci@80000000/mac-io@10/ide@20000/disk@1:2
|
did not work
then
Code: | device=/pci@80000000/mac-io@10/ide@20000/disk@1:2 |
did not work
then
Code: | device=/pci@80000000/mac-io@10/ide@20000/disk@1: |
did not work
then
Code: | device=hd:/pci@80000000/mac-io@10/ide@20000/disk@1: |
Code: | livecd / # mkofboot -v
mkofboot: Finding OpenFirmware device path to `/dev/hdb2'...
ofpath: Unable to determine sysfs mountpoint
mkofboot: Unable to find OpenFirmware path for boot=/dev/hdb2
mkofboot: Please add ofboot=<path> where <path> is the OpenFirmware path to /dev/hdb2 to /etc/yaboot.conf
|
thanks again for ANY ideas! _________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
|
turtles Veteran
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1697
|
Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 2:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Part way to solved!
From the live cd (non chrooted)
then adding a line to /etc/yaboot.conf that contains the output of :
Code: | #OpenFirmware device path
ofboot=/pci@80000000/mac-io@10/ide@20000/disk@1:
|
got me
Code: | livecd / # mkofboot -v
mkofboot: Create hfs filesystem on /dev/hdb2? [y/N] y
mkofboot: Creating HFS filesystem on /dev/hdb2...
mkofboot: Installing first stage bootstrap /usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot
mkofboot: Installing primary bootstrap /usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot ont
mkofboot: Installing /etc/yaboot.conf onto /dev/hdb2...
mkofboot: Setting attributes on ofboot...
mkofboot: Setting attributes on yaboot...
mkofboot: Setting attributes on yaboot.conf...
mkofboot: Blessing /dev/hdb2 with Holy Penguin Pee...
mkofboot: Updating OpenFirmware boot-device variable in nvram...
mkofboot: Installation complete.
livecd / # ybin -v
ybin: Installing first stage bootstrap /usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot ont
ybin: Installing primary bootstrap /usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot onto /d
ybin: Installing /etc/yaboot.conf onto /dev/hdb2...
ybin: Setting attributes on ofboot...
ybin: Setting attributes on yaboot...
ybin: Setting attributes on yaboot.conf...
ybin: Blessing /dev/hdb2 with Holy Penguin Pee...
ybin: Updating OpenFirmware boot-device variable in nvram...
|
But now it wont boot on reboot (does automaticly go to the cdrom after the grey ? / mac screen
UPDATE (at hour 5 of yaboot)
Ok so I removed the drive from the computer and set it up as hda and made shure it was set as a MASTER drive it had a jumper "cable select" installed wich I moved to master.
I changes fstab, and yaboot.conf
ran ybin and mkofboot again with no errors. ran yabootconf to check file and it compalins Code: | ofpath: /dev/hdb: No such file or directory
yabootconfig: Unable to determine OpenFirmware device name to /dev/hdb, aborting... | A quick doubble check and I have in fact changed all entrys to /hda from /hdb.
UPDATE
I reboot and get "Welcome to yaboot version 1.3.13
Enter "help" to get some basic usage information
boot:linux
please wait loading kernel....."
and it just hangs ther forever?
UPDATE
I finaly got yabootconfig to run without errors, and I have compiled 2 kernels so I am going back to the first one for this round. yabootconfig generates:
Code: | GNU nano 1.3.9 File: /etc/yaboot.conf
## yaboot.conf generated by yabootconfig 1.0.8
##
## run: "man yaboot.conf" for details. Do not make changes until you have!!
##
## For a dual-boot menu, add one or more of:
## bsd=/dev/hdaX, macos=/dev/hdaY, macosx=/dev/hdaZ
boot=/dev/hda2
device=/pci@80000000/mac-io@10/ide@20000/disk@0:
partition=4
root=/dev/hda4
timeout=30
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot
image=/boot/2.6.16-gentoo-r9
label=Linux
read-only
|
MORE INFO:
Code: | livecd / # ls /boot/
2.6.16-gentoo-r9 boot kernel-2.6.16-gentoo-r9
livecd / # nano -w /etc/yaboot.conf
livecd / # exit
exit
livecd ~ # yabootconfig --chroot /mnt/gentoo/
yaboot is the Linux Loader for PowerPC. yabootconfig sets up your system to boot directly
from your hard disk, without the need for a boot CD, floppy or a network boot.
Install yaboot bootstrap on /dev/hda2 to boot Linux from /dev/hda4? [Yes] yes
Creating a simple /mnt/gentoo/etc/yaboot.conf...
yabootconfig: Cannot find a kernel, please locate one
Enter path to a kernel image: /mnt/gentoo/boot/2.6.16-gentoo-r9
Enter path to an initrd image (hit Enter for none):
Running mkofboot to make the disk bootable...
Done
livecd ~ # chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
livecd / # /usr/sbin/env-update && source /etc/profile
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
livecd / # nano -w /etc/yaboot.conf
livecd / # exit
exit
|
I guess I should mention that the live CD has a coupple of errors on boot up one about a signel 11 and quite a few about ipv6, I made a 2nd live cd today and it has same errors, they are minor but you never know the errors are reported here kinda https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=126688.
I reboot and it just hangs ther forever?
If it were a kernel problem wouldn't it say kernel panic???
I cant tell if it is related to this https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=119642
Anything I missed?
