Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
fglrx - no direct rendering and small fonts......
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hanno22
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:58 pm    Post subject: fglrx - no direct rendering and small fonts...... Reply with quote

Hi!
I have a problem with my ATI Radeon 9200 driver. I installed the ati-drivers ebuild and my X.org-Server with KDE is up running. My problem now is that when I do /opt/ati/bin/fglrxinfo it shows me the following:
Code:

display: :0.0  screen: 0
OpenGL vendor string: Mesa project: www.mesa3d.org
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
OpenGL version string: 1.2 (1.5 Mesa 6.4.2)


and in my /var/log/Xorg.0.log it says:

Code:

(II) fglrx(0): Acceleration enabled
(II) fglrx(0): Direct rendering disabled
(==) fglrx(0): Using hardware cursor
(II) fglrx(0): Largest offscreen area available: 1024 x 7419
(II) Loading extension FGLRXEXTENSION
(II) Loading extension ATITVOUT
(==) RandR enabled
(II) Initializing built-in extension MIT-SHM
(II) Initializing built-in extension XInputExtension
(II) Initializing built-in extension XTEST
(II) Initializing built-in extension XKEYBOARD
(II) Initializing built-in extension LBX
(II) Initializing built-in extension XC-APPGROUP
(II) Initializing built-in extension SECURITY
(II) Initializing built-in extension XINERAMA
(II) Initializing built-in extension XFIXES
(II) Initializing built-in extension XFree86-Bigfont
(II) Initializing built-in extension RENDER
(II) Initializing built-in extension RANDR
(II) Initializing built-in extension COMPOSITE
(II) Initializing built-in extension DAMAGE
(II) Initializing built-in extension XEVIE


I don't understand all of it but I can tell that something with the built-in direct rendering of the fglrx module is wrong.

Important parts of my /etc/X11/xorg.conf:

Code:

 Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
 EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Simple Layout"
        Screen      0  "aticonfig Screen 0" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
EndSection

Section "Module"
        Load  "dbe"     # Double buffer extension
        SubSection "extmod"
                Option      "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
        EndSubSection
        Load  "freetype"
        Load  "dri"
        Load  "glx"
EndSection

## Left out my mouse and keyboard definitions to shorten this - it works anyway

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "My Monitor"
        HorizSync    31.0 - 65.0
        VertRefresh  50.0 - 75.5
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "aticonfig Monitor 0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "My Video Card"
        Driver      "vesa"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "ATI Graphics Adapter 0"
        Driver      "fglrx"
        #BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
        Option      "no_accel"          "no"
        Option      "no_dri"            "no"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "aticonfig Screen 0"
        #Device     "My Video Card"
        Device     "ATI Graphics Adapter 0"
        Monitor    "My Monitor"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     8
                Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     16
                Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
                Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
EndSection


As I said, my X.org-Server works, it just isn't using the direct rendering part of the fglrx module.

My second question is - why are the fonts quite a bit smaller than when I use the vesa driver?
thanks!!
Hanno
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wynn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2421
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you run "eselect opengl set ati"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hanno22
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wynn wrote:
Have you run "eselect opengl set ati"?


Yes, I have.

Oh, and I am not using the agpgart module from the kernel because it didn't seem to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvmc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably your module fglrx is not correct.

Try compile:

Code:
cd /lib/modules/fglrx
chmod +x make_install.sh
./make_install.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hanno22
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mvmc wrote:
Probably your module fglrx is not correct.

Try compile:

Code:
cd /lib/modules/fglrx
chmod +x make_install.sh
./make_install.sh


I'd try that if /lib/modules/fglrx existed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hanno22
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nobody any idea? :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
micmac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 996

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hanno22 wrote:
Nobody any idea? :cry:


I'm not really sure because I don't use fglrx myself. But for one fglrxinfo says Mesa is used. Mesa is not ATI, so I figure maybe you forgot to run env-update after eselect set opengl ati. Regarding fonts, you can put "DisplaySize x y" in the "Monitor" section. Just measure your monitor and put the numbers in millimeters in. Here's a link to a little HowTo.

Cheers
mic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crabby
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have exactly the same issue hanno!

I have done the ATI driver gentoo wiki to the letter. I have missed out NO steps and yet it just wont take the fglrx module. WHen I

Code:
cd /lib/modules/fglrx


It also says it doesnt exist, yet modprobe doesnt error and the installation of the drivers seems fine ANyone had this problem and FIXED it? :D

crabby
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slashes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Posts: 14
Location: NY

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hanno22 wrote:
Nobody any idea? :cry:


can you tell me what 'modprobe fglrx' says?

if it doesn't report anything wrong, check your xorg.conf and make sure 'extensions' is commented out

Code:


#Section "Extensions"
#       Option      "Composite" "true"
#EndSection



Make sure you take a look at http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_ATI_Drivers as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crabby
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am guessing hanno doesnt have a section called 'extensions' in his xorg.conf as I havent either.

