Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
dns probelm
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TimSSC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 170
Location: Cambridge, MA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 12:59 am    Post subject: dns probelm Reply with quote

My network is set up like this: A gentoo client (earthconsole) and a kubuntu client (venusconsole) a switch (gravity) and a gentoo server (solarhost). The host names for everything are listed in /etc/hosts on the server. Everything works fine, any computer can refer to any other computer by its host name except, the gentoo client, cannot get the hostname of the kubuntu client.

Here is my /etc/hosts:
Code:

127.0.0.1       localhost solarhost

192.168.0.1     solarhost.solarnetwork solarhost
192.168.0.2     earthconsole.solarnetwork earthconsole
192.168.0.3     venusconsole.solarnetwork venusconsole
192.168.0.100   gravity.solarnetwork gravity


does anyone know what to do? Should I be posting this on the kubuntu forums? thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shazam75
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2006
Posts: 563
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 1:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you ping that client?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TimSSC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 170
Location: Cambridge, MA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

from the gentoo client, I can ping the kubuntu client using its IP address only.

From the kubuntu client, I can ping the gentoo client with its host name, or ip address. From the server, I can ping either of them either way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zi7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Provence

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm assuming you're running a DNS server on the gentoo server, and that /etc/resolv.conf on your two client machines (especially the non-working gentoo client) read:
Code:
nameserver 192.168.0.1

Is that so?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TimSSC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 170
Location: Cambridge, MA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/etc/resolv.conf on both client machines looks like this:

Code:

nameserver 192.168.0.1
domain solarnetwork
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zi7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Provence

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What output do have exactly when doing:
Code:
ping venusconsole
... from the gentoo client?

What do you have in your clients' /etc/hosts ?

Do you run a firewall on your gentoo client? If so, what gives a:
Code:
iptables -L -vn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TimSSC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 170
Location: Cambridge, MA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zi7 wrote:
What output do have exactly when doing:
Code:
ping venusconsole
... from the gentoo client?

What do you have in your clients' /etc/hosts ?

Do you run a firewall on your gentoo client? If so, what gives a:
Code:
iptables -L -vn


1)
Code:
tim@earthconsole ~ $ ping venus console
ping: unknown host venus



2) /etc/hosts:
Code:
127.0.0.1       localhost earthconsole


3) there is no firewall on the client


I know I could access venus console by adding an entry to /etc/hosts, but the point of this post is that I shouldn't have to... it should be able to use the /etc/hosts on the server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
think4urs11
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 6659
Location: above the cloud

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TimSSC wrote:
I know I could access venus console by adding an entry to /etc/hosts, but the point of this post is that I shouldn't have to... it should be able to use the /etc/hosts on the server.

So did you configure your DNS server on solarhost to reference to /etc/hosts? Which DNS server are you using? (dnsmasq/bind/djbdns?)
_________________
Nothing is secure / Security is always a trade-off with usability / Do not assume anything / Trust no-one, nothing / Paranoia is your friend / Think for yourself
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zi7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Provence

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I know I could access venus console by adding an entry to /etc/hosts, but the point of this post is that I shouldn't have to... it should be able to use the /etc/hosts on the server.

Yes, i got that :)
I just wanted to make sure this is not what's happening right now. Let me explain. Suppose:
- you're dns server doesn't really work
- you've overriden your dns settings with your hosts file on venusconsole (without remembering)
- your hosts file is clean on earthconsole
It would give the behavior you've told us, and it'd look like as though earthconsole has a problem even though the problem would be located somewhere else.
I know it's not the simplest explanation possible here. I's just looking into that option to rule every possiblity out one by one. This is why i asked you about your hosts files on both clients. So, are you sure venusconsole hosts file is clean too? ^^

From earthconsole, can you ping the server:
Code:
ping solarhost

What if you use a full domain name:
Code:
ping venusconsole.solarnetwork
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TimSSC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 170
Location: Cambridge, MA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Think4UrS11 wrote:
TimSSC wrote:
I know I could access venus console by adding an entry to /etc/hosts, but the point of this post is that I shouldn't have to... it should be able to use the /etc/hosts on the server.

So did you configure your DNS server on solarhost to reference to /etc/hosts? Which DNS server are you using? (dnsmasq/bind/djbdns?)


Yes, the DNS server refers to /etc/hosts, and works except for this problem I am asking about. I use dnsmasq.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zi7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Provence

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What you can also try is sniffing the DNS packets from solarhost or earthconsole when trying the non-working ping:
Code:
tcpdump -vn udp port 53


Last edited by Zi7 on Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TimSSC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 170
Location: Cambridge, MA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zi7 wrote:
Quote:
I know I could access venus console by adding an entry to /etc/hosts, but the point of this post is that I shouldn't have to... it should be able to use the /etc/hosts on the server.

