View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
lroy1978 Apprentice
Joined: 28 Jan 2006 Posts: 189 Location: Lille, France
|
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 5:08 pm Post subject: Phpmyadmin (solved) |
|
|
Hi All
I am trying to get phpmyadmin working on my machine. The problem is that it keeps asking me for a username and a password and I cant get it working. I know that there are multiple threads already on the site regarding this issue and I have tried working through them but to no avail. Could anyone give me a hand?
Thanks,
Lee
Last edited by lroy1978 on Fri Jul 28, 2006 6:05 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
GoofballJM1 Guru
Joined: 22 Mar 2004 Posts: 392 Location: Denver, CO USA
|
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 5:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Have you configured your config.inc.php file? In there you can add the user name and password to access your MySQL databases. I just have my root account set up (MySQL root account, NOT my local root account). That's what it's asking for. There is a PMA account that you can set up to access the system as well. It's much better for security. _________________ "Great spirits have often encountered violent opposition from weak minds." - Albert Einstein |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lroy1978 Apprentice
Joined: 28 Jan 2006 Posts: 189 Location: Lille, France
|
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 5:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the reply. Yep, I have tried configuring this file, I have tried changing the pma password and the root password but it does not work. I dont understand at all. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
GoofballJM1 Guru
Joined: 22 Mar 2004 Posts: 392 Location: Denver, CO USA
|
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 5:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
here's the relevant information from my config.inc.php
Code: | $cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri'] = 'http://xx.xx.xx.xx/phpmyadmin';
$cfg['PmaNoRelation_DisableWarning'] = FALSE;
$cfg['blowfish_secret'] = '';
/**
* Server(s) configuration
*/
$i = 0;
// The $cfg['Servers'] array starts with $cfg['Servers'][1]. Do not use $cfg['Servers'][0].
// You can disable a server config entry by setting host to ''.
$i++;
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = 'localhost'; // MySQL hostname or IP address
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['port'] = ''; // MySQL port - leave blank for default port
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['socket'] = ''; // Path to the socket - leave blank for default socket
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type'] = 'tcp'; // How to connect to MySQL server ('tcp' or 'socket')
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysqli'; // The php MySQL extension to use ('mysql' or 'mysqli')
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['compress'] = FALSE; // Use compressed protocol for the MySQL connection
// (requires PHP >= 4.3.0)
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'pma'; // MySQL control user settings
// (this user must have read-only
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = '28002221212150528165';
// access to the "mysql/user"
// and "mysql/db" tables).
// The controluser is also
// used for all relational
// features (pmadb)
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'http'; // Authentication method (config, http or cookie based)?
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user'] = 'root'; // MySQL user
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password'] = 'MyRootPassword'; // MySQL password (only needed
// with 'config' auth_type)
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['only_db'] = ''; // If set to a db-name, only
// this db is displayed in left frame
// It may also be an array of db-names, where sorting order is relevant.
|
This configuration is working great for me. Hope this helps. _________________ "Great spirits have often encountered violent opposition from weak minds." - Albert Einstein |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lroy1978 Apprentice
Joined: 28 Jan 2006 Posts: 189 Location: Lille, France
|
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks, Here is mine:
/**
* Your phpMyAdmin URL.
*
* Complete the variable below with the full url ie
* http://www.your_web.net/path_to_your_phpMyAdmin_directory/
*
* It must contain characters that are valid for a URL, and the path is
* case sensitive on some Web servers, for example Unix-based servers.
*
* In most cases you can leave this variable empty, as the correct value
* will be detected automatically. However, we recommend that you do
* test to see that the auto-detection code works in your system. A good
* test is to browse a table, then edit a row and save it. There will be
* an error message if phpMyAdmin cannot auto-detect the correct value.
*/
$cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri'] = 'http://192.168.1.4/phpmyadmin';
/**
* Disable the default warning that is displayed on the DB Details Structure page if
* any of the required Tables for the relationfeatures could not be found
*/
$cfg['PmaNoRelation_DisableWarning'] = FALSE;
/**
* The 'cookie' auth_type uses blowfish algorithm to encrypt the password. If
* at least one server configuration uses 'cookie' auth_type, enter here a
* passphrase that will be used by blowfish. The maximum length seems to be 46
* characters.
*/
$cfg['blowfish_secret'] = '';
/**
* Server(s) configuration
*/
$i = 0;
// The $cfg['Servers'] array starts with $cfg['Servers'][1]. Do not use
// $cfg['Servers'][0]. You can disable a server config entry by setting host
// to ''. If you want more than one server, just copy following section
// (including $i incrementation) serveral times. There is no need to define
// full server array, just define values you need to change.
$i++;
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = 'localhost'; // MySQL hostname or IP address
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['port'] = ''; // MySQL port - leave blank for default port
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['socket'] = ''; // Path to the socket - leave blank for default socket
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type'] = 'tcp'; // How to connect to MySQL server ('tcp' or 'socket')
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysql'; // The php MySQL extension to use ('mysql' or 'mysqli')
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['compress'] = FALSE; // Use compressed protocol for the MySQL connection
// (requires PHP >= 4.3.0)
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'pma'; // MySQL control user settings
// (this user must have read-only
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = '23213133152466210362';
// access to the "mysql/user"
// and "mysql/db" tables).
// The controluser is also
// used for all relational
// features (pmadb)
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'http'; // Authentication method (config, http or cookie based)?
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user'] = 'root'; // MySQL user
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password'] = 'myrootpassword'; // MySQL password (only needed
// with 'config' auth_type)
The problem isnt as urgent anymore as I managed to do what I needed without phpmyadmin, but still the whole thing is rather annoying me.
Thanks again for your help,
Lee |
|
Back to top |
|
|
GoofballJM1 Guru
Joined: 22 Mar 2004 Posts: 392 Location: Denver, CO USA
|
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | http://192.168.1.4/phpmyadmin |
Is this the URL you are typing into your browser? _________________ "Great spirits have often encountered violent opposition from weak minds." - Albert Einstein |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lroy1978 Apprentice
Joined: 28 Jan 2006 Posts: 189 Location: Lille, France
|
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 8:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, 192.168.1.4 is the address of the web server on the network. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alejandrobiondo n00b
Joined: 28 Mar 2006 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
You need to create the pma user, search on the phpmyadmin documentation the word pma and you will find the exact script to do it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grosnours Apprentice
Joined: 05 Jun 2006 Posts: 210 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 12:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Did you create the pma mysql user and pmadb mysql database when you emerged phpmyadmin ? You'll find the full script in /usr/share/webapps/phpmyadmin/<version>/sqlscripts/mysql/<version>_create.sql . |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lroy1978 Apprentice
Joined: 28 Jan 2006 Posts: 189 Location: Lille, France
|
Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 6:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That worked! Thanks everyone for all your help.
Lee |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|