UPDATE
Looks like there is a bug https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=126421
This bug is resolved as a wont fix but does not accuratly match this problem. The bug report says Quote: | The work around is to use the "nodetect" option. | I do not understand what that means or how to do/ try that. It is G3 imac 233 (REV B) blue and white. it has been running gentoo for a wile as a server and it does a great job i would like to keep it out of the trash for a wile longer. _________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
|
turtles Veteran
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1697
|
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 7:02 am Post subject: fstab config wrong |
|
|
Incase anyone is having the same problem JoseJX just pointed out that I hac /etcfstab configured wrong there is no line needed for apple bootstrap.
[url]gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-457922-highlight-ppc+fstab.html[/url]
We will try yabootconfig again after the update world finishes. _________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pindar Apprentice
Joined: 30 Apr 2004 Posts: 220
|
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 5:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Assuming that the information you post is correct...
From your yaboot.config:
From the output of mac-fdisk:
Code: | /dev/hdb4 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root 155251248 @ 1050240 ( 74.0G) Linux native
|
So what IS the disk and partition where yaboot is supposed to load the kernel: hda4 or hdb4? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
turtles Veteran
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1697
|
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 10:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Short answer = hda
To clarify & summary: - between the above posts I removed the drive from the computer to check for hard ware issues.
- Drive had a jumper "cable select" installed.
- I moved jumper to master.
- Drive showed as hda instead of hdb on reboot of live cd.
- I edited fstab, and yaboot.conf to reflect the hdb to hda change.
(the imac seems to support only 1 hd so the cable select was my mistake)
- ran ybin and mkofboot again with no errors.
- ran yabootconf to check file and it compalind
Code: | ofpath: /dev/hdb: No such file or directory | I think was because I had not remounted properly? yabootconfig later ran with no errors.
I did not end up with the Code: | #OpenFirmware device path
ofboot=/pci@80000000/mac-io@10/ide@20000/disk@1: | in the new /etc/yaboot.config generated by yabootconfig. Upon reboot yaboot hangs at please wait loading kernel on 2 different kernels I compiled It was pointed out I had hda /boot in fstab, not needed so I removed and resaved fstab
the emerge --info /etc/fstab, mac-fdisk, /etc/yaboot.config and everything you ever wanted to know about the computer is[/list][/list] here.
to save space.
It has been so long that I am now up dating the system which is leading me to update gcc and recompile, getting errors with this so i wont be rebooting for a little wile.
Thanks for ANY ideas, soloutions, thoughts or just reading. _________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pindar Apprentice
Joined: 30 Apr 2004 Posts: 220
|
Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 2:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Is your iMac really a "New World" Mac? What happens if you boot it up while holding down the option/alt key? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
turtles Veteran
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1697
|
Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 7:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
FAQ says Quote: | There is an 8GB limit for the root partition |
Looks like I'll be using parted to resize my root because mac-fdisk cant resize.
Since I am going to mainly be using it as a headless server for apache2 cups postgres database. would anyone have any recomendations on a partitioning lay out??? srever details here
thanks for any ideas! _________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
|
turtles Veteran
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1697
|
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 11:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | ivecd ~ # parted /dev/hda
GNU Parted 1.6.23
Copyright (C) 1998 - 2005 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This program is free software, covered by the GNU General Public License.
This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful, but WITHOUT ANY
WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A
PARTICULAR PURPOSE. See the GNU General Public License for more details.
Using /dev/hda
(parted) p
Disk geometry for /dev/hda: 0kB - 80GB
Disk label type: mac
Number Start End Size File system Name Flags
1 1kB 32kB 32kB Apple
2 33kB 851kB 819kB hfs bootstrap boot
3 852kB 538MB 537MB linux-swap swap swap
4 538MB 80GB 79GB ext3 root root
(parted) resize 4 538 7GB
No Implementation: This ext2 file system has a rather strange layout! Parted can't
resize this (yet).
(parted) |
Any other way to resize lay out? _________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
|
turtles Veteran
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 1697
|
Posted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 8:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | livecd ~ # e2fsck -f /dev/hda4
e2fsck 1.38 (30-Jun-2005)
Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks, and sizes
Pass 2: Checking directory structure
Pass 3: Checking directory connectivity
Pass 4: Checking reference counts
Pass 5: Checking group summary information
/dev/hda4: 231884/9715712 files (1.9% non-contiguous), 856924/19406406 blocks
livecd ~ # resize2fs /dev/hda4 8G
resize2fs 1.38 (30-Jun-2005)
Resizing the filesystem on /dev/hda4 to 2097152 (4k) blocks.
The filesystem on /dev/hda4 is now 2097152 blocks long.
|
then I used mac-fdisk to delete the root
Code: | livecd ~ # mac-fdisk /dev/hda
/dev/hda
Command (? for help): d 4
|
And created a 8 GB root
Code: | Command (? for help): c
First block: 4p
Length (in blocks, kB (k), MB (M) or GB (G)): 8G
Name of partition: /root
|
I then created a /var 30GB
and a /usr (rest of disk)
And it now boots
But how does it know that I "moved" var or that I moved "usr"?
Thanks for the help. _________________ Donate to Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
Posted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm glad it boots now. In order to use those partitions, you must mount them (add them to fstab) when the computer starts. If you didn't do this already, it will put all of the files intended for /var and /usr on the root partition instead. _________________ Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|