COuld it be that I have created my xorg.conf incorrectly?? Is it not the drivers fault at all??

All I did was install X and type xorgconfig i think... is that right?

crabby
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slashes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Posts: 14
Location: NY

PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 4:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

crabby wrote:
I am guessing hanno doesnt have a section called 'extensions' in his xorg.conf as I havent either.

COuld it be that I have created my xorg.conf incorrectly?? Is it not the drivers fault at all??

All I did was install X and type xorgconfig i think... is that right?

crabby


No, what you did was not right. Did you read http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_ATI_Drivers?

It says you need to run
Code:
  aticonfig --initial --input=/etc/X11/xorg.conf
(I'm assuming your drivers that your emerged are newer than 8.21.7).

After that, X should use 'fglrx' instead of 'radeon' as the primary driver. If you're still having problems, post your xorg.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crabby
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You misunderstood me.... I have done the walkthrough at http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_ATI_Drivers to the letter. Including the step you talk about.

What I was wondering is that when I first emerged X... I used xorgconfig to create the xorg.conf <- the xorg.conf that this produced doesnt have an 'extension' section and so I was wondering if my initial xorg.conf was correct BEFORE doing the ati driver howto?

Any other ideas?

crabby

PS: will post org.conf when home in 5 hours
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alienjon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1709

PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First things first, do you guys have the fglrx module built? Run:

Code:

modprobe fglrx


If you get an error, then please post it. Your kernel most likely did not build the module correctly (if at all) and it may have something missing from it. If you have upgraded the kernel recently, and do not think that is the problem, then try re-emerging ati-drivers, as they need to be recompiled after every kernel compilation.

If you do not get an error, then try:

Code:

modules-update
eselect opengl set ati


If you get to here, check the glxinfo again and let us know ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peterk0
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 188
Location: Prague

PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well your xorg.conf seem all right, but for some reason fglrx module haven't made it into your /lib/modules ... I would try to unmerge ati-drivers, then emerge again and watch the output. The ebuild is checking for various conditions at the begining, like symlinked /usr/src/linux to your current booted kernel, also dri, agpart etc options in your kernel config.
so try that and let us know.

EDIT:

than do
Code:
modprobe fglrx

and check the modules loaded with
Code:
lsmod

if it's there

then
Code:
eselect opengl set ati
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCarNinja
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 124
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also have this issue. It occured after I updated to xorg 7.0. I also followed the ATI_DRIVERS how to.

Code:
$ glxinfo |grep direct
libGL error: failed to open DRM: Operation not permitted
libGL error: reverting to (slow) indirect rendering
direct rendering: No
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect


Code:
# lsmod|grep fglrx
fglrx                 386668  8
agpgart                33484  2 fglrx,intel_agp


What I have noticed is that while using GDM or XDM is that the fonts become smaller, and the GLX module cannot be loaded. Interestingly enough sometimes it defaults to something like a 640 resolution.
_________________
TheCarNinja
--
~Adopt an unanswered post today!~
Life is more fun sideways.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crabby
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Exactly the same symptoms as thecarninja. DId exactly what peterk0 said, all the fglrx requirements are accounted for at the begining of the emerge.

Does this mean that fglrx is loaded but unused?

crabby
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCarNinja
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 124
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can get slow indirect rendering, but getting the ATI proprietary to work proper doesn't seem to work with xorg 7 for whatever reason. I know others do have it work, but maybe thats not ATI?

edit: Forgot to put my Xorg.0.log output before.
Code:
#cat Xorg.0.log| grep -i EE -i WW
(II) Loading extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
(WW) Warning, couldn't open module speedo
(EE) Failed to load module "speedo" (module does not exist, 0)
(WW) Warning, couldn't open module xtt
(EE) Failed to load module "xtt" (module does not exist, 0)
(WW) fglrx(0): board is an unknown third party board, chipset is supported
(WW) fglrx(0): Specified desktop setup not supported: 8


Box is an IBM T43 X300 ATI. Interesting that my chipset is suddenly unsupported. Haha.

Edit:
Okay... My issue is that my user doesn't have permissions.

For those with this issue try:
Code:
 # chmod 707 /dev/dri/card0
or
#chgrp video /dev/dri/card0

It worked for me.

I still end up with this error, so something still doesn't work. Anything opengl is still damned slow other than glxgears.
Code:
FGLTexMgr: open of shared memory object failed (Permission denied)
__FGLTexMgrCreateObject: __FGLTexMgrSHMmalloc failed!!!


The fix for this error is
Code:

# chgrp video /dev/shm

After that everything runs fine.
_________________
TheCarNinja
--
~Adopt an unanswered post today!~
Life is more fun sideways.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crabby
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So presumably Ninja if you started your wm as root it would have worked? If so this permission thing isnt going to help me but when I get back to my PC I will try it and see what happens :D

Also what are those modules that aren't loaded for? I have never heard of speedo?