Yes, i got that :)
I just wanted to make sure this is not what's happening right now. Let me explain. Suppose:
- you're dns server doesn't really work
- you've overriden your dns settings with your hosts file on venusconsole (without remembering)
- your hosts file is clean on earthconsole
It would give the behavior you've told us, and it'd look like as though earthconsole has a problem even though the problem would be located somewhere else.
I know it's not the simplest explanation possible here. I's just looking into that option to rule every possiblity out one by one. This is why i asked you about your hosts files on both clients. So, are you sure venusconsole hosts file is clean too? ^^

From earthconsole, can you ping the server:
Code:
ping solarhost

What if you use a full domain name:
Code:
ping venusconsole.solarnetwork


Yours explanation makes perfect sense. From earthconsole, I can ping the server. And when I use the full domainname, it still doesn't work. I did notice that ubuntu does not seem to have a /etc/domainname file... should I create one? I set the domain name in resolv.conf on that machine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zi7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Provence

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TimSSC wrote:
Think4UrS11 wrote:
TimSSC wrote:
I know I could access venus console by adding an entry to /etc/hosts, but the point of this post is that I shouldn't have to... it should be able to use the /etc/hosts on the server.

So did you configure your DNS server on solarhost to reference to /etc/hosts? Which DNS server are you using? (dnsmasq/bind/djbdns?)


Yes, the DNS server refers to /etc/hosts, and works except for this problem I am asking about. I use dnsmasq.

You mean you can 'ping google.com' from earthconsole?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zi7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Provence

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TimSSC wrote:
1)
Code:
tim@earthconsole ~ $ ping venus console
ping: unknown host venus

Sorry but you have a typo here.
Do you have an 'unknown host' error when you 'ping venusconsole' ?
(Excuse me for being so picky :p)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zi7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Provence

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I did notice that ubuntu does not seem to have a /etc/domainname file... should I create one? I set the domain name in resolv.conf on that machine...

Afaik, solarhost should not care about venusconsole's settings to resolve its name, but rely only on its own hosts file (that's what we've been assuming all along).
If there was a domain name problem, i'd have expected it to come from your gentoo box, resulting in it trying to resolve the name on its own and not sending a DNS request to solarhost.
The point of sniffing the network is precisely to catch this DNS transaction (if it ever takes place), to know wether the problem comes from earthconsole or solarhost...


Last edited by Zi7 on Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:23 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TimSSC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 170
Location: Cambridge, MA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zi7 wrote:
TimSSC wrote:
1)
Code:
tim@earthconsole ~ $ ping venus console
ping: unknown host venus

Sorry but you have a typo here.
Do you have an 'unknown host' error when you 'ping venusconsole' ?
(Excuse me for being so picky :p)



lol... yeah, I get the same error when I ping venusconsole, and when I ping venusconsole.solarnetwork, but not when I ping 192.168.0.3.


And as for pinging google, I have a full internet connection working on both computers, as well as a samba server, and nfs server, sshd server... and a few other things I think. This is only one of many things that is bothering me about ubuntu.

I am trying to set up this network for my family, and thought that ubuntu would be easier for them. But gentoo would be easier for me, and since I am going to be doing all the administration, I might abandon ubuntu and try to set up gentoo on everyhting....

I would still like to figure out this problem though....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zi7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Provence

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Afaik, this doesn't look like an Ubuntu problem...

Apart of this DNS problem of yours, i've been in a similar situation irw installing linux boxes for relatives. I used to install them gentoo to ease up my adminitration tasks (i know gentoo better), but i recently changed my position: to me, Dapper Drake is a very good system for this kind of people, much more user friendly, and not hard to maintain as long as you don't need to install hips of unsupported packages. :)
And if their HD burns (as it recently happened to one of my relatives) reinstalling Ubuntu is just so much faster...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
think4urs11
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 6659
Location: above the cloud

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

please show outputs for
(from solarhost)
grep -v ^# /etc/dnsmasq.conf
grep -v ^# /etc/hosts
host venusconsole
host earthconsole

(from earthconsole)
host venusconsole
host venusconsole.solarnetwork
cat /etc/resolv.conf
grep -v ^# /etc/hosts

(from venusconsole)
host earthconsole
host earthconsole.solarnetwork
cat /etc/resolv.conf
grep -v ^# /etc/hosts
_________________
Nothing is secure / Security is always a trade-off with usability / Do not assume anything / Trust no-one, nothing / Paranoia is your friend / Think for yourself
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum