View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
genfive Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Simpsons/simpsons_bart.gif)
Joined: 10 Nov 2005 Posts: 291
|
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 4:52 am Post subject: cpufreq broken? |
|
|
After i upgraded to kernel 2.6.17-r4, the cpufreqd no longer works. cpufreq-info gives the following:
Code: |
cpufrequtils 001: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004-2006
Report errors and bugs to linux@brodo.de, please.
analyzing CPU 0:
no or unknown cpufreq driver is active on this CPU
|
and cpufreqd gives the following error upon start up
Code: |
* cpufreqd requires the kernel to be configured with CONFIG_CPU_FREQ
|
but I do have the kernel configured correctly, and I have also re-emerged cpufreqd
Code: |
# grep -i "CPU_FREQ" .config
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=m
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=m
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=m
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=m
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=m
|
does anyone have a similar problem? My machine has a centrino. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Brainfart Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/11420132244a0711bc52576.jpg)
Joined: 14 Mar 2006 Posts: 123 Location: Redmond, WA, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 5:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
I had that problem when I tried 2.6.16, but I've not tried 2.6.17 yet (went back to 2.6.15) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
tylerwylie Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/91194234958d5482a3ce33.jpg)
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 458 Location: /US/Georgia/Atlanta
|
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 7:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have this problem too, will probably jump back a kernel as well.
Bout to give it a go on the 2.6.16 kernel. Will update with results. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
tylerwylie Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/91194234958d5482a3ce33.jpg)
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 458 Location: /US/Georgia/Atlanta
|
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 8:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
2.6.16 works for me, tried all the governors and frequencies, and they all work. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
genfive Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Simpsons/simpsons_bart.gif)
Joined: 10 Nov 2005 Posts: 291
|
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 8:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i got 2.6.17 working. the support must be built in kernel, instead of compiled as modules. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
nichocouk Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/137876035342664f3a55606.jpg)
Joined: 10 Mar 2005 Posts: 585 Location: Glasgow
|
Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 9:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mmmh, strange, I have the same problem that you describe in your first post - although I've just installed cpufreqd so I haven't tested it on other kernels - and I have support built in the kernel, not as modules. _________________ nichocouk
L'Etat, c'est moi. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
madams n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/24904450944ce337f8a73f.jpg)
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 Posts: 30 Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
|
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 6:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I stopped using the cpufreq daemon with the introduction of the CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE kernel options.. Adjustment of the CPU is handled within the kernel (i.e. no need for the userspace daemon), unless of course you have some unusual needs that the 'conservative' governor doesn't satisfy..
I find the slew rates of the CPU freq. adjustments on 'conservative' option to be quite suitable for most laptop usage..
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/How_to_make_use_of_Dynamic_Frequency_Scaling
hope this helps..
this post is worth exactly $0.02 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
genfive Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Simpsons/simpsons_bart.gif)
Joined: 10 Nov 2005 Posts: 291
|
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 7:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I tried the conservative governor as a module, but found the change rate to be too slow. the same with ondemand, which made my screen too flashy... But then again, I am not a republican... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
madams n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/24904450944ce337f8a73f.jpg)
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 Posts: 30 Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
|
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 7:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It is all configurable through the 'sysfs'. i.e by 'cat'ing the appropriate values to files in /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/conservative
there is quite a bit of lattitude in setting the 'throttling' characteristics. (i.e how quickly it reacts to cpu loads)
[excerpted from /usr/src/linux-2.6.16-suspend2-r8/Documentation/cpu-freq/governors.txt]
Quote: | The CPUfreq governor "conservative", much like the "ondemand"
governor, sets the CPU depending on the current usage. It differs in
behaviour in that it gracefully increases and decreases the CPU speed
rather than jumping to max speed the moment there is any load on the
CPU. This behaviour more suitable in a battery powered environment.
The governor is tweaked in the same manner as the "ondemand" governor
through sysfs with the addition of:
freq_step: this describes what percentage steps the cpu freq should be
increased and decreased smoothly by. By default the cpu frequency will
increase in 5% chunks of your maximum cpu frequency. You can change this
value to anywhere between 0 and 100 where '0' will effectively lock your
CPU at a speed regardless of its load whilst '100' will, in theory, make
it behave identically to the "ondemand" governor.
down_threshold: same as the 'up_threshold' found for the "ondemand"
governor but for the opposite direction. For example when set to its
default value of '20' it means that if the CPU usage needs to be below
20% between samples to have the frequency decreased. |
_________________ This post is worth exactly $0.02
/Always remember to 'pillage' before you 'plunder'/ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
nichocouk Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/137876035342664f3a55606.jpg)
Joined: 10 Mar 2005 Posts: 585 Location: Glasgow
|
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the interesting HOWTO. Here is another one from the Gentoo Wiki. I've been reading through it very quickly but I was surprised to see that the author adds cpufrequtils to its runlevel rather than cpufreqd. What's the difference? _________________ nichocouk
L'Etat, c'est moi. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
madams n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/24904450944ce337f8a73f.jpg)
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 Posts: 30 Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
|
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | nichocouk
PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 3:20 pm Post subject:
Thanks for the interesting HOWTO. Here is another one from the Gentoo Wiki. I've been reading through it very quickly but I was surprised to see that the author adds cpufrequtils to its runlevel rather than cpufreqd. What's the difference? |
It has been a while since I used any of the 'userspace' daemons (using the 'conservative' governor now), but as I recall there were actually quite a few daemons to choose from. Personally, with the improved support within the kernel, I don't see the need for the userspace daemons anymore (i.e. cpufreqd, cpufrequtils, etc), unless I am missing something, I expect they will become depreacated in the future.. _________________ This post is worth exactly $0.02
/Always remember to 'pillage' before you 'plunder'/ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
nichocouk Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/137876035342664f3a55606.jpg)
Joined: 10 Mar 2005 Posts: 585 Location: Glasgow
|
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
madams wrote: | It has been a while since I used any of the 'userspace' daemons (using the 'conservative' governor now), but as I recall there were actually quite a few daemons to choose from. Personally, with the improved support within the kernel, I don't see the need for the userspace daemons anymore (i.e. cpufreqd, cpufrequtils, etc), unless I am missing something, I expect they will become depreacated in the future.. |
I may consider this option as well.
But coming back to the error given above, the init file for cpufreqd says:
Code: | if [[ ! -e /proc/cpufreq ]] && [[ ! -e /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq ]]; then
eerror "cpufreqd requires the kernel to be configured with CONFIG_CPU_FREQ"
return 1
fi
|
Should these files have been created by the kernel, or what? Can/should we create them by hand? How?
Thanks for your help ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) _________________ nichocouk
L'Etat, c'est moi. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
madams n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/24904450944ce337f8a73f.jpg)
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 Posts: 30 Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
|
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Those files are created by the kernel, so no, creating them by hand will do nothing as the kernel won't read them.. either a) you don't have the kernel options configured (under cpu frequency scaling), or b) you have them configured as modules and the modules are not loaded (i.e. need to 'modprobe' them)..
( I have heard that modules don't work, must be configured in the kernel itself).
dumb question, if you do in fact have them configured in the kernel.. did you remember to install the new kernel?? ![Wink :wink:](images/smiles/icon_wink.gif) _________________ This post is worth exactly $0.02
/Always remember to 'pillage' before you 'plunder'/ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
nichocouk Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/137876035342664f3a55606.jpg)
Joined: 10 Mar 2005 Posts: 585 Location: Glasgow
|
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 12:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | $ grep CPU_FREQ /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT_DETAILS is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y
|
I'm pretty sure the kernel is installed, but it was worth asking!
Could it be because the default_gov_userspace is set? Should I go back to default_gov_performance? mmm, that would not make sense to me anyway... _________________ nichocouk
L'Etat, c'est moi. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
cradlebin n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2004 Posts: 32
|
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 10:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I solved this error by doing:
Code: |
modprobe speedstep_centrino
|
You just have to find the right module to load for your system (one of the ones listed in the kernel config I suppose). |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Belgabor n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/916299703f3551e1c5a47.png)
Joined: 03 Jul 2003 Posts: 63 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
No, there's definately something broken. I just went from 2.6.17-rc5-mm1 to 2.6.18-rc2-mm1 using the same .config with 'make oldconfig' and /sys/.../cpufreq is gone (got a P4). |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
tobimat80 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Final Fantasy/Final_Fantasy_7_-_Barret.gif)
Joined: 27 May 2003 Posts: 272 Location: Trier - Germany
|
Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I experience the same problem. After doing a fresh 2006.1 install speedstepping with cpufreqd no longer works. I used a 2.6.16 and a 2.6.17 kernel. What is strange is the fact that cpufreqd worked before with the same 2.6.16 kernel ?? _________________ Wer Rechtschreibfehler findet, darf sie behalten und auf DVD brennen! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
xathin n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Star Wars/movie_star_wars_darth_maul.gif)
Joined: 05 Sep 2006 Posts: 64 Location: Vancouver, BC
|
Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 8:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I am also having this problem. I am using 2006.1, just installed, using suspend2-sources-2.6.17-r5 and am getting the same errors every time I try to start cpufreqd. I have everything built-in except for ACPI Processor P-States driver, which cannot be selected to be built-in. Simply using a governor would be fine, except for the fact that there is no /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq directory. As this is supposed to get created by the kernel, that would imply that there is something wrong with the kernel, would it not? Or at least those modules within the kernel.
Also, I noticed while building the kernel, I get the following warning:
Code: | WARNING: drivers/acpi/processor.o - Section mismatch: reference to .init.data: from .text between 'acpi_processor_power_init' (at offset 0xe64) and 'acpi_safe_halt' |
Not sure if this is related. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Sachankara l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/20654153364410b1c04b571.png)
Joined: 11 Jun 2004 Posts: 696 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
madams wrote: | It has been a while since I used any of the 'userspace' daemons (using the 'conservative' governor now), but as I recall there were actually quite a few daemons to choose from. Personally, with the improved support within the kernel, I don't see the need for the userspace daemons anymore (i.e. cpufreqd, cpufrequtils, etc), unless I am missing something, I expect they will become depreacated in the future.. | Uhm, yeah, sure... Tell that to us who actually doesn't have hardware cpu scaling (everyone who has [have?] a CPU older than the latest of the latest). The kernel developers try to move as much as they can to user space, so I don't see them putting in software cpu scalers into the kernel anytime soon. _________________ Gentoo Hardened Linux 2.6.21 + svorak (Swedish dvorak) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
xathin n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Star Wars/movie_star_wars_darth_maul.gif)
Joined: 05 Sep 2006 Posts: 64 Location: Vancouver, BC
|
Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 7:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok...I got my suspend2-sources-2.6.17-r5 to work with cpufreqd. I emerged the previous version (suspend2-sources-2.6.16-r12) and configured that as I normally would. Tried running cpufreqd, and everything worked fine, as it always did. I then copied the .config file into the other directory (2.6.17-r5) and ran "make oldconfig". Chose mostly the default options for things that changed, and built the new kernel. After booting into the new kernel, the file system for cpu scaling was there, and cpufreqd started without any problems.
I'm guessing there was an option that was changed from the previous version that caused this to happen. Hope this helps everyone having similar problems. I would assume that the same could be done with any of the sources available. Now to just figure out how to get my wireless card working with the kernel native drivers, and I'll be set. ![Very Happy :D](images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
noice Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/17309552664700181676cc5.jpg)
Joined: 05 Dec 2005 Posts: 473 Location: italia, Ischia
|
Posted: Thu Sep 07, 2006 9:27 pm Post subject: Re: cpufreq broken? |
|
|
genfive wrote: | After i upgraded to kernel 2.6.17-r4, the cpufreqd no longer works. cpufreq-info gives the following:
Code: |
cpufrequtils 001: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004-2006
Report errors and bugs to linux@brodo.de, please.
analyzing CPU 0:
no or unknown cpufreq driver is active on this CPU
|
and cpufreqd gives the following error upon start up
Code: |
* cpufreqd requires the kernel to be configured with CONFIG_CPU_FREQ
|
but I do have the kernel configured correctly, and I have also re-emerged cpufreqd
Code: |
# grep -i "CPU_FREQ" .config
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=m
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=m
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=m
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=m
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=m
|
does anyone have a similar problem? My machine has a centrino. |
i have had same problem and i've compiled my kernel (2.6.17-r7) in this way
Code: | grep "CONFIG_CPU_FREQ" /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEBUG=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT_DETAILS=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y
|
and it works:D |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
tomatopi Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2005 Posts: 130 Location: Ottawa
|
Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 3:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm also having the problem of missing /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq.
grep CPU_FREQ .config:
Code: | CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEBUG=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT_DETAILS=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y
|
grep SPEED .config:
Code: | CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO=y
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO_TABLE=y
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_ICH is not set
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_SMI is not set
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_LIB is not set
|
dmesg | grep CPU:
Code: |
Initializing CPU#0
CPU 0 irqstacks, hard=c02fe000 soft=c02fd000
CPU: After generic identify, caps: afe9fbff 00100000 00000000 00000000 00000180 00000000 00000000
CPU: After vendor identify, caps: afe9fbff 00100000 00000000 00000000 00000180 00000000 00000000
CPU: L1 I cache: 32K, L1 D cache: 32K
CPU: L2 cache: 2048K
CPU: After all inits, caps: afe9fbff 00100000 00000000 00000040 00000180 00000000 00000000
Intel machine check reporting enabled on CPU#0.
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.50GHz stepping 08
ACPI: CPU0 (power states: C1[C1] C2[C2] C3[C3])
ACPI: Processor [CPU] (supports 8 throttling states)
|
It's a new IBM X41 Tablet and I've tried kernel 2.6.17-gentoo-r7 and r8 with no differences. Am I missing something? I'd like to get power-saving working on this tablet but I'm having no luck at all.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
kamracik Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 01 Apr 2006 Posts: 219 Location: Poland->Lodz
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|