EDIT:

No change after altering the permissions :(

crabby
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peterk0
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 188
Location: Prague

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ninja do you have these lines in your xorg.conf?
Code:
 
Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peterk0
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 188
Location: Prague

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

crabby wrote:
So presumably Ninja if you started your wm as root it would have worked? If so this permission thing isnt going to help me but when I get back to my PC I will try it and see what happens :D

Also what are those modules that aren't loaded for? I have never heard of speedo?

EDIT:

No change after altering the permissions :(

crabby


Crabby.

Speedo fonts were used by old X, no need for them now (remove the line from xorg.conf).

What about your modprobe fglrx and then lsmod? Please verify module is loaded, or put it in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 and reboot, than u should see a warning if loading the module fails.
I'll post my files so you can compare ...

xorg.conf
Code:

Section "Module"
    Load        "dbe"   #Load Double Buffer Extension module
    SubSection  "extmod"
      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection
    Load        "type1"         #Load Type1 font module
    Load        "freetype"      #Load Freetype font module
    Load        "dri"           #Load DRI module
    Load        "glx"           #Load GLX module
EndSection
#XComposite (disables DRI, so fuck it for now)
#Section "Extensions"
#    Option "Composite" "true"
#EndSection
Section "DRI"
     Mode 0666 #DRI allowed for all users
EndSection
Section "ServerFlags"
Option "blank time" "10" # 10 minutes
Option "standby time" "30"
Option "suspend time" "60"
Option "off time" "120"
EndSection
#Devices - keyboard
Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Keyboard1"
    Driver      "kbd"
    Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
    Option "XkbModel"   "pc104"
    Option "XkbLayout"  "us"
EndSection
#Devices - mouse
Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Mouse1"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option "Protocol"    "IMPS/2"
    Option "Device"      "/dev/input/mice" #usb mouse
    Option "ZAxisMapping"   "4 5"          #wheel scrolling ON
EndSection
#Devices - Monitor
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Benq FP937s+"
    HorizSync 31-81
    VertRefresh 56-76
EndSection
#ATI Radeon 9600
Section "Device"
        Identifier  "ATI Radeon"
        Driver      "fglrx"
  # === disable/enable XAA/DRI ===
        Option      "no_accel" "no"
        Option      "no_dri"  "no"
        Option "VideoOverlay" "on"
  # Note: When OpenGL Overlay is enabled, Video Overlay will be disabled automatically.
        Option "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
        Option "UseFastTLS" "2"
        Option "BlockSignalsOnLock" "on"
        Option "UseInternalAGPGART" "no"
        Option "ForceGenericCPU" "no"
        Screen 0
EndSection
#Screens
Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "ATI Radeon"
    Monitor     "Benq FP937s+"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1280x1024"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection
#Server Layouts
Section "ServerLayout"
# The Identifier line must be present
    Identifier  "Main Layout"
    Screen      "Screen 1"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCarNinja
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 124
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

peterk0 wrote:
Ninja do you have these lines in your xorg.conf?
Code:
 
Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
EndSection


Yeah its in there. I also have the udev rule to change the owner of /dev/dri/card0 to video, but for whatever reason it doesn't take.
_________________
TheCarNinja
--
~Adopt an unanswered post today!~
Life is more fun sideways.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peterk0
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 188
Location: Prague

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheCarNinja wrote:
peterk0 wrote:
Ninja do you have these lines in your xorg.conf?
Code:
 
Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
EndSection


Yeah its in there. I also have the udev rule to change the owner of /dev/dri/card0 to video, but for whatever reason it doesn't take.


That's weird i never had to change udev rules ...
Try to put your user into video and/or wheel group/s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crabby
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for posting your xorg.conf

Am I right in thinking that I can just switch your identifiers for mine etc.... keep the same options and 'theoretically' I should be done? :D

crabby
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peterk0
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 188
Location: Prague

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

crabby wrote:
Thanks for posting your xorg.conf

Am I right in thinking that I can just switch your identifiers for mine etc.... keep the same options and 'theoretically' I should be done? :D

crabby


yes, theoreticaly :D
report back with your findings, and we can add display size and such
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCarNinja
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 124
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

peterk0 wrote:
TheCarNinja wrote:
peterk0 wrote:
Ninja do you have these lines in your xorg.conf?
Code:
 
Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
EndSection


Yeah its in there. I also have the udev rule to change the owner of /dev/dri/card0 to video, but for whatever reason it doesn't take.


That's weird i never had to change udev rules ...
Try to put your user into video and/or wheel group/s


I am already in video/wheel. If I wasn't already in the video group the chgrp video cmd would not work.
_________________
TheCarNinja
--
~Adopt an unanswered post today!~
Life is more fun sideways.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum