View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
rc.lost
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 12:45 am    Post subject: Sorry, total noob here, gnome and xorg problems. new install Reply with quote

OK, First let me appologize, I am reletively new to Linux and Gentoo.

I installed gentoo on my Gateway 7508GX notebook as per the documentation provided both on the cd and the /doc section of the website.

The base install went fine, I am able to get to a text console, the problem started when I attemepted to emerge Xorg and Gnome.
Emerge wanted to go online to download distfiles as needed. I expected that, but without a internet connection available, that is somewhat of a problem. I googled that and it lead me to download the files manualy from http://distfiles.gentoo.org/distfiles and manually copy them to the usr/portage/distfiles/ after all the propper dependancy versions were in the /distfiles/ both compiled with no errors.

Using
Code:
startx
loads gnome as one would expect, but as soon as it is all loaded the system freezes. no ctrl-alt-backspace, no ctrl-alt-del, nothing. I think perhaps doing a
Code:
emerge --sync
would fix it. but I don't have a network connection for linux to use. I get online from whinerblows using a cellular aircard (Verizon PC5740). I am fairly sure that configuring the PC5740 to work for an emerge --sync is waaay beyond me. I guess my question is 1. Is it possible that my gnome freeze problem is due to my lack of a network connection for emerge to use durring compilation? 2. is there a way to manualy download all the files needed for a complete system from whinerblows and copy them over?

Please let me know if I am heading in the right direction.
Thanks
Lostboy
rc.lost
r4d1x
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote